Fuel Origin

HOLBORN Europa Raffinerie GmbH

Hamburg, Germany

HOLBORN Europa Raffinerie GmbH is an operating crude oil refinery in Hamburg, Germany. It is operated by HOLBORN Europa Raffinerie GmbH. Its published capacity is 5 Mt/a (dated 2026-09-21), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.

Status
Operating
status source
Operator
HOLBORN Europa Raffinerie GmbH
Commissioned
1928
Capacity (as published)
5 Mt/a
100,000 bpdalso published
capacity source · 2026-09-21 · not converted
Refinery recordVerified
Last verified 2026-09-21Location 53.4770, 9.9517

Owners and operator

Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.

NameRoleShareFromToType
HOLBORN Europa Raffinerie GmbHOperatornot publishednot publishedcurrentVerified
HOLBORN Investment Company Limited, part of Oilinvest (Netherlands) B.V. (Tamoil/HEM group), 100%Ownernot publishednot publishedcurrentVerified
Source
Refinery operators and national regulators (cited per row)Verified
Updated 2026-09-21 00:00 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view
No dated ownership change is recorded as structured data for this refinery. Earlier owners, where the sources name them, are described in the source notes at the foot of this page.

Ports and pipelines it is connected to

Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.

HOLBORN Europa Raffinerie GmbH is connected to Wilhelmshaven (port), own Hamburg harbour with 6 berths (port) and NDO , 142 km Wilhelmshaven to Hamburg, in use since 1989 (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified

  • connected to Wilhelmshaven (Port) Verified LowWilhelmshaven (crude import via NWO)Evidence: www.holborn.de
  • connected to own Hamburg harbour with 6 berths (Port) Verified LowEvidence: www.holborn.de
  • connected to NDO , 142 km Wilhelmshaven to Hamburg, in use since 1989 (Pipeline) Verified LowNDO (Norddeutsche Oelleitung), 142 km Wilhelmshaven to Hamburg, in use since 1989Evidence: www.holborn.de
Source
Refinery operators and national regulators (cited per row)Verified
Updated 2026-09-21 00:00 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view

What it runs on

Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Germany's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.

This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN

Which crude oil HOLBORN Europa Raffinerie GmbH runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.

Unknown

National · GermanyNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National context, not this refinery's intake: Germany has 12 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Germany's crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (31%), Kazakhstan (16%) and Norway (11%).

Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.

Germany, June 2026 - latest month with an origin breakdown (PARTIAL)
Producing countryTonnesShareType
United States of America2,138,24831%Calculated
Kazakhstan1,116,31216%Calculated
Norway734,33111%Calculated
Libya731,29911%Calculated
Guyana621,8649%Calculated
United Kingdom435,4806%Calculated
Azerbaijan309,3145%Calculated
Nigeria302,5444%Calculated
Canada107,4682%Calculated
Brazil90,0631%Calculated
Algeria66,8221%Calculated
Denmark49,9451%Calculated
Italy30,109less than 1%Calculated
Syrian Arab Republic27,267less than 1%Calculated
Niger23,320less than 1%Calculated
Iraq21,195less than 1%Calculated
Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)16,900less than 1%Calculated
Gabon15,984less than 1%Calculated
Senegal8,167less than 1%Calculated
Argentina5,092less than 1%Calculated
Mexico4,109less than 1%Calculated
Cameroon1,652less than 1%Calculated
Netherlands1,511less than 1%Calculated
France249less than 1%Calculated
Saudi Arabia29less than 1%Calculated
Last 12 months held: share of Germany's crude imports by producing country
MonthUnited States of AmericaNorwayKazakhstanLibyaUnited KingdomAll other origins
2025-0711%13%14%20%11%23%
2025-0816%14%14%16%8%27%
2025-0914%13%15%16%9%23%
2025-1012%15%13%12%12%26%
2025-1115%18%16%18%9%14%
2025-1216%14%18%16%12%13%
2026-0115%20%14%14%10%27%
2026-0218%12%14%13%13%31%
2026-0317%23%10%9%11%30%
2026-0413%18%17%7%10%35%
2026-0524%20%15%11%11%19%
2026-0631%11%16%11%6%25%

"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.

Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Calculated
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-26 13:21 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Refinery output in Germany (national)

What all refineries in Germany produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.

National · GermanyNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not this refinery's: Germany's refineries together produced 7,504.979 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. HOLBORN Europa Raffinerie GmbH's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official

June 2026, thousand tonnes as published
Motor gasoline1,578.78Official
Road diesel2,769.409Official
Heating and other gasoil466.999Official
Kerosene-type jet fuel466.43Official
Naphtha622.114Official
Fuel oil262.47Official
Liquefied petroleum gases194.607Official
Petroleum coke158.633Official
All oil products (total)7,504.979Official
Last 12 months, thousand tonnes
MonthTotalMotor gasolineRoad dieselKerosene-type jet fuel
2025-077,977.8641,800.8332,657.572412.339
2025-087,253.0791,694.0232,433.99391.331
2025-097,996.1951,812.42,562.676388.424
2025-108,138.2111,868.062,555.305382.329
2025-117,983.4671,890.5692,522.603366.796
2025-128,019.9751,942.6632,617.095418.308
2026-017,498.5641,638.8572,338.554456.308
2026-027,085.0041,523.5312,349.045358.79
2026-037,215.3611,546.3042,334.742425.405
2026-047,735.4071,604.9492,890.5455.378
2026-057,968.6191,700.9993,073.187478.069
2026-067,504.9791,578.782,769.409466.43
Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Official
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-23 10:15 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Outages and maintenance

Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.

No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).

No outage or maintenance is recorded for HOLBORN Europa Raffinerie GmbH. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.

Source
several sources (see each row)Unknown
Updated not publishedConfidenceUnknownMethodologyno download for this view

Strait of Hormuz: Germany's direct crude exposure (national)

The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.

National · GermanyNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 2% and 2% of Germany's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached HOLBORN Europa Raffinerie GmbH is not published. Calculated

July 20262-2%CalculatedLow
Source
EIA, IEA and terminal operators (cited per row)Calculated
Period 2026-07 (month)Updated 2026-09-24 07:44 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view

Sources used on this page

  1. https://www.holborn.de/leistungen- Capacity; Site record
  2. https://www.holborn.de/unternehmen- Status; Connection: Wilhelmshaven; Connection: own Hamburg harbour with 6 berths; Connection: NDO , 142 km Wilhelmshaven to Hamburg, in use since 1989
  3. https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
  4. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
  5. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
  6. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)

Operator publishes BOTH units itself - 5 million tonnes of crude throughput per year AND 100,000 barrels per day - so no conversion was needed. en2x cross-check 5,150 thousand t at 31.12.2022. en2x cross-check value is a 31.12.2022 snapshot from a survey that is now demonstrably stale (it still shows Nynas Harburg operating, Wesseling crude running and bp owning Gelsenkirchen). No newer en2x edition is downloadable: the statistics page now redirects to the homepage. COORDINATES ARE OPERATOR-PUBLISHED for once: 53.4770211, 9.9517431 comes from the Google Maps link on Holborn's own homepage. An independent OpenStreetMap feature gives 53.4747836, 9.9498285 - a ~250 m difference; the operator value is used. commissioned_year 1928 is the site's first refinery plant (Ebano Asphaltwerke AG); Esso ran it from 1953 and withdrew in 1985; HOLBORN took over the mothballed plant in 1987 and restarted production in 1988. NDO GmbH is a 100% subsidiary of the refinery but the line is OPERATED by NWO; Holborn holds ~20% of NWO. Business model note: the refinery is a tolling processor for sister company HEMCL, which buys the crude and sells the products - relevant when attributing crude imports to an owner.

Record reference_refineries_v1 / holborn-hamburg, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 3971a9fdb62d.

How to read the labels
  • OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
  • VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
  • CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
  • Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
  • Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
  • Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
  • UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.