Whitegate Refinery
Whitegate, County Cork, Ireland
Whitegate Refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Whitegate, County Cork, Ireland. It is operated by Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery Limited. Its published capacity is 75,000 bpd, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery Limited
- Commissioned
- 1959
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 22:47 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery Limited | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Irving Oil | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for Whitegate Refinery in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Ireland's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Whitegate Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · IrelandNational context — not this refinery's own figure
Whitegate Refinery is the only operating crude oil refinery we hold for Ireland, so the national crude-import figure is the closest public evidence of what it runs on. In June 2026, Ireland's crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (63%) and Azerbaijan (37%). This is an inference, not a reported intake: crude produced in Ireland itself, stock changes and re-exports are not separated out in the import figures.
Does the national figure describe this refinery?Inferred · lowLowOnly as an inference: it is the country's only operating crude refinery we hold.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States of America | 158,437 | 63% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 92,271 | 37% | Calculated |
| Month | United States of America | Azerbaijan | Nigeria | Canada | Algeria | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 67% | - | - | - | 33% | 0% |
| 2025-08 | 100% | - | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-09 | 100% | - | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-10 | 31% | 69% | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-11 | 65% | 35% | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-12 | 100% | - | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-01 | 65% | - | 35% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-02 | 100% | - | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-03 | 66% | - | - | 34% | - | 0% |
| 2026-04 | 47% | - | 53% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-05 | 100% | - | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-06 | 63% | 37% | - | - | - | 0% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Ireland (national)
What all refineries in Ireland produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · IrelandNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Ireland's refineries together produced 234.968 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Whitegate Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 50.197 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 51.804 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 32.581 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 9.542 | Official |
| Naphtha | 6.104 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 60.811 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 5.097 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 0 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 234.968 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 249.04 | 41.388 | 69.725 | 0 |
| 2025-08 | 239.62 | 51.442 | 69.528 | 0 |
| 2025-09 | 240.886 | 48.634 | 64.872 | 0 |
| 2025-10 | 275.293 | 52.094 | 69.472 | 0 |
| 2025-11 | 259.225 | 50.041 | 59.978 | 0 |
| 2025-12 | 260.974 | 52.613 | 63.635 | 0 |
| 2026-01 | 247.679 | 48.46 | 4.15 | 0 |
| 2026-02 | 224.955 | 38.432 | 51.231 | 0 |
| 2026-03 | 261.419 | 42.198 | 59.781 | 0 |
| 2026-04 | 255.329 | 55.892 | 62.321 | 3.106 |
| 2026-05 | 248.307 | 55.911 | 63.807 | 6.827 |
| 2026-06 | 234.968 | 50.197 | 51.804 | 9.542 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Whitegate Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Ireland's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · IrelandNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Ireland imported no crude oil from origins that load inside the Persian Gulf during July 2026. Every contributing origin has a single export route outside the Gulf, so the share is 0% by geography, not by estimate. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Whitegate Refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.irvingoil.com/en-CA/discover-irving/operations- Capacity; Status; Site record
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Ireland's only refinery. Operator page (opened 2026-09-22) states 'Up to 75,000 barrels/day', that the refinery has been operational since 1959, that it 'supplies about 40 per cent of Ireland's transport and heating fuel', and that it processes crude sourced from the North Sea and West Africa. The page names a port terminal for Irving's Canadian Saint John refinery but names NO port or jetty for Whitegate, so connected_ports is empty despite the site being on Cork Harbour. STRATEGIC REVIEW RESOLVED: Irving Oil announced a strategic review including a possible full or partial sale in June 2023; the review concluded in January 2025 with the company remaining privately held and not for sale (Tier 3 trade press, recorded here as a dated corporate EVENT only, not as the source of any field value). No opened source indicates idling, conversion or closure. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2, installation 'Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery Limited', reporting year 2024, status functional), https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ - not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / irving-oil-whitegate, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 1a606d6ca66a.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.