Fuel Origin

INA Sisak industrial site (former Sisak Refinery)

Sisak, Croatia

INA Sisak industrial site (former Sisak Refinery) in Sisak, Croatia has been converted and no longer refines crude oil. It is operated by INA d.d.. No capacity figure for INA Sisak industrial site (former Sisak Refinery) could be cited, so none is shown. This is not a capacity of zero.

Status
Converted - no longer refines crude oil
status source
Operator
INA d.d.
Commissioned
not published
Capacity (as published)
not published
Refinery recordVerified
Last verified 2026-09-22Location 45.4658, 16.3829

Owners and operator

Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.

NameRoleShareFromToType
INA d.d.Operatornot publishednot publishedcurrentVerified
Source
Refinery operators and national regulators (cited per row)Verified
Updated 2026-09-21 00:00 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view
No dated ownership change is recorded as structured data for this refinery. Earlier owners, where the sources name them, are described in the source notes at the foot of this page.

Ports and pipelines it is connected to

Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.

No port or pipeline connection is recorded for INA Sisak industrial site (former Sisak Refinery) in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown

No connection is recorded for this refinery in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that none exists.
Source
several sources (see each row)Unknown
Updated not publishedConfidenceUnknownMethodologyno download for this view

What it runs on

Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Croatia's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.

This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN

INA Sisak industrial site (former Sisak Refinery) no longer refines crude oil (recorded status: converted), so there is no current crude intake to describe. What it ran on before is not published either.

Unknown

National · CroatiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National context, not this refinery's intake: Croatia has 1 other crude oil refinery recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Croatia's crude imports came mainly from Guyana (50%), Libya (36%) and Kazakhstan (14%).

Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.

Croatia, June 2026 - latest month with an origin breakdown (COMPUTED)
Producing countryTonnesShareType
Guyana120,00050%Calculated
Libya87,30036%Calculated
Kazakhstan34,40014%Calculated
Last 12 months held: share of Croatia's crude imports by producing country
MonthLibyaAzerbaijanGuyanaKazakhstanCôte d’IvoireAll other origins
2025-0773%--27%-0%
2025-0866%34%---0%
2025-0949%35%-17%-0%
2025-10-100%---0%
2025-1119%22%10%33%17%0%
2025-12100%----0%
2026-01100%----0%
2026-02UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month
2026-0328%36%18%18%-0%
2026-04-90%-10%-0%
2026-05--100%--0%
2026-0636%-50%14%-0%

"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.

Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Calculated
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-26 13:21 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Refinery output in Croatia (national)

What all refineries in Croatia produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.

National · CroatiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not this refinery's: Croatia's refineries together produced 323.7 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. INA Sisak industrial site (former Sisak Refinery)'s own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official

June 2026, thousand tonnes as published
Motor gasoline80.6Official
Road diesel104.5Official
Heating and other gasoil4.6Official
Kerosene-type jet fuel31.2Official
Naphtha0Official
Fuel oil50Official
Liquefied petroleum gases17.1Official
Petroleum coke2.8Official
All oil products (total)323.7Official
Last 12 months, thousand tonnes
MonthTotalMotor gasolineRoad dieselKerosene-type jet fuel
2025-07305.988.3111.234.2
2025-08314.482.2102.238.5
2025-09306.784.7109.220.8
2025-10319.181.4123.324.6
2025-11280.363.2115.713.9
2025-12322.491.9117.122.6
2026-01285.167.5112.112
2026-0284.320.324.13.2
2026-03133.832.438.16.5
2026-04305.677104.526.7
2026-05355.283.7131.129.7
2026-06323.780.6104.531.2
Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Official
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-23 10:15 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Outages and maintenance

Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.

No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).

No outage or maintenance is recorded for INA Sisak industrial site (former Sisak Refinery). No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.

Source
several sources (see each row)Unknown
Updated not publishedConfidenceUnknownMethodologyno download for this view

Strait of Hormuz: Croatia's direct crude exposure (national)

The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.

National · CroatiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not specific to this refinery: Croatia imported no crude oil from origins that load inside the Persian Gulf during July 2026. Every contributing origin has a single export route outside the Gulf, so the share is 0% by geography, not by estimate. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached INA Sisak industrial site (former Sisak Refinery) is not published. Calculated

July 20260%CalculatedLow
Source
EIA, IEA and terminal operators (cited per row)Calculated
Period 2026-07 (month)Updated 2026-09-24 07:44 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view

Sources used on this page

  1. https://www.ina.hr/app/uploads/2025/04/INA-Annual-report-2024-ENG-2.pdf- Status; Site record; Source notes
  2. https://www.ina.hr/en/announcement/full-capacity-fuel-production-started-at-rijeka-refinery/- Source notes
  3. https://api.janaf.hr/api/old_files/Eq0DFTYGrFdW27x5sdFA.pdf- Source notes
  4. https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
  5. https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
  6. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
  7. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
  8. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)

NOT A CRUDE REFINERY. INA's own Annual Report 2024 (https://www.ina.hr/app/uploads/2025/04/INA-Annual-report-2024-ENG-2.pdf) states: 'Sisak Refinery was permanently closed in 2020 and is currently undergoing conversion to an alternative use.' INA elsewhere states 'Oil is processed at INA's refinery in Rijeka, while sustainable alternatives are being developed at an industrial location in Sisak' (https://www.ina.hr/en/announcement/full-capacity-fuel-production-started-at-rijeka-refinery/, 2023-05-12). INA refers to the location as the 'Sisak industrial site' / 'Sisak location', not as an operating refinery, and reports continuing plant removal activities there (iron and steel waste from planned removal). Current and planned activity at the site per INA's Annual Report 2024: a biogas and biomethane production plant with an annual production capacity of 3 kilotons, EPC signed, investment decision March 2024, completion expected 2026; a solar power plant already in production; transformation of the Sisak Terminal within Logistics. An earlier plan for a full biorefinery was scaled back to the biogas/biomethane project. Capacity fields deliberately empty: no crude distillation capacity exists and the 3 kt biomethane figure is not a refining capacity. REGISTER CONTRADICTION recorded, not adjudicated by the register: the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal still lists 'Rafinerija nafte Sisak' as 'functional' under IED Annex I activity 1.2 for reporting year 2024. That reflects a live industrial permit at the site and must not be read as crude distillation continuing; INA's own wording is preferred and status is CONVERTED rather than UNKNOWN. CONNECTIONS EMPTY: JANAF operates a crude oil terminal at Sisak (500,000 m3) and a Sisak-Croatian/Hungarian border pipeline section with reversal flow (https://api.janaf.hr/api/old_files/Eq0DFTYGrFdW27x5sdFA.pdf), but since the site no longer distils crude, no crude-supply connection is asserted for this row. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas', ProductionInstallation table, reporting year 2024), queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ . Not operator-published.

Record reference_refineries_v1 / ina-sisak, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 40155ed5774c.

How to read the labels
  • OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
  • VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
  • CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
  • Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
  • Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
  • Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
  • UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.