Moeve Parque Energetico San Roque (Refineria Gibraltar-San Roque)
San Roque, Spain
Moeve Parque Energetico San Roque (Refineria Gibraltar-San Roque) is an operating crude oil refinery in San Roque, Spain. It is operated by Moeve. Its published capacity is 12.2 Mt/a (dated 2025-12-31), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- Moeve
- Commissioned
- 1967
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
The operator's EMAS environmental statement for 2023 (published May 2024) prints "Su capacidad de destilacion es de 12 millones de toneladas de petroleo al ano"; I treat 12 as a rounded statement of the same figure rather than a conflict, and the CORES 12.2 Mt/a is in the capacity cells. capacity_bpd left empty: no source I opened prints barrels per day for this site.
DISAGREEMENT on the refinery renaming date: the operator EMAS statement says the Refineria Gibraltar-San Roque "paso en 2022 a denominarse Parque Energetico San Roque", while the CORES workbook 'Start' sheet says "2023: CEPSA modifies the name of its refineries in Huelva (Parque Energetico La Rabida) and Algeciras (Parque Energetico San Roque)".
DISAGREEMENT on commissioning: the operator EMAS statement says "Desde su puesta en marcha en 1967", while the CORES 'Start' sheet says "1969: CEPSA builds its second refinery in Spain in Algeciras".
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moeve | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Moeve | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
Moeve Parque Energetico San Roque (Refineria Gibraltar-San Roque) is connected to Puerto del Parque Energetico San Roque (port), monoboya in the Bahia de Algeciras one mile offshore (port) and Oleoducto to the CLH installations (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Puerto del Parque Energetico San Roque (Port) Verified LowPuerto del Parque Energetico San Roque (eight berths, vessels to 175,000 TPM)Evidence: www.moeveglobal.com
- connected to monoboya in the Bahia de Algeciras one mile offshore (Port) Verified Lowmonoboya in the Bahia de Algeciras one mile offshore (tankers to 350,000 TPM)Evidence: www.moeveglobal.com
- connected to Oleoducto to the CLH installations (Pipeline) Verified LowOleoducto to the CLH (now Exolum) installationsEvidence: www.moeveglobal.com
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Spain's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Moeve Parque Energetico San Roque (Refineria Gibraltar-San Roque) runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · SpainNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Spain has 8 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Spain's crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (21%), Nigeria (15%) and Mexico (14%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States of America | 925,243 | 21% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 638,868 | 15% | Calculated |
| Mexico | 587,098 | 14% | Calculated |
| Libya | 583,727 | 13% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 286,266 | 7% | Calculated |
| Angola | 268,094 | 6% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 242,539 | 6% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 225,564 | 5% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 219,226 | 5% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 190,318 | 4% | Calculated |
| Guyana | 139,659 | 3% | Calculated |
| Albania | 19,026 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Month | United States of America | Mexico | Nigeria | Brazil | Libya | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 18% | 15% | 17% | 8% | 9% | 32% |
| 2025-08 | 17% | 12% | 11% | 14% | 8% | 40% |
| 2025-09 | 14% | 7% | 10% | 12% | 3% | 54% |
| 2025-10 | 17% | 7% | 12% | 8% | 6% | 50% |
| 2025-11 | 13% | 19% | 9% | 11% | 3% | 44% |
| 2025-12 | 18% | 10% | 15% | 13% | 8% | 36% |
| 2026-01 | 12% | 10% | 16% | 6% | 9% | 47% |
| 2026-02 | 14% | 8% | 9% | 10% | 11% | 48% |
| 2026-03 | 14% | 15% | 9% | 15% | 16% | 31% |
| 2026-04 | 15% | 11% | 10% | 9% | 12% | 43% |
| 2026-05 | 9% | 15% | 7% | 11% | 9% | 49% |
| 2026-06 | 21% | 14% | 15% | 6% | 13% | 31% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Spain (national)
What all refineries in Spain produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · SpainNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Spain's refineries together produced 5,057.043 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Moeve Parque Energetico San Roque (Refineria Gibraltar-San Roque)'s own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 907.377 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 248.475 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 1,739.019 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 47.694 | Official |
