Alma Petroli refinery, Ravenna
Ravenna, Italy
Alma Petroli refinery, Ravenna is an operating crude oil refinery in Ravenna, Italy. It is operated by Alma Petroli SpA. Its published capacity is 550,000 t/a (dated 2026-03-19), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- Alma Petroli SpA
- Commissioned
- not published
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 13:08 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alma Petroli SpA | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Alma Petroli SpA | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
Alma Petroli refinery, Ravenna is connected to Port of Ravenna, Candiano Canal (port). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Port of Ravenna, Candiano Canal (Port) Verified LowPort of Ravenna, Candiano Canal (230 m dedicated terminal, ships to 80,000 dwt)Evidence: www.almapetroli.com
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Italy's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Alma Petroli refinery, Ravenna runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · ItalyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Italy has 10 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Italy's crude imports came mainly from Libya (24%), Kazakhstan (20%) and the United States of America (14%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Libya | 1,182,200 | 24% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 974,227 | 20% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 670,684 | 14% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 569,095 | 12% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 367,894 | 8% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 271,344 | 6% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 147,013 | 3% | Calculated |
| Norway | 142,435 | 3% | Calculated |
| Angola | 132,525 | 3% | Calculated |
| Gabon | 95,349 | 2% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 93,471 | 2% | Calculated |
| Egypt | 85,758 | 2% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 75,963 | 2% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 57,077 | 1% | Calculated |
| Month | Libya | Azerbaijan | Kazakhstan | United States of America | Saudi Arabia | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 25% | 16% | 14% | 5% | 8% | 32% |
| 2025-08 | 27% | 13% | 10% | 12% | 7% | 31% |
| 2025-09 | 26% | 21% | 11% | 13% | 10% | 19% |
| 2025-10 | 26% | 15% | 8% | 19% | 5% | 27% |
| 2025-11 | 23% | 13% | 16% | 14% | 3% | 32% |
| 2025-12 | 28% | 18% | 10% | 8% | 4% | 27% |
| 2026-01 | 29% | 19% | 5% | 8% | 9% | 27% |
| 2026-02 | 27% | 10% | 11% | 8% | 11% | 33% |
| 2026-03 | 32% | 17% | 17% | 7% | 10% | 17% |
| 2026-04 | 25% | 13% | 14% | 11% | 8% | 29% |
| 2026-05 | 24% | 14% | 19% | 12% | 7% | 24% |
| 2026-06 | 24% | 12% | 20% | 14% | 8% | 23% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Italy (national)
What all refineries in Italy produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · ItalyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Italy's refineries together produced 5,677.065 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Alma Petroli refinery, Ravenna's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 1,174.125 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 2,019.6 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 236.619 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 390.753 | Official |
| Naphtha | 370.159 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 645.064 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 100.123 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 182.382 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 5,677.065 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 6,025.279 | 1,440.336 | 2,268.342 | 268.225 |
| 2025-08 | 6,121.959 | 1,551.137 | 2,374.984 | 238.447 |
| 2025-09 | 5,742.79 | 1,491.528 | 2,143.02 | 257.839 |
| 2025-10 | 5,063.895 | 1,299.212 | 1,816.022 | 183.72 |
| 2025-11 | 4,764.045 | 1,213.509 | 1,655.945 | 211.489 |
| 2025-12 | 5,764.387 | 1,345.911 | 2,138.651 | 230.893 |
| 2026-01 | 4,955.884 | 1,197.518 | 1,938.869 | 223.528 |
| 2026-02 | 4,469.116 | 1,026.411 | 1,722.208 | 192.133 |
| 2026-03 | 4,880.459 | 1,245.803 | 1,574.394 | 248.355 |
| 2026-04 | 5,178.669 | 1,180.758 | 1,701.841 | 305.194 |
| 2026-05 | 5,759.754 | 1,233.431 | 2,289.704 | 376.794 |
| 2026-06 | 5,677.065 | 1,174.125 | 2,019.6 | 390.753 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Alma Petroli refinery, Ravenna. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Italy's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · ItalyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 9% and 16% of Italy's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Alma Petroli refinery, Ravenna is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.almapetroli.com/en/operations/- Capacity; Status; Site record; Source notes; Connection: Port of Ravenna, Candiano Canal
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://www.unem.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/UNEM_25_appendice_statistica.pdf- Source notes
- https://iea.blob.core.windows.net/assets/71b328b3-3e5b-4c04-8a22-3ead575b3a9a/Italy_2023_EnergyPolicyReview.pdf- Source notes
- https://www.italianapetroli.it/en/the-group/our-activities/refining/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2, Refining of mineral oil and gas), reporting year 2024, queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/. This IS a crude refinery, not a depot: the operator's own page states the plant has 'an atmospheric distillation section and a vacuum section' with a capacity of 550,000 tonnes per year, processing asphaltenic and naphthenic crudes by a straight-run process to make distilled bitumens, and describes a dedicated 230 m terminal on the left bank of the Candiano Canal in the Port of Ravenna taking ships up to 80,000 dwt, plus dedicated pipelines for loading and unloading crude and products (https://www.almapetroli.com/en/operations/, last-updated date 2026-03-19). SCOPE CAVEAT for downstream users: the two national-level lists disagree about whether this counts as one of Italy's refineries. The Unem statistical appendix 2025 lists 'Alma Ravenna' with a dash in the technical-balanced capacity column - that column is defined as capacity 'supportata da impianti di lavorazione secondaria adeguati alla produzione di benzine e gasoli secondo specifica', which a bitumen plant does not have - while still reporting 405 thousand tonnes of throughput for 2024 (https://www.unem.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/UNEM_25_appendice_statistica.pdf). The IEA Energy Policy Review Italy 2023 counts '11 operational oil refineries in Italy' and its Table 9.1 omits Alma entirely (https://iea.blob.core.windows.net/assets/71b328b3-3e5b-4c04-8a22-3ead575b3a9a/Italy_2023_EnergyPolicyReview.pdf). The dash therefore means 'no spec-fuel balanced capacity', NOT 'no atmospheric distillation'. EEA register lists ALMA PETROLI -SPA under IED Annex I activity 1.2 (refining of mineral oil and gas), 'functional' in reporting year 2024. Alma also refines under a tolling contract for IP Italiana Petroli, which IP's refining page describes as 'Alma Refinery (Ravenna) - operated under a tolling contract (not owned)' (https://www.italianapetroli.it/en/the-group/our-activities/refining/); the owner field records Alma Petroli, the asset owner, not the tolling counterparty.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / alma-ravenna, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash b86837c7735e.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.