Fuel Origin

HELLENiQ ENERGY Thessaloniki Refinery

Thessaloniki, Greece

HELLENiQ ENERGY Thessaloniki Refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Thessaloniki, Greece. It is operated by HELLENiQ ENERGY. Its published capacity is 90 kbpd (dated 2025), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.

Status
Operating
status source
Operator
HELLENiQ ENERGY
Commissioned
not published
Capacity (as published)
90 kbpd
capacity source · 2025 · not converted

Publishers disagree - both readings are kept

  • Annual Report 2025 business review prints: daily capacity 90 kbpd, annual capacity 4.5 million MT, configuration Hydroskimming, storage 1.4 million m3, Nelson Complexity Index 5.8.
  • Annual Report 2024 and the corporate refining page print the same 90 thousand barrels per day, so no disagreement here. capacity_bpd is the printed 'kbpd' figure expressed in bpd; no tonnes-to-barrels conversion was performed.
  • DISAGREEMENT on Aspropyrgos only (see that row).

Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.

Refinery recordVerified
Last verified 2026-09-22Location 40.6795, 22.8782

Owners and operator

Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.

NameRoleShareFromToType
HELLENiQ ENERGYOperatornot publishednot publishedcurrentVerified
Source
Refinery operators and national regulators (cited per row)Verified
Updated 2026-09-21 00:00 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view
No dated ownership change is recorded as structured data for this refinery. Earlier owners, where the sources name them, are described in the source notes at the foot of this page.

Ports and pipelines it is connected to

Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.

No port or pipeline connection is recorded for HELLENiQ ENERGY Thessaloniki Refinery in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown

No connection is recorded for this refinery in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that none exists.
Source
several sources (see each row)Unknown
Updated not publishedConfidenceUnknownMethodologyno download for this view

What it runs on

Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Greece's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.

This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN

Which crude oil HELLENiQ ENERGY Thessaloniki Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.

Unknown

National · GreeceNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National context, not this refinery's intake: Greece has 3 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Greece's crude imports came mainly from Kazakhstan (26%), Iraq (20%) and Libya (15%).

Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.

Greece, June 2026 - latest month with an origin breakdown (COMPUTED)
Producing countryTonnesShareType
Kazakhstan573,44026%Calculated
Iraq434,65420%Calculated
Libya331,22615%Calculated
United States of America323,22315%Calculated
Norway295,09713%Calculated
Saudi Arabia141,1526%Calculated
Colombia102,7345%Calculated
Last 12 months held: share of Greece's crude imports by producing country
MonthIraqKazakhstanLibyaNorwaySaudi ArabiaAll other origins
2025-0731%25%22%9%5%8%
2025-0827%25%11%14%14%9%
2025-0945%18%17%-7%6%
2025-1046%18%20%-6%9%
2025-1139%29%11%7%6%9%
2025-1247%27%20%-7%0%
2026-0146%13%20%8%7%7%
2026-0235%19%12%15%7%12%
2026-0331%15%21%8%19%8%
2026-0416%29%17%14%10%14%
2026-0516%22%12%15%-35%
2026-0620%26%15%13%6%19%

"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.

Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Calculated
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-24 07:37 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Refinery output in Greece (national)

What all refineries in Greece produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.

National · GreeceNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not this refinery's: Greece's refineries together produced 2,662.767 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. HELLENiQ ENERGY Thessaloniki Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official

June 2026, thousand tonnes as published
Motor gasoline470.593Official
Road diesel595.437Official
Heating and other gasoil267.279Official
Kerosene-type jet fuel381.441Official
Naphtha160.727Official
Fuel oil247.936Official
Liquefied petroleum gases82.881Official
Petroleum coke41.266Official
All oil products (total)2,662.767Official
Last 12 months, thousand tonnes
MonthTotalMotor gasolineRoad dieselKerosene-type jet fuel
2025-072,751.316518.742643.788309.434
2025-082,711.454483.188710.825312.339
2025-092,777.751525.976667.808322.776
2025-102,843.932537.184675.967302.879
2025-112,744.724518.685678.172258.239
2025-122,859.901532.453723.734271.017
2026-012,899.402550.381692.742269.062
2026-021,880.91276.198363.664254.963
2026-032,104.324293.755561.728297.137
2026-042,382.597402.193537.982346.213
2026-052,753.371509.442610.29407.728
2026-062,662.767470.593595.437381.441
Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Official
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-23 10:15 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Outages and maintenance

Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.

No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).

No outage or maintenance is recorded for HELLENiQ ENERGY Thessaloniki Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.

Source
several sources (see each row)Unknown
Updated not publishedConfidenceUnknownMethodologyno download for this view

Strait of Hormuz: Greece's direct crude exposure (national)

The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.

National · GreeceNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 32% and 33% of Greece's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached HELLENiQ ENERGY Thessaloniki Refinery is not published. Calculated

July 202632-33%CalculatedLow
Source
EIA, IEA and terminal operators (cited per row)Calculated
Period 2026-07 (month)Updated 2026-09-24 07:44 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view

Sources used on this page

  1. https://annualreport2025.helleniqenergy.com/business-review/- Capacity; Status; Site record
  2. https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
  3. https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
  4. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
  5. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
  6. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)

Annual Report 2025 business review prints: daily capacity 90 kbpd, annual capacity 4.5 million MT, configuration Hydroskimming, storage 1.4 million m3, Nelson Complexity Index 5.8. Annual Report 2024 and the corporate refining page print the same 90 thousand barrels per day, so no disagreement here. capacity_bpd is the printed 'kbpd' figure expressed in bpd; no tonnes-to-barrels conversion was performed. Operator group publishes per-refinery figures in both kbpd and million MT/year. DISAGREEMENT on Aspropyrgos only (see that row). The EEA Industrial Emissions Portal names the permit operator 'HELLENIC PETROLEUM R.S.S.O.P.P. S.A.' for reporting years 2023-2024 (previously 'HELLENIC PETROLEUM S.A.'); the group trades as HELLENiQ ENERGY. Legal owner entity not taken from any page opened, so owner left empty. EEA register lists the installation as 'functional' for reporting year 2024. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas', ProductionInstallation table, reporting year 2024), queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ . Not operator-published.

Record reference_refineries_v1 / helleniq-thessaloniki, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash a1f6d9328607.

How to read the labels
  • OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
  • VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
  • CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
  • Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
  • Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
  • Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
  • UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.