Fuel Origin

MOL Danube Refinery (Duna)

Szazhalombatta, Hungary

MOL Danube Refinery (Duna) is an operating crude oil refinery in Szazhalombatta, Hungary. It is operated by MOL. Its published capacity is 8.1 Mt/a, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.

Status
Operating
status source
Operator
MOL
Commissioned
not published
Capacity (as published)
8.1 Mt/a
165,000 bpdalso published
capacity source · not converted
Refinery recordVerified
Last verified 2026-09-22Location 47.2862, 18.8929

Owners and operator

Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.

NameRoleShareFromToType
MOLOperatornot publishednot publishedcurrentVerified
MOL GroupOwnernot publishednot publishedcurrentVerified
Source
Refinery operators and national regulators (cited per row)Verified
Updated 2026-09-21 00:00 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view
No dated ownership change is recorded as structured data for this refinery. Earlier owners, where the sources name them, are described in the source notes at the foot of this page.

Ports and pipelines it is connected to

Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.

MOL Danube Refinery (Duna) is connected to Adria (pipeline) and Friendship (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified

  • connected to Adria (Pipeline) Verified LowEvidence: molgroup.info
  • connected to Friendship (Pipeline) Verified LowFriendship (Druzhba)Evidence: molgroup.info
Source
Refinery operators and national regulators (cited per row)Verified
Updated 2026-09-21 00:00 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view

What it runs on

Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Hungary's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.

This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN

Which crude oil MOL Danube Refinery (Duna) runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.

Unknown

National · HungaryNational context — not this refinery's own figure

MOL Danube Refinery (Duna) is the only operating crude oil refinery we hold for Hungary, so the national crude-import figure is the closest public evidence of what it runs on. In June 2026, Hungary's crude imports came mainly from the Russian Federation (100%). This is an inference, not a reported intake: crude produced in Hungary itself, stock changes and re-exports are not separated out in the import figures.

Does the national figure describe this refinery?Inferred · lowLowOnly as an inference: it is the country's only operating crude refinery we hold.

Hungary, June 2026 - latest month with an origin breakdown (COMPUTED)
Producing countryTonnesShareType
Russian Federation220,200100%Calculated
Romania1,000less than 1%Calculated
Last 12 months held: share of Hungary's crude imports by producing country
MonthRussian FederationLibyaKazakhstanSaudi ArabiaNorwayAll other origins
2025-07100%----0%
2025-0851%-49%--0%
2025-09100%----0%
2025-10100%----less than 1%
2025-1176%-24%--0%
2025-12100%----0%
2026-0189%----11%
2026-02UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month
2026-03-15%-46%38%1%
2026-0432%53%7%-2%6%
2026-0575%25%---0%
2026-06100%----less than 1%

"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.

Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Calculated
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-24 07:37 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Refinery output in Hungary (national)

What all refineries in Hungary produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.

National · HungaryNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not this refinery's: Hungary's refineries together produced 331.3 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. MOL Danube Refinery (Duna)'s own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official

June 2026, thousand tonnes as published
Motor gasoline74.9Official
Road diesel118.5Official
Heating and other gasoil0.4Official
Kerosene-type jet fuel13.9Official
Naphtha19.4Official
Fuel oil5.4Official
Liquefied petroleum gases3.5Official
Petroleum coke7.6Official
All oil products (total)331.3Official
Last 12 months, thousand tonnes
MonthTotalMotor gasolineRoad dieselKerosene-type jet fuel
2025-07428.885.5156.914.2
2025-08413.586.7167.39.7
2025-09451.36319517.1
2025-1036753.4126.817.6
2025-11359.391.9139.47.1
2025-12421.5102167.813.5
2026-01382.8104.5158.59.9
2026-02297.877.1112.35.4
2026-03357.833.6169.224.2
2026-04340.170.2162.911.4
2026-05359.891110.412.3
2026-06331.374.9118.513.9
Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Official
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-23 10:15 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Outages and maintenance

Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.

No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).

No outage or maintenance is recorded for MOL Danube Refinery (Duna). No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.

Source
several sources (see each row)Unknown
Updated not publishedConfidenceUnknownMethodologyno download for this view

Strait of Hormuz: Hungary's direct crude exposure (national)

The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.

National · HungaryNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not specific to this refinery: Hungary imported no crude oil from origins that load inside the Persian Gulf during July 2026. Every contributing origin has a single export route outside the Gulf, so the share is 0% by geography, not by estimate. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached MOL Danube Refinery (Duna) is not published. Calculated

July 20260%CalculatedMedium
Source
EIA, IEA and terminal operators (cited per row)Calculated
Period 2026-07 (month)Updated 2026-09-24 07:44 UTCConfidenceMediumMethodologyno download for this view

Sources used on this page

  1. https://molgroup.info/en/our-business/downstream/production-sites- Capacity; Status; Site record
  2. https://molgroup.info/en/media-centre/press-releases/mol-group-and-transpetrol-completed-the-reconstruction-of-the-friendship-iadria-oil-pipeline- Source notes
  3. https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
  4. https://molgroup.info/en/our-business/downstream/logistics- Connection: Adria; Connection: Friendship
  5. https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
  6. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
  7. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
  8. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)

MOL publishes both units on the same line, quoted verbatim: '165,000 barrels per day (8.1 million tonnes/year)'. Both are therefore recorded as published; the unit token for the tonnage is normalised to Mt/a and no conversion was performed by me. Pipelines from MOL's own logistics page: 'The majority of crude oil processed by MOL Group refineries arrives through Friendship Crude oil pipeline from Russia' and 'In addition, crude oil is received from the Middle East and the Mediterranean, through the Adria crude oil pipeline system.' That sentence is about MOL Group refineries collectively rather than naming the Danube refinery specifically. A MOL press release dated 9 February 2015 (https://molgroup.info/en/media-centre/press-releases/mol-group-and-transpetrol-completed-the-reconstruction-of-the-friendship-iadria-oil-pipeline) describes reconstruction of a 128 km Friendship I / Adria section from Sahy, Slovakia to Tokol, Hungary, raising capacity to 6 million tons a year from 3.5 million tons a year. connected_ports is EMPTY: no page opened names Omisalj or any other marine terminal for this refinery. commissioned_year is EMPTY: search results assert 1965 but no MOL-published page stating it could be opened, so no number is recorded. TISZA / TISZAUJVAROS EXCLUDED: MOL's own production-sites page lists it as 'MOL Petrochemicals Complex (Tiszaujvaros, Hungary)' with capacities given only as 'Ethylene 660 KT/Y, Polymer 765 KT/Y, Butadien 130 KT/Y' - a petrochemical plant with no crude distillation capacity attributed to it - so it gets no refinery row. ZALA / ZALAEGERSZEG ALSO EXCLUDED - see the notes file. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (https://industry.eea.europa.eu/, IED Annex I activity 1.2, queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API 2026-09-22): installation 'MOL Nyrt. MOL Komplexum Szazhalombatta', status functional, reporting year 2024. EEA data is CC-BY. Cross-check: an OpenStreetMap Nominatim lookup of 'MOL Dunai Finomito Szazhalombatta' returned 47.2853767, 18.8930917, about 90 m from the EEA point.

Record reference_refineries_v1 / mol-duna, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash b00dbc8b6533.

How to read the labels
  • OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
  • VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
  • CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
  • Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
  • Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
  • Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
  • UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.