Rhone Energies Raffinerie de Fos-sur-Mer
Fos-sur-Mer, France
Rhone Energies Raffinerie de Fos-sur-Mer is an operating crude oil refinery in Fos-sur-Mer, France. It is operated by Rhone Energies. Its published capacity is 140,000 bpd (dated 2026-09-21), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- Rhone Energies
- Commissioned
- 1965
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
CAPACITY DISAGREEMENT: owner 140,000+ bpd vs UFIP-derived list 6.6 Mt/a.
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 22:47 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rhone Energies | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Rhone Energies (created by Entara and Trafigura) | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
Rhone Energies Raffinerie de Fos-sur-Mer is connected to Marseille-Fos (port) and SPSE crude system originates at the Fos-sur-Mer depot (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Marseille-Fos (Port) Verified HighEvidence: rhoneenergies.eu · www.spse.fr
- connected to SPSE crude system originates at the Fos-sur-Mer depot (Pipeline) Verified HighEvidence: rhoneenergies.eu · www.spse.fr
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. France's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Rhone Energies Raffinerie de Fos-sur-Mer runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · FranceNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: France has 6 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, France's crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (25%), Libya (15%) and Kazakhstan (14%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States of America | 720,000 | 25% | Calculated |
| Libya | 428,000 | 15% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 418,000 | 14% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 271,000 | 9% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 236,000 | 8% | Calculated |
| Canada | 186,000 | 6% | Calculated |
| Norway | 174,000 | 6% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 145,000 | 5% | Calculated |
| Angola | 137,000 | 5% | Calculated |
| Democratic Republic of the Congo | 118,000 | 4% | Calculated |
| Mexico | 30,000 | 1% | Calculated |
| Congo | 28,000 | 1% | Calculated |
| Month | United States of America | Kazakhstan | Nigeria | Norway | Algeria | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 23% | 13% | 10% | 6% | 9% | 37% |
| 2025-08 | 21% | 16% | 17% | 7% | 6% | 33% |
| 2025-09 | 27% | 21% | 3% | 10% | 4% | 34% |
| 2025-10 | 12% | 15% | 15% | 15% | 13% | 30% |
| 2025-11 | 19% | 11% | 15% | 12% | 12% | 29% |
| 2025-12 | 28% | 14% | 7% | 11% | 15% | 25% |
| 2026-01 | 37% | 10% | 14% | 9% | 3% | 28% |
| 2026-02 | 33% | 11% | 13% | 3% | 9% | 29% |
| 2026-03 | 28% | 12% | 10% | 9% | 6% | 35% |
| 2026-04 | 22% | 19% | 9% | 10% | 10% | 27% |
| 2026-05 | 22% | 27% | 11% | 10% | 12% | 17% |
| 2026-06 | 25% | 14% | 9% | 6% | 5% | 40% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in France (national)
What all refineries in France produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · FranceNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: France's refineries together produced 3,384 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Rhone Energies Raffinerie de Fos-sur-Mer's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 602 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 1,152 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 150 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 332 | Official |
| Naphtha | 318 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 415 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 95 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 21 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 3,384 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 4,506 | 833 | 1,520 | 398 |
| 2025-08 | 4,421 | 828 | 1,534 | 401 |
| 2025-09 | 4,126 | 718 | 1,368 | 374 |
| 2025-10 | 4,290 | 699 | 1,297 | 395 |
| 2025-11 | 4,255 | 723 | 1,439 | 354 |
| 2025-12 | 4,369 | 800 | 1,430 | 410 |
| 2026-01 | 4,073 | 749 | 1,261 | 367 |
| 2026-02 | 3,774 | 731 | 1,215 | 350 |
| 2026-03 | 4,198 | 708 | 1,345 | 464 |
| 2026-04 | 4,140 | 620 | 1,445 | 440 |
| 2026-05 | 3,721 | 577 | 1,213 | 411 |
| 2026-06 | 3,384 | 602 | 1,152 | 332 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Rhone Energies Raffinerie de Fos-sur-Mer. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: France's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · FranceNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 0% and 8% of France's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Rhone Energies Raffinerie de Fos-sur-Mer is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://rhoneenergies.eu/- Capacity; Status; Site record; Connection: Marseille-Fos; Connection: SPSE crude system originates at the Fos-sur-Mer depot
- https://rapportannuel.esso.fr/2021/activites/sites-de-production/le-site-de-fos-sur-mer-sait-adapter-sa-capacite-de-production/- Source notes
- https://www.spse.fr/fr/presentation-reseau-direction-actionnaires.php- Connection: Marseille-Fos; Connection: SPSE crude system originates at the Fos-sur-Mer depot
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
OWNERSHIP CHANGE: sold by Esso S.A.F. (ExxonMobil) to Rhone Energies in November 2024, together with the Toulouse and Villette-de-Vienne terminals; exact closing day UNVERIFIED (offshore-technology.com gives 4 Nov 2024; the Trafigura/Rhone Energies primary release could not be opened). CAPACITY DISAGREEMENT: owner 140,000+ bpd vs UFIP-derived list 6.6 Mt/a. Both retained. commissioned_year 1965 per the Esso 2021 annual report. Do NOT confuse this deal with the separate Nov-2025 North Atlantic acquisition of Esso S.A.F. (see port-jerome-gravenchon). Prior-owner source: https://rapportannuel.esso.fr/2021/activites/sites-de-production/le-site-de-fos-sur-mer-sait-adapter-sa-capacite-de-production/
Record reference_refineries_v1 / fos-sur-mer, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash cfac62ec60aa.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.