Kalundborg Refinery
Kalundborg, Denmark
Kalundborg Refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Kalundborg, Denmark. It is operated by Kalundborg Refinery A/S. Its published capacity is 107,000 bpd, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- Kalundborg Refinery A/S
- Commissioned
- not published
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
Corroboration and a second unit from the seller: Equinor's press release of 2021-06-10 (https://www.equinor.com/news/archive/20210610-selling-refining-business-denmark, opened 2026-09-22) says 'The plant can process 107,000 barrels a day of crude oil and condensate' and 'Annual production capacity is up to 5.5 million tonnes of oil products'.
DISAGREEMENT on the transaction date only: Klesch's page says 'Acquired from Equinor in 2022' while Equinor's release says 'the legal transfer was completed by 31 December 2021'.
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kalundborg Refinery A/S | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Klesch Group | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for Kalundborg Refinery in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Denmark's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Kalundborg Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · DenmarkNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Denmark has 1 other crude oil refinery recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In July 2026, Denmark's crude imports came mainly from Norway (66%), the United States of America (23%) and the United Kingdom (11%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Norway | 252,713 | 66% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 89,322 | 23% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 42,706 | 11% | Calculated |
| Month | Norway | United States of America | United Kingdom | Netherlands | Germany | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | 28% | 37% | 35% | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-09 | 54% | 36% | 10% | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-10 | 58% | 42% | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-11 | 38% | 62% | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-12 | 68% | 32% | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-01 | 54% | 46% | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-02 | 51% | 18% | 8% | 23% | - | 0% |
| 2026-03 | 13% | 63% | - | - | 24% | 0% |
| 2026-04 | 23% | 68% | 9% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-05 | 41% | 59% | less than 1% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-06 | 55% | 18% | 27% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-07 | 66% | 23% | 11% | - | - | 0% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Denmark (national)
What all refineries in Denmark produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · DenmarkNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Denmark's refineries together produced 690.091 thousand tonnes of oil products in July 2026. Kalundborg Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 179.576 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 46.053 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 269.586 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 29.148 | Official |
| Naphtha | 0 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 119.954 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 11.473 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 0 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 690.091 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | 753 | 181 | 68 | 18 |
| 2025-09 | 699 | 181 | 81 | 16 |
| 2025-10 | 722 | 182 | 67 | 20 |
| 2025-11 | 741 | 193 | 90 | 23 |
| 2025-12 | 705 | 161 | 66 | 17 |
| 2026-01 | 731.175 | 186.986 | 108.856 | 5.81 |
| 2026-02 | 584.988 | 158.616 | 20.872 | 10.221 |
| 2026-03 | 526.312 | 155.479 | 73.969 | 5.939 |
| 2026-04 | 723.536 | 192.578 | 66.771 | 27.452 |
| 2026-05 | 667.055 | 179.969 | 80.292 | 28.672 |
| 2026-06 | 701.936 | 188.261 | 62.468 | 22.976 |
| 2026-07 | 690.091 | 179.576 | 46.053 | 29.148 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Kalundborg Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Denmark's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · DenmarkNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Denmark imported no crude oil from origins that load inside the Persian Gulf during July 2026. Every contributing origin has a single export route outside the Gulf, so the share is 0% by geography, not by estimate. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Kalundborg Refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.klesch.com/our-businesess/- Capacity; Status; Site record
- https://www.equinor.com/news/archive/20210610-selling-refining-business-denmark- Source notes
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
SECOND Danish refinery, missing from the batch brief, which assumed Fredericia was 'the only Danish refinery'. Both Fredericia and Kalundborg are registered as functional IED Annex I 1.2 installations for reporting year 2024. Owner page (Klesch, opened 2026-09-22) states '107,000 barrels of crude oil processed daily' and 'Acquired from Equinor in 2022, Kalundborg Refinery is a cornerstone of energy security for the supply and mobility of critical fuels to Danish, Scandinavian, and European markets', with approximately 400 employees and EUR 3.4 billion annual turnover in 2025, which also dates the page's currency to 2026. Corroboration and a second unit from the seller: Equinor's press release of 2021-06-10 (https://www.equinor.com/news/archive/20210610-selling-refining-business-denmark, opened 2026-09-22) says 'The plant can process 107,000 barrels a day of crude oil and condensate' and 'Annual production capacity is up to 5.5 million tonnes of oil products'. DISAGREEMENT on the transaction date only: Klesch's page says 'Acquired from Equinor in 2022' while Equinor's release says 'the legal transfer was completed by 31 December 2021'. No commissioning year is published on either opened page. The EEA register shows the installation as 'Statoil Refining Denmark A/S' (2017), 'Equinor Refining Denmark A/S' (2021) and 'Kalundborg Refinery A/S' (2024). Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2, reporting year 2024), https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ - not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / klesch-kalundborg, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 61b3c00f79a3.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.