HELLENiQ ENERGY Elefsina Refinery
Elefsina, Greece
HELLENiQ ENERGY Elefsina Refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Elefsina, Greece. It is operated by HELLENiQ ENERGY. Its published capacity is 106 kbpd (dated 2025), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- HELLENiQ ENERGY
- Commissioned
- not published
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
Annual Report 2025 business review prints: daily capacity 106 kbpd, annual capacity 5.3 million MT, configuration Hydrocracking, storage 3.2 million m3, Nelson Complexity Index 12.0.
The Annual Report 2024 business review prints the same 106 kbpd, and the corporate refining page also prints '106 thousand barrels', so no disagreement here. capacity_bpd is the printed 'kbpd' figure expressed in bpd; no tonnes-to-barrels conversion was performed.
DISAGREEMENT on Aspropyrgos only (see that row).
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 22:47 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HELLENiQ ENERGY | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for HELLENiQ ENERGY Elefsina Refinery in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Greece's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil HELLENiQ ENERGY Elefsina Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · GreeceNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Greece has 3 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Greece's crude imports came mainly from Kazakhstan (26%), Iraq (20%) and Libya (15%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kazakhstan | 573,440 | 26% | Calculated |
| Iraq | 434,654 | 20% | Calculated |
| Libya | 331,226 | 15% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 323,223 | 15% | Calculated |
| Norway | 295,097 | 13% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 141,152 | 6% | Calculated |
| Colombia | 102,734 | 5% | Calculated |
| Month | Iraq | Kazakhstan | Libya | Norway | Saudi Arabia | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 31% | 25% | 22% | 9% | 5% | 8% |
| 2025-08 | 27% | 25% | 11% | 14% | 14% | 9% |
| 2025-09 | 45% | 18% | 17% | - | 7% | 6% |
| 2025-10 | 46% | 18% | 20% | - | 6% | 9% |
| 2025-11 | 39% | 29% | 11% | 7% | 6% | 9% |
| 2025-12 | 47% | 27% | 20% | - | 7% | 0% |
| 2026-01 | 46% | 13% | 20% | 8% | 7% | 7% |
| 2026-02 | 35% | 19% | 12% | 15% | 7% | 12% |
| 2026-03 | 31% | 15% | 21% | 8% | 19% | 8% |
| 2026-04 | 16% | 29% | 17% | 14% | 10% | 14% |
| 2026-05 | 16% | 22% | 12% | 15% | - | 35% |
| 2026-06 | 20% | 26% | 15% | 13% | 6% | 19% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Greece (national)
What all refineries in Greece produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · GreeceNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Greece's refineries together produced 2,662.767 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. HELLENiQ ENERGY Elefsina Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 470.593 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 595.437 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 267.279 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 381.441 | Official |
| Naphtha | 160.727 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 247.936 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 82.881 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 41.266 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 2,662.767 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 2,751.316 | 518.742 | 643.788 | 309.434 |
| 2025-08 | 2,711.454 | 483.188 | 710.825 | 312.339 |
| 2025-09 | 2,777.751 | 525.976 | 667.808 | 322.776 |
| 2025-10 | 2,843.932 | 537.184 | 675.967 | 302.879 |
| 2025-11 | 2,744.724 | 518.685 | 678.172 | 258.239 |
| 2025-12 | 2,859.901 | 532.453 | 723.734 | 271.017 |
| 2026-01 | 2,899.402 | 550.381 | 692.742 | 269.062 |
| 2026-02 | 1,880.91 | 276.198 | 363.664 | 254.963 |
| 2026-03 | 2,104.324 | 293.755 | 561.728 | 297.137 |
| 2026-04 | 2,382.597 | 402.193 | 537.982 | 346.213 |
| 2026-05 | 2,753.371 | 509.442 | 610.29 | 407.728 |
| 2026-06 | 2,662.767 | 470.593 | 595.437 | 381.441 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for HELLENiQ ENERGY Elefsina Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Greece's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · GreeceNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 32% and 33% of Greece's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached HELLENiQ ENERGY Elefsina Refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://annualreport2025.helleniqenergy.com/business-review/- Capacity; Status; Site record
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Annual Report 2025 business review prints: daily capacity 106 kbpd, annual capacity 5.3 million MT, configuration Hydrocracking, storage 3.2 million m3, Nelson Complexity Index 12.0. The Annual Report 2024 business review prints the same 106 kbpd, and the corporate refining page also prints '106 thousand barrels', so no disagreement here. capacity_bpd is the printed 'kbpd' figure expressed in bpd; no tonnes-to-barrels conversion was performed. Operator group publishes per-refinery figures in both kbpd and million MT/year. DISAGREEMENT on Aspropyrgos only (see that row). The EEA Industrial Emissions Portal names the permit operator 'HELLENIC PETROLEUM R.S.S.O.P.P. S.A.' for reporting years 2023-2024 (previously 'HELLENIC PETROLEUM S.A.'); the group trades as HELLENiQ ENERGY. Legal owner entity not taken from any page opened, so owner left empty. EEA register lists the installation as 'functional' for reporting year 2024. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas', ProductionInstallation table, reporting year 2024), queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ . Not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / helleniq-elefsina, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash b63a693a9fef.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.