Fuel Origin

bp Refineria de Castellon

Castellon de la Plana, Spain

bp Refineria de Castellon is an operating crude oil refinery in Castellon de la Plana, Spain. It is operated by BP Energia Espana, S.A.U.. Its published capacity is 5.4 Mt/a (dated 2025-12-31), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.

Status
Operating
status source
Operator
BP Energia Espana, S.A.U.
Commissioned
1967
Capacity (as published)
5.4 Mt/a
capacity source · 2025-12-31 · not converted
Refinery recordVerified
Last verified 2026-09-22Location 39.9767, 0.0146

Owners and operator

Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.

NameRoleShareFromToType
BP Energia Espana, S.A.U.Operatornot publishednot publishedcurrentVerified
bpOwnernot publishednot publishedcurrentVerified
Source
Refinery operators and national regulators (cited per row)Verified
Updated 2026-09-21 00:00 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view
No dated ownership change is recorded as structured data for this refinery. Earlier owners, where the sources name them, are described in the source notes at the foot of this page.

Ports and pipelines it is connected to

Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.

No port or pipeline connection is recorded for bp Refineria de Castellon in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown

No connection is recorded for this refinery in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that none exists.
Source
several sources (see each row)Unknown
Updated not publishedConfidenceUnknownMethodologyno download for this view

What it runs on

Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Spain's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.

This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN

Which crude oil bp Refineria de Castellon runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.

Unknown

National · SpainNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National context, not this refinery's intake: Spain has 8 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Spain's crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (21%), Nigeria (15%) and Mexico (14%).

Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.

Spain, June 2026 - latest month with an origin breakdown (COMPUTED)
Producing countryTonnesShareType
United States of America925,24321%Calculated
Nigeria638,86815%Calculated
Mexico587,09814%Calculated
Libya583,72713%Calculated
Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)286,2667%Calculated
Angola268,0946%Calculated
Brazil242,5396%Calculated
Kazakhstan225,5645%Calculated
Saudi Arabia219,2265%Calculated
Algeria190,3184%Calculated
Guyana139,6593%Calculated
Albania19,026less than 1%Calculated
Last 12 months held: share of Spain's crude imports by producing country
MonthUnited States of AmericaMexicoNigeriaBrazilLibyaAll other origins
2025-0718%15%17%8%9%32%
2025-0817%12%11%14%8%40%
2025-0914%7%10%12%3%54%
2025-1017%7%12%8%6%50%
2025-1113%19%9%11%3%44%
2025-1218%10%15%13%8%36%
2026-0112%10%16%6%9%47%
2026-0214%8%9%10%11%48%
2026-0314%15%9%15%16%31%
2026-0415%11%10%9%12%43%
2026-059%15%7%11%9%49%
2026-0621%14%15%6%13%31%

"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.

Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Calculated
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-24 07:37 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Refinery output in Spain (national)

What all refineries in Spain produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.

National · SpainNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not this refinery's: Spain's refineries together produced 5,057.043 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. bp Refineria de Castellon's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official

June 2026, thousand tonnes as published
Motor gasoline907.377Official
Road diesel248.475Official
Heating and other gasoil1,739.019Official
Kerosene-type jet fuel47.694Official
Naphtha137.434Official
Fuel oil317.867Official
Liquefied petroleum gases75.545Official
Petroleum coke257.91Official
All oil products (total)5,057.043Official
Last 12 months, thousand tonnes
MonthTotalMotor gasolineRoad dieselKerosene-type jet fuel
2025-075,544.733864.316238.75440.868
2025-085,419.248841.516272.16239.443
2025-095,220.084855.636273.80843.014
2025-105,425.5911.399264.34541.175
2025-115,091.785801.017274.85831.084
2025-125,534.233928.334220.47737.429
2026-014,940.405862.238159.40641.452
2026-024,182.675672.547135.51547.756
2026-035,292.361826.258181.43359.592
2026-045,281.355906.267251.18265.639
2026-055,065.473910.629272.70457.413
2026-065,057.043907.377248.47547.694
Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Official
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-23 10:15 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Outages and maintenance

Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.

No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).

No outage or maintenance is recorded for bp Refineria de Castellon. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.

Source
several sources (see each row)Unknown
Updated not publishedConfidenceUnknownMethodologyno download for this view

Strait of Hormuz: Spain's direct crude exposure (national)

The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.

National · SpainNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 2% and 4% of Spain's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached bp Refineria de Castellon is not published. Calculated

July 20262-4%CalculatedLow
Source
EIA, IEA and terminal operators (cited per row)Calculated
Period 2026-07 (month)Updated 2026-09-24 07:44 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view

Sources used on this page

  1. https://www.cores.es/sites/default/files/archivos/estadisticas/refinery-capacity.xlsx- Capacity; Status; Site record
  2. https://www.cores.es/en/spanish-refinery-capacity- Source notes
  3. https://www.bp.com/es_es/spain/home/quienes-somos/bp-espana/refineria-de-castellon.html- Source notes
  4. https://www.bp.com/content/dam/bp/country-sites/es_es/spain/home/pdfs/comunidad/declaracion_medioambiental_2021.pdf- Source notes
  5. https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
  6. https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
  7. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
  8. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
  9. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)

Capacity from the CORES "Spanish Refinery Capacity" workbook, sheet "Crude" (atmospheric distillation), row year 2025. Sheet header prints "Unit: thousands of tonnes"; workbook notes print "Figures to 31st December" and "Updated 30-07-2026". Workbook linked from https://www.cores.es/en/spanish-refinery-capacity. CORES is a Public Law Corporation under the Spanish Ministry for the Ecological Transition. The kt value was rescaled to Mt (same unit family, tonnes); no tonne-barrel conversion was performed. CORES prints 5400 thousand tonnes of crude for Castellon in 2025, under the sheet heading "BP Group". No operator figure could be obtained: both bp pages I tried returned HTTP 403 Forbidden - https://www.bp.com/es_es/spain/home/quienes-somos/bp-espana/refineria-de-castellon.html and the 2021 EMAS statement PDF at https://www.bp.com/content/dam/bp/country-sites/es_es/spain/home/pdfs/comunidad/declaracion_medioambiental_2021.pdf . capacity_bpd left empty: no source I opened prints barrels per day for this site. connected_ports and connected_pipelines left empty for the same reason - no page I opened names the port or the submarine line. Operator name: the EEA IED register files this installation as "BP OIL ESPANA S.A.U. REFINERIA DE CASTELLON" for reporting years 2016-2023 and as "BP ENERGIA ESPANA, S.A.U. REFINERIA DE CASTELLON" for reporting year 2024. The 2024 name is used here; I could not corroborate the renaming against a bp page because bp.com returns 403. Commissioned year 1967 agrees between the CORES 'Start' sheet ("1967: Start of operations in the Huelva and Castellon refineries") and the EEA register dateOfStartOfOperation 1967-06-05. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas'), reporting year 2024, read via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/. Not operator-published.

Record reference_refineries_v1 / bp-castellon, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 735bf00c987f.

How to read the labels
  • OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
  • VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
  • CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
  • Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
  • Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
  • Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
  • UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.