Gunvor Energy Rotterdam B.V. (formerly Gunvor Petroleum Rotterdam)
Rotterdam-Europoort, Netherlands
Gunvor Energy Rotterdam B.V. (formerly Gunvor Petroleum Rotterdam) is in Rotterdam-Europoort, the Netherlands. Whether it still refines crude oil is UNKNOWN: the sources we opened do not settle it, and both readings are kept in the notes. It is operated by Gunvor. Its published capacity is 75,000 bpd (dated 2026-09-21), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- Gunvor
- Commissioned
- not published
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedUnknown- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gunvor | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Gunvor (100%) | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
Gunvor Energy Rotterdam B.V. (formerly Gunvor Petroleum Rotterdam) is connected to Rotterdam-Europoort (port). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Rotterdam-Europoort (Port) Verified LowRotterdam-Europoort (integrated terminal, ~1.5 million m3 storage)Evidence: gunvorgroup.com
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Netherlands's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Gunvor Energy Rotterdam B.V. (formerly Gunvor Petroleum Rotterdam) runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · NetherlandsNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: the Netherlands has 5 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, the Netherlands' crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (27%), Norway (15%) and Kazakhstan (9%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States of America | 1,024,780 | 27% | Calculated |
| Norway | 567,447 | 15% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 352,510 | 9% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 301,787 | 8% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 249,652 | 7% | Calculated |
| Libya | 134,924 | 4% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 106,576 | 3% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 98,890 | 3% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 81,836 | 2% | Calculated |
| Niger | 79,831 | 2% | Calculated |
| Colombia | 77,607 | 2% | Calculated |
| Senegal | 73,909 | 2% | Calculated |
| Angola | 72,546 | 2% | Calculated |
| Mexico | 55,978 | 1% | Calculated |
| Congo | 54,445 | 1% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 27,509 | 1% | Calculated |
| Italy | 14,025 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Belgium | 838 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Germany | 1 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Month | United States of America | Norway | Kazakhstan | United Kingdom | Brazil | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 15% | 17% | 17% | 9% | 8% | 26% |
| 2025-08 | 20% | 22% | 15% | 6% | 13% | 18% |
| 2025-09 | 25% | 22% | 12% | 9% | 8% | 18% |
| 2025-10 | 19% | 21% | 15% | 9% | 5% | 26% |
| 2025-11 | 27% | 12% | 19% | 8% | 5% | 20% |
| 2025-12 | 28% | 19% | 11% | 7% | 10% | 21% |
| 2026-01 | 22% | 27% | 3% | 8% | 6% | 28% |
| 2026-02 | 25% | 19% | 10% | 9% | 4% | 20% |
| 2026-03 | 20% | 21% | 8% | 11% | 5% | 31% |
| 2026-04 | 15% | 25% | 12% | 10% | 7% | 22% |
| 2026-05 | 38% | 11% | 8% | 5% | 10% | 18% |
| 2026-06 | 27% | 15% | 9% | 8% | 7% | 23% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Netherlands (national)
What all refineries in Netherlands produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · NetherlandsNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: The Netherlands' refineries together produced 4,922.829 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Gunvor Energy Rotterdam B.V. (formerly Gunvor Petroleum Rotterdam)'s own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 375.356 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 1,226.852 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 179.988 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 673.415 | Official |
| Naphtha | 884.793 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 781.416 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 97.818 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 37.149 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 4,922.829 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 4,727.386 | 306.725 | 1,198.864 | 587.669 |
| 2025-08 | 5,055.727 | 291.594 | 1,154.715 | 580.489 |
| 2025-09 | 4,668.302 | 347.488 | 1,153.65 | 482.52 |
| 2025-10 | 5,266.059 | 201.062 | 1,570.259 | 532.995 |
| 2025-11 | 5,249.446 | 230.28 | 1,376.299 | 534.469 |
| 2025-12 | 5,445.096 | 258.096 | 1,616.377 | 557.406 |
| 2026-01 | 5,092.898 | 277.984 | 1,330.82 | 573.269 |
| 2026-02 | 4,561.892 | 281.126 | 1,327.201 | 490.623 |
| 2026-03 | 5,261.947 | 398.342 | 1,417.949 | 732.341 |
| 2026-04 | 4,917.97 | 334.788 | 1,258.161 | 756.906 |
| 2026-05 | 5,212.002 | 381.948 | 1,292.067 | 742.394 |
| 2026-06 | 4,922.829 | 375.356 | 1,226.852 | 673.415 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Gunvor Energy Rotterdam B.V. (formerly Gunvor Petroleum Rotterdam). No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Netherlands's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · NetherlandsNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 3% and 5% of The Netherlands's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. 0% of the imported volume came from origins with no published route classification; it is counted as unknown, not as zero. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Gunvor Energy Rotterdam B.V. (formerly Gunvor Petroleum Rotterdam) is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://gunvorgroup.com/moving-energy/investments/refineries/gunvor-energy-rotterdam/- Capacity; Status; Site record; Connection: Rotterdam-Europoort
- https://shipandbunker.com/news/emea/624182-gunvor-halts-production-at-rotterdam-refinery- Status
- https://chemxplore.com/news/gunvor-scales-back-rotterdam-operations-further-amidst-uncertain-investment-climate- Status
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
STATUS DELIBERATELY UNKNOWN - SOURCES DIRECTLY CONTRADICT EACH OTHER AND WE DO NOT PICK A WINNER. (A) Gunvor's OWN live page, retrieved 2026-09-21, still says the site 'produces and distributes' finished and intermediate products and shows 75,000 b/d. (B) Trade press 22-25 November 2024 reported a TEMPORARY halt effective 25 Nov 2024 for 'lack of prompt availability of commercially viable feedstock', with the terminal continuing. (C) chemxplore, 9 July 2025, reports 'permanent closure of its motor fuel refinery in December 2024' plus cessation of Europoort terminal activities, ~260 employees and 140 contractors affected. The operator page appears stale but no Gunvor press release confirming closure could be located. Corroborating hint: the Port of Rotterdam crude-oil page lists port refineries as 'BP, ExxonMobil, Shell and Vitol' - Gunvor is NOT named. FLAGGED FOR MANUAL FOLLOW-UP (Dutch permit/register check). Renamed from Gunvor Petroleum Rotterdam in Jan 2023 after consolidation with Stargate Oil Terminal Rotterdam B.V.; refinery acquired by Gunvor in 2016. Coordinates are OpenStreetMap-derived (Nominatim/Overpass, queried 2026-09-21), not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / gunvor-rotterdam, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash ab01511bbdfb.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.