Taranto refinery
Taranto, Italy
Taranto refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Taranto, Italy. It is operated by Eni SpA. Its published capacity is 104 kbpd, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- Eni SpA
- Commissioned
- 1967
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
DISAGREEMENT on capacity: Eni (operator, page opened 2026-09-22) says 104 kb/d, while the IEA Energy Policy Review Italy 2023 Table 9.1 ('Source: Information provided by the government') says 'Taranto Eni 110' kb/d (https://iea.blob.core.windows.net/assets/71b328b3-3e5b-4c04-8a22-3ead575b3a9a/Italy_2023_EnergyPolicyReview.pdf).
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-25 17:39 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eni SpA | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Eni SpA | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
Taranto refinery is connected to COVA Viggiano to Taranto crude oil pipeline, 137 km (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to COVA Viggiano to Taranto crude oil pipeline, 137 km (Pipeline) Verified LowCOVA Viggiano (Val d Agri) to Taranto crude oil pipeline, 137 kmEvidence: www.eni.com
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Italy's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Taranto refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · ItalyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Italy has 10 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Italy's crude imports came mainly from Libya (24%), Kazakhstan (20%) and the United States of America (14%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Libya | 1,182,200 | 24% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 974,227 | 20% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 670,684 | 14% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 569,095 | 12% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 367,894 | 8% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 271,344 | 6% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 147,013 | 3% | Calculated |
| Norway | 142,435 | 3% | Calculated |
| Angola | 132,525 | 3% | Calculated |
| Gabon | 95,349 | 2% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 93,471 | 2% | Calculated |
| Egypt | 85,758 | 2% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 75,963 | 2% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 57,077 | 1% | Calculated |
| Month | Libya | Azerbaijan | Kazakhstan | United States of America | Saudi Arabia | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 25% | 16% | 14% | 5% | 8% | 32% |
| 2025-08 | 27% | 13% | 10% | 12% | 7% | 31% |
| 2025-09 | 26% | 21% | 11% | 13% | 10% | 19% |
| 2025-10 | 26% | 15% | 8% | 19% | 5% | 27% |
| 2025-11 | 23% | 13% | 16% | 14% | 3% | 32% |
| 2025-12 | 28% | 18% | 10% | 8% | 4% | 27% |
| 2026-01 | 29% | 19% | 5% | 8% | 9% | 27% |
| 2026-02 | 27% | 10% | 11% | 8% | 11% | 33% |
| 2026-03 | 32% | 17% | 17% | 7% | 10% | 17% |
| 2026-04 | 25% | 13% | 14% | 11% | 8% | 29% |
| 2026-05 | 24% | 14% | 19% | 12% | 7% | 24% |
| 2026-06 | 24% | 12% | 20% | 14% | 8% | 23% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Italy (national)
What all refineries in Italy produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · ItalyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Italy's refineries together produced 5,677.065 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Taranto refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 1,174.125 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 2,019.6 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 236.619 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 390.753 | Official |
| Naphtha | 370.159 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 645.064 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 100.123 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 182.382 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 5,677.065 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 6,025.279 | 1,440.336 | 2,268.342 | 268.225 |
| 2025-08 | 6,121.959 | 1,551.137 | 2,374.984 | 238.447 |
| 2025-09 | 5,742.79 | 1,491.528 | 2,143.02 | 257.839 |
| 2025-10 | 5,063.895 | 1,299.212 | 1,816.022 | 183.72 |
| 2025-11 | 4,764.045 | 1,213.509 | 1,655.945 | 211.489 |
| 2025-12 | 5,764.387 | 1,345.911 | 2,138.651 | 230.893 |
| 2026-01 | 4,955.884 | 1,197.518 | 1,938.869 | 223.528 |
| 2026-02 | 4,469.116 | 1,026.411 | 1,722.208 | 192.133 |
| 2026-03 | 4,880.459 | 1,245.803 | 1,574.394 | 248.355 |
| 2026-04 | 5,178.669 | 1,180.758 | 1,701.841 | 305.194 |
| 2026-05 | 5,759.754 | 1,233.431 | 2,289.704 | 376.794 |
| 2026-06 | 5,677.065 | 1,174.125 | 2,019.6 | 390.753 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Taranto refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Italy's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · ItalyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 9% and 16% of Italy's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Taranto refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.eni.com/en-IT/actions/global-activities/Italy/taranto.html- Capacity; Status; Site record; Connection: COVA Viggiano to Taranto crude oil pipeline, 137 km
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://iea.blob.core.windows.net/assets/71b328b3-3e5b-4c04-8a22-3ead575b3a9a/Italy_2023_EnergyPolicyReview.pdf- Source notes
- https://www.unem.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/UNEM_25_appendice_statistica.pdf- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2, Refining of mineral oil and gas), reporting year 2024, queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/. Eni's own site page states '104 kbbl/d balanced primary refining capacity (thousand barrels per day)' and that the plant has operated since 1967. DISAGREEMENT on capacity: Eni (operator, page opened 2026-09-22) says 104 kb/d, while the IEA Energy Policy Review Italy 2023 Table 9.1 ('Source: Information provided by the government') says 'Taranto Eni 110' kb/d (https://iea.blob.core.windows.net/assets/71b328b3-3e5b-4c04-8a22-3ead575b3a9a/Italy_2023_EnergyPolicyReview.pdf). Unem statistical appendix 2025 gives 'Eni Revt Taranto 5,2' million tonnes/year technical-balanced capacity as at 1 January 2024 (https://www.unem.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/UNEM_25_appendice_statistica.pdf); that is a tonnage figure and was NOT converted. The Eni page names the 137 km pipeline from the Centro Oli Val d'Agri (COVA) at Viggiano in Basilicata as the crude supply line. The page says finished products are 'shipped by sea via the wharf area' but does not name the port, so connected_ports is empty; the IEA report separately lists Taranto among Italy's crude oil tanker ports able to take 300,000 dwt ships, but does not tie that berth to this refinery, so it was not used.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / eni-taranto, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 838c7f8a7778.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.