MiRO Mineraloelraffinerie Oberrhein
Karlsruhe, Germany
MiRO Mineraloelraffinerie Oberrhein is an operating crude oil refinery in Karlsruhe, Germany. It is operated by Mineraloelraffinerie Oberrhein GmbH & Co. KG (MiRO). Its published capacity is 14.9 Mt/a (dated 2026-09-21), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- Mineraloelraffinerie Oberrhein GmbH & Co. KG (MiRO)
- Commissioned
- 1962
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mineraloelraffinerie Oberrhein GmbH & Co. KG (MiRO) | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Shell Deutschland 32.25%; Esso Deutschland 25.00%; Rosneft Deutschland 24.00% (under Bundesnetzagentur trusteeship since 16 September 2022); Phillips 66 Continental 18.75% | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
MiRO Mineraloelraffinerie Oberrhein is connected to Trieste (port) and TAL from Trieste (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Trieste (Port) Verified LowTrieste (crude enters the TAL there)Evidence: www.miro-ka.de
- connected to TAL from Trieste (Pipeline) Verified LowTAL (Transalpine Oelleitung) from TriesteEvidence: www.miro-ka.de
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Germany's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil MiRO Mineraloelraffinerie Oberrhein runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · GermanyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Germany has 12 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Germany's crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (31%), Kazakhstan (16%) and Norway (11%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States of America | 2,138,248 | 31% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 1,116,312 | 16% | Calculated |
| Norway | 734,331 | 11% | Calculated |
| Libya | 731,299 | 11% | Calculated |
| Guyana | 621,864 | 9% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 435,480 | 6% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 309,314 | 5% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 302,544 | 4% | Calculated |
| Canada | 107,468 | 2% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 90,063 | 1% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 66,822 | 1% | Calculated |
| Denmark | 49,945 | 1% | Calculated |
| Italy | 30,109 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Syrian Arab Republic | 27,267 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Niger | 23,320 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Iraq | 21,195 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 16,900 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Gabon | 15,984 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Senegal | 8,167 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Argentina | 5,092 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Mexico | 4,109 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Cameroon | 1,652 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Netherlands | 1,511 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| France | 249 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 29 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Month | United States of America | Norway | Kazakhstan | Libya | United Kingdom | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 11% | 13% | 14% | 20% | 11% | 23% |
| 2025-08 | 16% | 14% | 14% | 16% | 8% | 27% |
| 2025-09 | 14% | 13% | 15% | 16% | 9% | 23% |
| 2025-10 | 12% | 15% | 13% | 12% | 12% | 26% |
| 2025-11 | 15% | 18% | 16% | 18% | 9% | 14% |
| 2025-12 | 16% | 14% | 18% | 16% | 12% | 13% |
| 2026-01 | 15% | 20% | 14% | 14% | 10% | 27% |
| 2026-02 | 18% | 12% | 14% | 13% | 13% | 31% |
| 2026-03 | 17% | 23% | 10% | 9% | 11% | 30% |
| 2026-04 | 13% | 18% | 17% | 7% | 10% | 35% |
| 2026-05 | 24% | 20% | 15% | 11% | 11% | 19% |
| 2026-06 | 31% | 11% | 16% | 11% | 6% | 25% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Germany (national)
What all refineries in Germany produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · GermanyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Germany's refineries together produced 7,504.979 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. MiRO Mineraloelraffinerie Oberrhein's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 1,578.78 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 2,769.409 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 466.999 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 466.43 | Official |
| Naphtha | 622.114 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 262.47 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 194.607 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 158.633 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 7,504.979 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 7,977.864 | 1,800.833 | 2,657.572 | 412.339 |
| 2025-08 | 7,253.079 | 1,694.023 | 2,433.99 | 391.331 |
| 2025-09 | 7,996.195 | 1,812.4 | 2,562.676 | 388.424 |
| 2025-10 | 8,138.211 | 1,868.06 | 2,555.305 | 382.329 |
| 2025-11 | 7,983.467 | 1,890.569 | 2,522.603 | 366.796 |
| 2025-12 | 8,019.975 | 1,942.663 | 2,617.095 | 418.308 |
| 2026-01 | 7,498.564 | 1,638.857 | 2,338.554 | 456.308 |
| 2026-02 | 7,085.004 | 1,523.531 | 2,349.045 | 358.79 |
| 2026-03 | 7,215.361 | 1,546.304 | 2,334.742 | 425.405 |
| 2026-04 | 7,735.407 | 1,604.949 | 2,890.5 | 455.378 |
| 2026-05 | 7,968.619 | 1,700.999 | 3,073.187 | 478.069 |
| 2026-06 | 7,504.979 | 1,578.78 | 2,769.409 | 466.43 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for MiRO Mineraloelraffinerie Oberrhein. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Germany's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · GermanyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 2% and 2% of Germany's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached MiRO Mineraloelraffinerie Oberrhein is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.miro-ka.de/unternehmen- Capacity; Status; Site record; Connection: Trieste; Connection: TAL from Trieste
- https://en2x.de/maerkte/raffinerien-und-produktion/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
TWO CAPACITY FIGURES FROM THE OPERATOR ITSELF: 'Kapazitaet 15,8 Mio. t/Jahr' (whole site) and 'Rohoeldestillationsanlagen 14,9 Mio. t/Jahr' (crude distillation). The 14.9 crude-distillation figure is recorded because this table is about crude refining; 15.8 is the site total. en2x cross-check gives 14,900 thousand t at 31.12.2022, agreeing with the CDU figure. en2x cross-check value is a 31.12.2022 snapshot from a survey that is now demonstrably stale (it still shows Nynas Harburg operating, Wesseling crude running and bp owning Gelsenkirchen). No newer en2x edition is downloadable: the statistics page now redirects to the homepage. OWNERSHIP: the 24% Rosneft Deutschland stake has been under German federal trusteeship (Bundesnetzagentur) since 16 September 2022 - the trusteeship's existence is verified from MiRO's own site, but the current order's validity period is UNVERIFIED (bundesnetzagentur.de returned 404). commissioned_year 1962 is the site; the MiRO company was formed by merger on 1 October 1996. Second site coordinates (Werk 2): 49.0561661, 8.3453899. Coordinates are OpenStreetMap-derived. en2x list: https://en2x.de/maerkte/raffinerien-und-produktion/
Record reference_refineries_v1 / miro-karlsruhe, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash df87031f6f94.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.