Refineria de Tenerife (Santa Cruz de Tenerife)
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Refineria de Tenerife (Santa Cruz de Tenerife) in Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain is closed as a crude oil refinery. It is operated by Moeve. No capacity figure for Refineria de Tenerife (Santa Cruz de Tenerife) could be cited, so none is shown. This is not a capacity of zero. The sources we opened disagree about this site; their readings are quoted in the notes.
- Operator
- Moeve
- Commissioned
- 1930
- Capacity (as published)
- not published
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
CORES still prints 4500 thousand tonnes of crude for Tenerife in its 2025 row, but the same workbook's 'Start' sheet carries the note "Although the Tenerife refinery maintains its legal status, it does not have the full permits to start up and is therefore not operational" (https://www.cores.es/sites/default/files/archivos/estadisticas/refinery-capacity.xlsx, linked from https://www.cores.es/en/spanish-refinery-capacity).
I did not set status=UNKNOWN because the EEA field is a permit/installation status rather than a statement about refining, and both CORES and the operator state plainly that the site is not refining; the EEA reading is recorded here so the conflict stays visible.
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 22:47 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moeve | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Moeve | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for Refineria de Tenerife (Santa Cruz de Tenerife) in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Spain's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Refineria de Tenerife (Santa Cruz de Tenerife) no longer refines crude oil (recorded status: closed), so there is no current crude intake to describe. What it ran on before is not published either.
Unknown
National · SpainNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Spain has 9 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Spain's crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (21%), Nigeria (15%) and Mexico (14%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States of America | 925,243 | 21% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 638,868 | 15% | Calculated |
| Mexico | 587,098 | 14% | Calculated |
| Libya | 583,727 | 13% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 286,266 | 7% | Calculated |
| Angola | 268,094 | 6% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 242,539 | 6% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 225,564 | 5% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 219,226 | 5% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 190,318 | 4% | Calculated |
| Guyana | 139,659 | 3% | Calculated |
| Albania | 19,026 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Month | United States of America | Mexico | Nigeria | Brazil | Libya | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 18% | 15% | 17% | 8% | 9% | 32% |
| 2025-08 | 17% | 12% | 11% | 14% | 8% | 40% |
| 2025-09 | 14% | 7% | 10% | 12% | 3% | 54% |
| 2025-10 | 17% | 7% | 12% | 8% | 6% | 50% |
| 2025-11 | 13% | 19% | 9% | 11% | 3% | 44% |
| 2025-12 | 18% | 10% | 15% | 13% | 8% | 36% |
| 2026-01 | 12% | 10% | 16% | 6% | 9% | 47% |
| 2026-02 | 14% | 8% | 9% | 10% | 11% | 48% |
| 2026-03 | 14% | 15% | 9% | 15% | 16% | 31% |
| 2026-04 | 15% | 11% | 10% | 9% | 12% | 43% |
| 2026-05 | 9% | 15% | 7% | 11% | 9% | 49% |
| 2026-06 | 21% | 14% | 15% | 6% | 13% | 31% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Spain (national)
What all refineries in Spain produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · SpainNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Spain's refineries together produced 5,057.043 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Refineria de Tenerife (Santa Cruz de Tenerife)'s own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 907.377 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 248.475 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 1,739.019 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 47.694 | Official |
| Naphtha | 137.434 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 317.867 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 75.545 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 257.91 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 5,057.043 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 5,544.733 | 864.316 | 238.754 | 40.868 |
| 2025-08 | 5,419.248 | 841.516 | 272.162 | 39.443 |
| 2025-09 | 5,220.084 | 855.636 | 273.808 | 43.014 |
| 2025-10 | 5,425.5 | 911.399 | 264.345 | 41.175 |
| 2025-11 | 5,091.785 | 801.017 | 274.858 | 31.084 |
| 2025-12 | 5,534.233 | 928.334 | 220.477 | 37.429 |
| 2026-01 | 4,940.405 | 862.238 | 159.406 | 41.452 |
| 2026-02 | 4,182.675 | 672.547 | 135.515 | 47.756 |
| 2026-03 | 5,292.361 | 826.258 | 181.433 | 59.592 |
| 2026-04 | 5,281.355 | 906.267 | 251.182 | 65.639 |
| 2026-05 | 5,065.473 | 910.629 | 272.704 | 57.413 |
| 2026-06 | 5,057.043 | 907.377 | 248.475 | 47.694 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Refineria de Tenerife (Santa Cruz de Tenerife). No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Spain's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · SpainNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 2% and 4% of Spain's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Refineria de Tenerife (Santa Cruz de Tenerife) is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.moeveglobal.com/en/press/energy-transition-cepsa-closes-its-oil-refinery-in-tenerife- Status; Site record; Source notes
- https://www.cores.es/sites/default/files/archivos/estadisticas/refinery-capacity.xlsx- Source notes
- https://www.cores.es/en/spanish-refinery-capacity- Source notes
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Capacity cells left deliberately EMPTY. CORES still prints 4500 thousand tonnes of crude for Tenerife in its 2025 row, but the same workbook's 'Start' sheet carries the note "Although the Tenerife refinery maintains its legal status, it does not have the full permits to start up and is therefore not operational" (https://www.cores.es/sites/default/files/archivos/estadisticas/refinery-capacity.xlsx, linked from https://www.cores.es/en/spanish-refinery-capacity). Publishing a nameplate number for a site that is being demolished would be misleading, so no capacity is recorded; the CORES listing is recorded here instead. Status CLOSED rests on the operator's own press release, headed "Energy Transition: Cepsa closes its oil refinery in Tenerife", dated Monday 23 May 2022 (https://www.moeveglobal.com/en/press/energy-transition-cepsa-closes-its-oil-refinery-in-tenerife), which sets out a phased dismantling: phase 1 2022-2025 ("This action will be carried out gradually and will last until 2025"), "There will be no depot" by 2025, and a replacement storage and distribution park in the port of Granadilla scheduled for 2025. That release does NOT state the date on which crude distillation stopped, so no cessation date is recorded. I could not verify the '2015' closure date given in my brief from any page I opened - treat that date as UNVERIFIED. CONTRADICTING REGISTER READING: the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal carries "REFINERIA TENERIFE" with status 'functional' for every reporting year through 2024. I did not set status=UNKNOWN because the EEA field is a permit/installation status rather than a statement about refining, and both CORES and the operator state plainly that the site is not refining; the EEA reading is recorded here so the conflict stays visible. Commissioned year 1930 agrees between the CORES 'Start' sheet ("1930: CEPSA builds the first Spanish refinery in Tenerife") and the EEA dateOfStartOfOperation 1930-01-01 for reporting years 2021-2024. Operator is now Moeve (Cepsa renamed 30 October 2024). Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas'), reporting year 2024, read via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/. Not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / moeve-tenerife, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash bbc497d4345e.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.