Venice Porto Marghera biorefinery (former Eni refinery)
Venezia Porto Marghera, Italy
Venice Porto Marghera biorefinery (former Eni refinery) in Venezia Porto Marghera, Italy has been converted and no longer refines crude oil. It is operated by Enilive SpA. No capacity figure for Venice Porto Marghera biorefinery (former Eni refinery) could be cited, so none is shown. This is not a capacity of zero. The sources we opened disagree about this site; their readings are quoted in the notes.
- Operator
- Enilive SpA
- Commissioned
- not published
- Capacity (as published)
- not published
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
Eni's own page states 'At the time of its opening in 2014, it was the world's first example of fully converting a traditional refinery into a biorefinery', gives current processing capacity of 400,000 tonnes per year with a planned expansion to 600,000 tonnes per year, and says the second transformation phase 'began in 2022 with the shutdown of the cracking plants' (https://www.eni.com/en-IT/actions/global-activities/Italy/venice-porto-marghera-bio-refinery.html).
DISAGREEMENT with one Tier-1 source: the IEA Energy Policy Review Italy 2023 Table 9.1 nonetheless lists 'Porto Marghera Eni 70' kb/d among Italy's 11 operational oil refineries (https://iea.blob.core.windows.net/assets/71b328b3-3e5b-4c04-8a22-3ead575b3a9a/Italy_2023_EnergyPolicyReview.pdf), which contradicts Eni's own account of a 2014 full conversion; the operator's statement is taken as authoritative here and the IEA row is treated as a stale entry.
DOUBLE-COUNTING GUARD: do not count 70 kb/d of Italian crude distillation capacity for this site.
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Enilive SpA | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Eni SpA | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for Venice Porto Marghera biorefinery (former Eni refinery) in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Italy's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Venice Porto Marghera biorefinery (former Eni refinery) no longer refines crude oil (recorded status: converted), so there is no current crude intake to describe. What it ran on before is not published either.
Unknown
National · ItalyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Italy has 11 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Italy's crude imports came mainly from Libya (24%), Kazakhstan (20%) and the United States of America (14%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Libya | 1,182,200 | 24% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 974,227 | 20% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 670,684 | 14% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 569,095 | 12% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 367,894 | 8% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 271,344 | 6% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 147,013 | 3% | Calculated |
| Norway | 142,435 | 3% | Calculated |
| Angola | 132,525 | 3% | Calculated |
| Gabon | 95,349 | 2% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 93,471 | 2% | Calculated |
| Egypt | 85,758 | 2% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 75,963 | 2% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 57,077 | 1% | Calculated |
| Month | Libya | Azerbaijan | Kazakhstan | United States of America | Saudi Arabia | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 25% | 16% | 14% | 5% | 8% | 32% |
| 2025-08 | 27% | 13% | 10% | 12% | 7% | 31% |
| 2025-09 | 26% | 21% | 11% | 13% | 10% | 19% |
| 2025-10 | 26% | 15% | 8% | 19% | 5% | 27% |
| 2025-11 | 23% | 13% | 16% | 14% | 3% | 32% |
| 2025-12 | 28% | 18% | 10% | 8% | 4% | 27% |
| 2026-01 | 29% | 19% | 5% | 8% | 9% | 27% |
| 2026-02 | 27% | 10% | 11% | 8% | 11% | 33% |
| 2026-03 | 32% | 17% | 17% | 7% | 10% | 17% |
| 2026-04 | 25% | 13% | 14% | 11% | 8% | 29% |
| 2026-05 | 24% | 14% | 19% | 12% | 7% | 24% |
| 2026-06 | 24% | 12% | 20% | 14% | 8% | 23% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Italy (national)
What all refineries in Italy produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · ItalyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Italy's refineries together produced 5,677.065 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Venice Porto Marghera biorefinery (former Eni refinery)'s own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 1,174.125 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 2,019.6 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 236.619 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 390.753 | Official |
| Naphtha | 370.159 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 645.064 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 100.123 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 182.382 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 5,677.065 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 6,025.279 | 1,440.336 | 2,268.342 | 268.225 |
| 2025-08 | 6,121.959 | 1,551.137 | 2,374.984 | 238.447 |
| 2025-09 | 5,742.79 | 1,491.528 | 2,143.02 | 257.839 |
| 2025-10 | 5,063.895 | 1,299.212 | 1,816.022 | 183.72 |
| 2025-11 | 4,764.045 | 1,213.509 | 1,655.945 | 211.489 |
| 2025-12 | 5,764.387 | 1,345.911 | 2,138.651 | 230.893 |
| 2026-01 | 4,955.884 | 1,197.518 | 1,938.869 | 223.528 |
| 2026-02 | 4,469.116 | 1,026.411 | 1,722.208 | 192.133 |
| 2026-03 | 4,880.459 | 1,245.803 | 1,574.394 | 248.355 |
| 2026-04 | 5,178.669 | 1,180.758 | 1,701.841 | 305.194 |
| 2026-05 | 5,759.754 | 1,233.431 | 2,289.704 | 376.794 |
| 2026-06 | 5,677.065 | 1,174.125 | 2,019.6 | 390.753 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Venice Porto Marghera biorefinery (former Eni refinery). No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Italy's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · ItalyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 9% and 16% of Italy's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Venice Porto Marghera biorefinery (former Eni refinery) is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.eni.com/en-IT/actions/global-activities/Italy/venice-porto-marghera-bio-refinery.html- Status; Site record; Source notes
- https://www.unem.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/UNEM_25_appendice_statistica.pdf- Source notes
- https://iea.blob.core.windows.net/assets/71b328b3-3e5b-4c04-8a22-3ead575b3a9a/Italy_2023_EnergyPolicyReview.pdf- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Coordinates are OpenStreetMap-derived (Nominatim, queried 2026-09-22), not operator-published. CONVERTED to a biorefinery, not a crude refinery. Eni's own page states 'At the time of its opening in 2014, it was the world's first example of fully converting a traditional refinery into a biorefinery', gives current processing capacity of 400,000 tonnes per year with a planned expansion to 600,000 tonnes per year, and says the second transformation phase 'began in 2022 with the shutdown of the cracking plants' (https://www.eni.com/en-IT/actions/global-activities/Italy/venice-porto-marghera-bio-refinery.html). Capacity fields are left EMPTY because the published figure is biogenic feedstock throughput, not crude distillation capacity. The Unem statistical appendix 2025 corroborates this by listing the site as 'Enilive P. Marghera (VE)' with a dash in the technical-balanced capacity column (https://www.unem.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/UNEM_25_appendice_statistica.pdf), and the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal has no IED Annex I 1.2 installation at Porto Marghera in the latest extract. DISAGREEMENT with one Tier-1 source: the IEA Energy Policy Review Italy 2023 Table 9.1 nonetheless lists 'Porto Marghera Eni 70' kb/d among Italy's 11 operational oil refineries (https://iea.blob.core.windows.net/assets/71b328b3-3e5b-4c04-8a22-3ead575b3a9a/Italy_2023_EnergyPolicyReview.pdf), which contradicts Eni's own account of a 2014 full conversion; the operator's statement is taken as authoritative here and the IEA row is treated as a stale entry. DOUBLE-COUNTING GUARD: do not count 70 kb/d of Italian crude distillation capacity for this site.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / enilive-venezia-porto-marghera, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 10dc2e21d257.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.