| Naphtha | 137.434 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 317.867 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 75.545 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 257.91 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 5,057.043 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 5,544.733 | 864.316 | 238.754 | 40.868 |
| 2025-08 | 5,419.248 | 841.516 | 272.162 | 39.443 |
| 2025-09 | 5,220.084 | 855.636 | 273.808 | 43.014 |
| 2025-10 | 5,425.5 | 911.399 | 264.345 | 41.175 |
| 2025-11 | 5,091.785 | 801.017 | 274.858 | 31.084 |
| 2025-12 | 5,534.233 | 928.334 | 220.477 | 37.429 |
| 2026-01 | 4,940.405 | 862.238 | 159.406 | 41.452 |
| 2026-02 | 4,182.675 | 672.547 | 135.515 | 47.756 |
| 2026-03 | 5,292.361 | 826.258 | 181.433 | 59.592 |
| 2026-04 | 5,281.355 | 906.267 | 251.182 | 65.639 |
| 2026-05 | 5,065.473 | 910.629 | 272.704 | 57.413 |
| 2026-06 | 5,057.043 | 907.377 | 248.475 | 47.694 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Moeve Parque Energetico San Roque (Refineria Gibraltar-San Roque). No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Spain's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · SpainNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 2% and 4% of Spain's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Moeve Parque Energetico San Roque (Refineria Gibraltar-San Roque) is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.cores.es/sites/default/files/archivos/estadisticas/refinery-capacity.xlsx- Capacity; Status; Site record
- https://www.cores.es/en/spanish-refinery-capacity- Source notes
- https://www.moeveglobal.com/en/press/cepsa-is-becoming-moeve- Source notes
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://www.moeveglobal.com/stfls/corporativo/FICHEROS/declaracion-ambiental-anexo-vii-cepsa-parque-energetico-san-roque.pdf- Connection: Puerto del Parque Energetico San Roque; Connection: monoboya in the Bahia de Algeciras one mile offshore; Connection: Oleoducto to the CLH installations
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Capacity from the CORES "Spanish Refinery Capacity" workbook, sheet "Crude" (atmospheric distillation), row year 2025. Sheet header prints "Unit: thousands of tonnes"; workbook notes print "Figures to 31st December" and "Updated 30-07-2026". Workbook linked from https://www.cores.es/en/spanish-refinery-capacity. CORES is a Public Law Corporation under the Spanish Ministry for the Ecological Transition. The kt value was rescaled to Mt (same unit family, tonnes); no tonne-barrel conversion was performed. CORES prints 12200 thousand tonnes of crude for Parque Energetico San Roque in 2025. The operator's EMAS environmental statement for 2023 (published May 2024) prints "Su capacidad de destilacion es de 12 millones de toneladas de petroleo al ano"; I treat 12 as a rounded statement of the same figure rather than a conflict, and the CORES 12.2 Mt/a is in the capacity cells. capacity_bpd left empty: no source I opened prints barrels per day for this site. Rebrand: Cepsa announced its name change to Moeve on 30 October 2024 (https://www.moeveglobal.com/en/press/cepsa-is-becoming-moeve, press release dated Wednesday 30 October 2024). That release does not itself mention renaming refineries to energy parks. DISAGREEMENT on the refinery renaming date: the operator EMAS statement says the Refineria Gibraltar-San Roque "paso en 2022 a denominarse Parque Energetico San Roque", while the CORES workbook 'Start' sheet says "2023: CEPSA modifies the name of its refineries in Huelva (Parque Energetico La Rabida) and Algeciras (Parque Energetico San Roque)". Both readings recorded; not adjudicated. DISAGREEMENT on commissioning: the operator EMAS statement says "Desde su puesta en marcha en 1967", while the CORES 'Start' sheet says "1969: CEPSA builds its second refinery in Spain in Algeciras". The operator 1967 is in the field; CORES 1969 recorded here. The EEA IED register gives 1966-12-31 for reporting years 2016-2018 and 2007-11-09 for 2019-2024, the latter evidently a permit date. Location per the EMAS statement: San Roque, province of Cadiz, about 173 ha. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas'), reporting year 2024, read via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/. Not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / moeve-san-roque, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 08f22922f40d.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.