Mantova refinery (former IES)
Mantova, Italy
Mantova refinery (former IES) in Mantova, Italy is closed as a crude oil refinery. It is operated by MOL Group Italy. No capacity figure for Mantova refinery (former IES) could be cited, so none is shown. This is not a capacity of zero.
- Operator
- MOL Group Italy
- Commissioned
- not published
- Capacity (as published)
- not published
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MOL Group Italy | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| MOL Group | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for Mantova refinery (former IES) in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Italy's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Mantova refinery (former IES) no longer refines crude oil (recorded status: closed), so there is no current crude intake to describe. What it ran on before is not published either.
Unknown
National · ItalyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Italy has 11 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Italy's crude imports came mainly from Libya (24%), Kazakhstan (20%) and the United States of America (14%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Libya | 1,182,200 | 24% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 974,227 | 20% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 670,684 | 14% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 569,095 | 12% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 367,894 | 8% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 271,344 | 6% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 147,013 | 3% | Calculated |
| Norway | 142,435 | 3% | Calculated |
| Angola | 132,525 | 3% | Calculated |
| Gabon | 95,349 | 2% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 93,471 | 2% | Calculated |
| Egypt | 85,758 | 2% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 75,963 | 2% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 57,077 | 1% | Calculated |
| Month | Libya | Azerbaijan | Kazakhstan | United States of America | Saudi Arabia | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 25% | 16% | 14% | 5% | 8% | 32% |
| 2025-08 | 27% | 13% | 10% | 12% | 7% | 31% |
| 2025-09 | 26% | 21% | 11% | 13% | 10% | 19% |
| 2025-10 | 26% | 15% | 8% | 19% | 5% | 27% |
| 2025-11 | 23% | 13% | 16% | 14% | 3% | 32% |
| 2025-12 | 28% | 18% | 10% | 8% | 4% | 27% |
| 2026-01 | 29% | 19% | 5% | 8% | 9% | 27% |
| 2026-02 | 27% | 10% | 11% | 8% | 11% | 33% |
| 2026-03 | 32% | 17% | 17% | 7% | 10% | 17% |
| 2026-04 | 25% | 13% | 14% | 11% | 8% | 29% |
| 2026-05 | 24% | 14% | 19% | 12% | 7% | 24% |
| 2026-06 | 24% | 12% | 20% | 14% | 8% | 23% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Italy (national)
What all refineries in Italy produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · ItalyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Italy's refineries together produced 5,677.065 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Mantova refinery (former IES)'s own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 1,174.125 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 2,019.6 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 236.619 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 390.753 | Official |
| Naphtha | 370.159 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 645.064 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 100.123 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 182.382 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 5,677.065 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 6,025.279 | 1,440.336 | 2,268.342 | 268.225 |
| 2025-08 | 6,121.959 | 1,551.137 | 2,374.984 | 238.447 |
| 2025-09 | 5,742.79 | 1,491.528 | 2,143.02 | 257.839 |
| 2025-10 | 5,063.895 | 1,299.212 | 1,816.022 | 183.72 |
| 2025-11 | 4,764.045 | 1,213.509 | 1,655.945 | 211.489 |
| 2025-12 | 5,764.387 | 1,345.911 | 2,138.651 | 230.893 |
| 2026-01 | 4,955.884 | 1,197.518 | 1,938.869 | 223.528 |
| 2026-02 | 4,469.116 | 1,026.411 | 1,722.208 | 192.133 |
| 2026-03 | 4,880.459 | 1,245.803 | 1,574.394 | 248.355 |
| 2026-04 | 5,178.669 | 1,180.758 | 1,701.841 | 305.194 |
| 2026-05 | 5,759.754 | 1,233.431 | 2,289.704 | 376.794 |
| 2026-06 | 5,677.065 | 1,174.125 | 2,019.6 | 390.753 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Mantova refinery (former IES). No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Italy's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · ItalyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 9% and 16% of Italy's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Mantova refinery (former IES) is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.gazzettadimantova.it/territorio-mantovano/la-raffineria-di-mantova-puo-essere-smantellata-il-ministero-firma-il-via-libera-alla-ies-1.12095891- Status; Site record; Source notes
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://www.staffettaonline.com/articolo.aspx/controlli/articolo.aspx?id=122972- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2), last reporting year 2020, queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/. CLOSED as a crude refinery. Gazzetta di Mantova, 2019-09-25, reports that refining ended on 2014-08-17 ('il gigante d'acciaio venne spento definitivamente'), that the Ministry of Economic Development issued a decree on 2019-09-05 authorising the 'dismissione dello stabilimento di lavorazione di oli minerali' over an estimated six years, and that the site now operates as a 'polo logistico per la commercializzazione di prodotti petroliferi' run by Molgroup Italy (https://www.gazzettadimantova.it/territorio-mantovano/la-raffineria-di-mantova-puo-essere-smantellata-il-ministero-firma-il-via-libera-alla-ies-1.12095891). This is Tier-3 regional press, cited for a dated corporate event (shutdown and ministerial dismantling decree), not for any capacity figure; all capacity fields are EMPTY. Corroboration: Staffetta Quotidiana of 2014-01-02 reports an agreement signed on 11 December between MOL, IES, the unions and the institutions (MISE, Regione Lombardia, Provincia and Comune di Mantova) on 'la cessazione dell'attivita della raffineria di Mantova in programma entro gennaio' (https://www.staffettaonline.com/articolo.aspx/controlli/articolo.aspx?id=122972, full text paywalled beyond that preview). The EEA Industrial Emissions Portal records 'IES Italiana Energia e Servizi SpA' under IED Annex I 1.2 as 'disused' for reporting years 2017-2018 and 'notRegulated' for 2019-2020, with no reporting after 2020. Site is now a products depot / logistics hub, so it must not be counted as refining capacity.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / ies-mantova, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash c42ff5c8167d.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.