Supplier to the EU
Iran
In June 2026, no EU member state reported importing crude oil from Iran.
In June 2026, no EU member state reported importing refined products from Iran.
Crude oil to EU countries
OfficialIn June 2026, no EU member state reported importing crude oil from Iran.
Earlier months: last reported in September 2024
| Month | Volume to EU | By EU country |
|---|---|---|
| September 2024 | 3.8 kt | Belgium 3.8 kt |
Source & method
- Source
- Eurostat (European Commission) — Imports of oil and petroleum products by partner country - monthly data
- Period
- Monthly, August 2023 to September 2024; latest month every EU member state has reported: June 2026
- Method
- How this figure is made
- Download
- Download CSV
- Dataset code
- nrg_ti_oilmLicence: Commission Decision 2011/833/EU - reuse authorised with attribution
- Updated
- 24 September 2026
- Confidence
- Official: reported by the statistical authority.
Basis: energy statistics. All volumes are on the energy basis: the country where the oil was produced, as each EU member state reports its imports to Eurostat (dataset nrg_ti_oilm). "EU imports" is the sum of what the member states reported importing from everywhere, including from each other and the part they did not attribute to any country.
July 2026 is not used yet: only 7 of 27 member states have reported their crude oil imports for it.
- Volumes are what EU member states reported importing, by the country where the oil was produced (Eurostat nrg_ti_oilm, energy basis). They are not the partner's own export statistics, and a member state that did not list the partner has not reported a zero.
- "EU imports" is the sum of the 27 member states' reported imports, including imports from each other; it is not the EU's external trade.
Refined products to EU countries
OfficialIn June 2026, no EU member state reported importing refined products from Iran.
Source & method
- Source
- Not publishedEvery source, with links and licences
- Period
- latest month every EU member state has reported: June 2026
- Method
- How this figure is made
- Download
- Download CSV
- Confidence
- Not established.
Basis: energy statistics. All volumes are on the energy basis: the country where the oil was produced, as each EU member state reports its imports to Eurostat (dataset nrg_ti_oilm). "EU imports" is the sum of what the member states reported importing from everywhere, including from each other and the part they did not attribute to any country.
July 2026 is not used yet: only 7 of 27 member states have reported their refined product imports for it.
Seven product families are tracked; bitumen, lubricants and other products are not loaded.
- Volumes are what EU member states reported importing, by the country where the oil was produced (Eurostat nrg_ti_oilm, energy basis). They are not the partner's own export statistics, and a member state that did not list the partner has not reported a zero.
- "EU imports" is the sum of the 27 member states' reported imports, including imports from each other; it is not the EU's external trade.
- Refined products cover seven families (LPG, naphtha, petrol, jet fuel, road diesel, heating and other gasoil, fuel oil). Other products such as bitumen and lubricants are not loaded.
Iran's crude inside EU fuel
EstimatedIn June 2026, our estimate traces none of Iran's crude into the road diesel of any of the 25 EU countries it covers. This is an estimate, not a reported figure.
Share: the estimated share of the crude behind each EU country’s fuel that came from Iran. All bars share one scale. Untraceable: the share of that country’s fuel whose crude cannot be traced to any origin.
Road diesel
Our estimate traces no crude from Iran into this fuel in any of the 25 EU countries it covers.
Petrol
Our estimate traces no crude from Iran into this fuel in any of the 26 EU countries it covers.
Jet fuel
Our estimate traces no crude from Iran into this fuel in any of the 25 EU countries it covers.
Source & method
- Source
- Not publishedEvery source, with links and licences
- Period
- June 2026
- Method
- How this figure is made
- Confidence
- Not established.
Estimated with the fuel-chain look-through: exports are assumed to leave in proportion to supply, and each country’s refineries are assumed to run on its crude-import mix. Method version 1.4. Calculation lookthrough_v1 (1.4).
No CSV for this section: it is our estimate, served by the API with its method.
- "Inside EU fuel" is an estimate (one-level look-through, docs/HORMUZ_METHOD.md section 8), not a reported figure.
Strait of Hormuz route
CalculatedCrude oil
Share through Hormuz: 96% to 100% · Both routes; split not known
Iran loads crude oil both inside the Persian Gulf and outside it, and no cited source gives the split between them. The share that passes through the Strait of Hormuz is therefore only known as a range, 96% to 100%; the split is unknown and we give no midpoint.
Refined products
Share through Hormuz: Up to 100% · Not known
Where Iran's refined products are loaded is not established from a cited source, so the share that passes through the Strait of Hormuz is only known as a range, up to 100%. We give no midpoint.
Export points held for Iran (2)
| Export point | Water body | Carries | Route |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jask (outlet of the Goreh-Jask pipeline) | Gulf of Oman | crude | Outside the Gulf: no Hormuz transit |
| Kharg Island | Persian Gulf | crude | Inside the Gulf: must pass Hormuz |
Source & method
- Source
- EIA, IEA and terminal operators (cited per row) — Fuel Origin Hormuz route classification and country bounds, methodology v1.0 (data/reference/hormuz_route_classification_v1.csv, hormuz_country_summary_v1.csv)
- Method
- How this figure is made
- Dataset code
- hormuz_v1Licence: Per-row: each row names the public page establishing the geography.
- Updated
- 23 September 2026
- Confidence
- Low. Where a country loads on both sides of the Strait, the split is not published, so only a range is given.
Crude oil: CITED CAPACITY FLOOR. From EIA Iran: total crude oil-loading capacity for exports 'more than 8.0 million b/d' (Persian Gulf, principally Kharg Island); Goreh-Jask pipeline to Jask on the Gulf of Oman has a 1.0 million b/d nameplate but only about 300 thousand b/d operable as of mid-2024. min = 8000 / (8000 + 300) = 0.964, and because the 8.0 figure is itself a lower bound the true share can only be higher. max = 1.000 because EIA records a single cargo via Jask in July 2021 and no crude export use of the pipeline since. Cited: eia.gov, eia.gov. Method version 1.0.
Refined products: UNKNOWN: no cited product export point. hormuz_route_classification_v1.csv cites no export point of this country that loads refined products (every cited outlet is commodity CRUDE), so nothing bounds the product share and it stays the uninformative [0, 1]. The crude bound for this country is NOT carried over: docs/HORMUZ_METHOD.md D2 states that a product's origin is where it was refined and loaded, which is a different set of terminals from the crude ones. The URLs on this row are the pages opened for this country's export geography; they establish crude outlets only, and they are cited here so the absence of a product outlet can be checked, not to carry a crude number across. Cited: eia.gov, eia.gov. Method version 1.0.
No CSV for this section: the route classes are cited reference data.
- The Hormuz route describes where the partner loads oil, from cited reference data. Where it loads both inside and outside the Persian Gulf, the split is unknown and only a range is given.