Gunvor Raffinerie Ingolstadt GmbH
Koesching (Ingolstadt), Germany
Gunvor Raffinerie Ingolstadt GmbH is an operating crude oil refinery in Koesching (Ingolstadt), Germany. It is operated by Gunvor Raffinerie Ingolstadt GmbH. Its published capacity is 110,000 bpd (dated 2026-09-21), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- Gunvor Raffinerie Ingolstadt GmbH
- Commissioned
- 1963
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedHigh- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gunvor Raffinerie Ingolstadt GmbH | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Gunvor Group Ltd 100% | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
Gunvor Raffinerie Ingolstadt GmbH is connected to Trieste (port) and TAL , 753 km from the Trieste marine terminal (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Trieste (Port) Verified LowTrieste (crude enters the TAL there)Evidence: gunvorgroup.com
- connected to TAL , 753 km from the Trieste marine terminal (Pipeline) Verified LowTAL (Transalpine Oelleitung), 753 km from the Trieste marine terminalEvidence: gunvorgroup.com
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Germany's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Gunvor Raffinerie Ingolstadt GmbH runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · GermanyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Germany has 12 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Germany's crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (31%), Kazakhstan (16%) and Norway (11%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States of America | 2,138,248 | 31% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 1,116,312 | 16% | Calculated |
| Norway | 734,331 | 11% | Calculated |
| Libya | 731,299 | 11% | Calculated |
| Guyana | 621,864 | 9% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 435,480 | 6% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 309,314 | 5% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 302,544 | 4% | Calculated |
| Canada | 107,468 | 2% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 90,063 | 1% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 66,822 | 1% | Calculated |
| Denmark | 49,945 | 1% | Calculated |
| Italy | 30,109 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Syrian Arab Republic | 27,267 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Niger | 23,320 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Iraq | 21,195 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 16,900 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Gabon | 15,984 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Senegal | 8,167 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Argentina | 5,092 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Mexico | 4,109 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Cameroon | 1,652 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Netherlands | 1,511 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| France | 249 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 29 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Month | United States of America | Norway | Kazakhstan | Libya | United Kingdom | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 11% | 13% | 14% | 20% | 11% | 23% |
| 2025-08 | 16% | 14% | 14% | 16% | 8% | 27% |
| 2025-09 | 14% | 13% | 15% | 16% | 9% | 23% |
| 2025-10 | 12% | 15% | 13% | 12% | 12% | 26% |
| 2025-11 | 15% | 18% | 16% | 18% | 9% | 14% |
| 2025-12 | 16% | 14% | 18% | 16% | 12% | 13% |
| 2026-01 | 15% | 20% | 14% | 14% | 10% | 27% |
| 2026-02 | 18% | 12% | 14% | 13% | 13% | 31% |
| 2026-03 | 17% | 23% | 10% | 9% | 11% | 30% |
| 2026-04 | 13% | 18% | 17% | 7% | 10% | 35% |
| 2026-05 | 24% | 20% | 15% | 11% | 11% | 19% |
| 2026-06 | 31% | 11% | 16% | 11% | 6% | 25% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Germany (national)
What all refineries in Germany produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · GermanyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Germany's refineries together produced 7,504.979 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Gunvor Raffinerie Ingolstadt GmbH's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 1,578.78 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 2,769.409 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 466.999 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 466.43 | Official |
| Naphtha | 622.114 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 262.47 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 194.607 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 158.633 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 7,504.979 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 7,977.864 | 1,800.833 | 2,657.572 | 412.339 |
| 2025-08 | 7,253.079 | 1,694.023 | 2,433.99 | 391.331 |
| 2025-09 | 7,996.195 | 1,812.4 | 2,562.676 | 388.424 |
| 2025-10 | 8,138.211 | 1,868.06 | 2,555.305 | 382.329 |
| 2025-11 | 7,983.467 | 1,890.569 | 2,522.603 | 366.796 |
| 2025-12 | 8,019.975 | 1,942.663 | 2,617.095 | 418.308 |
| 2026-01 | 7,498.564 | 1,638.857 | 2,338.554 | 456.308 |
| 2026-02 | 7,085.004 | 1,523.531 | 2,349.045 | 358.79 |
| 2026-03 | 7,215.361 | 1,546.304 | 2,334.742 | 425.405 |
| 2026-04 | 7,735.407 | 1,604.949 | 2,890.5 | 455.378 |
| 2026-05 | 7,968.619 | 1,700.999 | 3,073.187 | 478.069 |
| 2026-06 | 7,504.979 | 1,578.78 | 2,769.409 | 466.43 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Gunvor Raffinerie Ingolstadt GmbH. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Germany's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · GermanyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 2% and 2% of Germany's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Gunvor Raffinerie Ingolstadt GmbH is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://gunvorgroup.com/moving-energy/investments/refineries/gunvor-refinery-ingolstadt/- Capacity; Site record; Connection: Trieste; Connection: TAL , 753 km from the Trieste marine terminal
- https://gunvor-raffinerie-ingolstadt.de/- Status
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
STILL OPERATING - no closure or sale found, contrary to speculation. The site publishes a scheduled turnaround ('Zwischen-Stillstand 2026') and current 2026 newsletters; a turnaround is NOT a closure. NOTE: this is a different Gunvor asset from Gunvor Energy Rotterdam (see the gunvor-rotterdam row), whose status is UNKNOWN - do not conflate them. CAPACITY UNITS DIFFER BETWEEN SOURCES: Gunvor publishes 110,000 barrels/day; en2x gives 5,000 thousand t at 31.12.2022. Both retained; no conversion applied. en2x cross-check value is a 31.12.2022 snapshot from a survey that is now demonstrably stale (it still shows Nynas Harburg operating, Wesseling crude running and bp owning Gelsenkirchen). No newer en2x edition is downloadable: the statistics page now redirects to the homepage. OWNERSHIP HISTORY: Esso -> Petroplus (April 2007) -> Gunvor Group (May 2012), operations resumed 24 August 2012. Commissioned December 1963 as ESSO-Raffinerie Ingolstadt. Located at Koesching, not in Ingolstadt city proper. Coordinates are OpenStreetMap-derived.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / gunvor-ingolstadt, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 459ac0d41b46.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.