INA Rijeka Refinery (Urinj)
Rijeka, Croatia
INA Rijeka Refinery (Urinj) is an operating crude oil refinery in Rijeka, Croatia. It is operated by INA d.d.. Its published capacity is 4 Mt/a (dated 2026-03-10), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- INA d.d.
- Commissioned
- not published
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 13:08 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| INA d.d. | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
INA Rijeka Refinery (Urinj) is connected to Omisalj Terminal (port) and JANAF Omisalj-Urinj subsea crude oil pipeline (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Omisalj Terminal (Port) Verified LowOmisalj Terminal (island of Krk)Evidence: api.janaf.hr
- connected to JANAF Omisalj-Urinj subsea crude oil pipeline (Pipeline) Verified LowEvidence: api.janaf.hr
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Croatia's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil INA Rijeka Refinery (Urinj) runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · CroatiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
INA Rijeka Refinery (Urinj) is the only operating crude oil refinery we hold for Croatia (INA Sisak industrial site (former Sisak Refinery) no longer refines crude), so the national crude-import figure is the closest public evidence of what it runs on. In June 2026, Croatia's crude imports came mainly from Guyana (50%), Libya (36%) and Kazakhstan (14%). This is an inference, not a reported intake: crude produced in Croatia itself, stock changes and re-exports are not separated out in the import figures.
Does the national figure describe this refinery?Inferred · lowLowOnly as an inference: it is the country's only operating crude refinery we hold.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Guyana | 120,000 | 50% | Calculated |
| Libya | 87,300 | 36% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 34,400 | 14% | Calculated |
| Month | Libya | Azerbaijan | Guyana | Kazakhstan | Côte d’Ivoire | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 73% | - | - | 27% | - | 0% |
| 2025-08 | 66% | 34% | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-09 | 49% | 35% | - | 17% | - | 0% |
| 2025-10 | - | 100% | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-11 | 19% | 22% | 10% | 33% | 17% | 0% |
| 2025-12 | 100% | - | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-01 | 100% | - | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-02 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||||
| 2026-03 | 28% | 36% | 18% | 18% | - | 0% |
| 2026-04 | - | 90% | - | 10% | - | 0% |
| 2026-05 | - | - | 100% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-06 | 36% | - | 50% | 14% | - | 0% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Croatia (national)
What all refineries in Croatia produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · CroatiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Croatia's refineries together produced 323.7 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. INA Rijeka Refinery (Urinj)'s own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 80.6 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 104.5 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 4.6 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 31.2 | Official |
| Naphtha | 0 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 50 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 17.1 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 2.8 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 323.7 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 305.9 | 88.3 | 111.2 | 34.2 |
| 2025-08 | 314.4 | 82.2 | 102.2 | 38.5 |
| 2025-09 | 306.7 | 84.7 | 109.2 | 20.8 |
| 2025-10 | 319.1 | 81.4 | 123.3 | 24.6 |
| 2025-11 | 280.3 | 63.2 | 115.7 | 13.9 |
| 2025-12 | 322.4 | 91.9 | 117.1 | 22.6 |
| 2026-01 | 285.1 | 67.5 | 112.1 | 12 |
| 2026-02 | 84.3 | 20.3 | 24.1 | 3.2 |
| 2026-03 | 133.8 | 32.4 | 38.1 | 6.5 |
| 2026-04 | 305.6 | 77 | 104.5 | 26.7 |
| 2026-05 | 355.2 | 83.7 | 131.1 | 29.7 |
| 2026-06 | 323.7 | 80.6 | 104.5 | 31.2 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for INA Rijeka Refinery (Urinj). No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Croatia's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · CroatiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Croatia imported no crude oil from origins that load inside the Persian Gulf during July 2026. Every contributing origin has a single export route outside the Gulf, so the share is 0% by geography, not by estimate. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached INA Rijeka Refinery (Urinj) is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.ina.hr/en/announcement/ina-completes-the-rijeka-refinery-upgrade-project/- Capacity; Status; Site record
- https://www.ina.hr/app/uploads/2026/02/FR_INA-Group-Q4-2025-ENG.pdf- Source notes
- https://api.janaf.hr/api/old_files/Eq0DFTYGrFdW27x5sdFA.pdf- Source notes; Connection: Omisalj Terminal; Connection: JANAF Omisalj-Urinj subsea crude oil pipeline
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Exact wording on capacity, INA announcement 'INA completes the Rijeka Refinery Upgrade Project' dated 2026-03-10: the refinery will reach 'up to four million tons of crude oil per year' with the completion of the Delayed Coking Unit. The recorded 4 million tons per year is therefore an upper bound conditional on the DCU reaching full capacity, not a demonstrated throughput; the same announcement states the DCU was 'successfully started up' on 2026-09-22 (today). Nearly EUR 700 million was invested, described as the largest single investment in INA's history; the diesel share of total production is projected to rise by about 30 percent and VGO imports to be eliminated. No barrels-per-day figure is printed by INA, so capacity_bpd is empty and no conversion was performed. STATUS: INA Group Q4 and FY 2025 Financial Report (https://www.ina.hr/app/uploads/2026/02/FR_INA-Group-Q4-2025-ENG.pdf) states 'The Rijeka Refinery continued to operate at full capacity throughout the entire year, delivered record processing volumes' and that the Rijeka Refinery Upgrade Project reached 99 percent overall completion. INA also states 'Oil is processed at INA's refinery in Rijeka, while sustainable alternatives are being developed at an industrial location in Sisak' (INA announcement, 2023-05-12). CONNECTIONS, exact wording from a JANAF-published presentation (https://api.janaf.hr/api/old_files/Eq0DFTYGrFdW27x5sdFA.pdf, undated cover, internal references place it at 2016-2017): 'Omisalj-Urinj subsea oil pipeline linking the Omisalj Terminal and INA-Oil Refinery Rijeka'. The same document gives JANAF designed capacity 34 million tons per year, installed capacity 20 million tons per year, pipeline length 622 km, and crude oil terminals at Omisalj (1 million m3), Sisak (500,000 m3), Virje (40,000 m3) and Slavonski Brod. janaf.hr itself is a JavaScript shell that returned no text, so the PDF was used. OWNER EMPTY: INA's FY2025 report names MOL Nyrt. as the 'Governing company' in its related-party table, but no page opened here states a shareholding percentage, so no owner was recorded. A green hydrogen plant (10 MW electrolyser) is under construction at the refinery, completion planned end-2026; that is not crude capacity. EEA register lists 'Rafinerija nafte Rijeka' as functional for reporting year 2024. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas', ProductionInstallation table, reporting year 2024), queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ . Not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / ina-rijeka-urinj, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 45d846d987c2.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.