MOTOR OIL (HELLAS) Corinth Refinery
Agioi Theodoroi, Greece
MOTOR OIL (HELLAS) Corinth Refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Agioi Theodoroi, Greece. It is operated by MOTOR OIL (HELLAS) CORINTH REFINERIES S.A.. Its published capacity is 200 kbpd (dated 2025-12-31), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- MOTOR OIL (HELLAS) CORINTH REFINERIES S.A.
- Commissioned
- not published
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MOTOR OIL (HELLAS) CORINTH REFINERIES S.A. | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| MOTOR OIL (HELLAS) CORINTH REFINERIES S.A. | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for MOTOR OIL (HELLAS) Corinth Refinery in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Greece's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil MOTOR OIL (HELLAS) Corinth Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · GreeceNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Greece has 3 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Greece's crude imports came mainly from Kazakhstan (26%), Iraq (20%) and Libya (15%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kazakhstan | 573,440 | 26% | Calculated |
| Iraq | 434,654 | 20% | Calculated |
| Libya | 331,226 | 15% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 323,223 | 15% | Calculated |
| Norway | 295,097 | 13% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 141,152 | 6% | Calculated |
| Colombia | 102,734 | 5% | Calculated |
| Month | Iraq | Kazakhstan | Libya | Norway | Saudi Arabia | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 31% | 25% | 22% | 9% | 5% | 8% |
| 2025-08 | 27% | 25% | 11% | 14% | 14% | 9% |
| 2025-09 | 45% | 18% | 17% | - | 7% | 6% |
| 2025-10 | 46% | 18% | 20% | - | 6% | 9% |
| 2025-11 | 39% | 29% | 11% | 7% | 6% | 9% |
| 2025-12 | 47% | 27% | 20% | - | 7% | 0% |
| 2026-01 | 46% | 13% | 20% | 8% | 7% | 7% |
| 2026-02 | 35% | 19% | 12% | 15% | 7% | 12% |
| 2026-03 | 31% | 15% | 21% | 8% | 19% | 8% |
| 2026-04 | 16% | 29% | 17% | 14% | 10% | 14% |
| 2026-05 | 16% | 22% | 12% | 15% | - | 35% |
| 2026-06 | 20% | 26% | 15% | 13% | 6% | 19% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Greece (national)
What all refineries in Greece produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · GreeceNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Greece's refineries together produced 2,662.767 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. MOTOR OIL (HELLAS) Corinth Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 470.593 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 595.437 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 267.279 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 381.441 | Official |
| Naphtha | 160.727 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 247.936 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 82.881 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 41.266 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 2,662.767 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 2,751.316 | 518.742 | 643.788 | 309.434 |
| 2025-08 | 2,711.454 | 483.188 | 710.825 | 312.339 |
| 2025-09 | 2,777.751 | 525.976 | 667.808 | 322.776 |
| 2025-10 | 2,843.932 | 537.184 | 675.967 | 302.879 |
| 2025-11 | 2,744.724 | 518.685 | 678.172 | 258.239 |
| 2025-12 | 2,859.901 | 532.453 | 723.734 | 271.017 |
| 2026-01 | 2,899.402 | 550.381 | 692.742 | 269.062 |
| 2026-02 | 1,880.91 | 276.198 | 363.664 | 254.963 |
| 2026-03 | 2,104.324 | 293.755 | 561.728 | 297.137 |
| 2026-04 | 2,382.597 | 402.193 | 537.982 | 346.213 |
| 2026-05 | 2,753.371 | 509.442 | 610.29 | 407.728 |
| 2026-06 | 2,662.767 | 470.593 | 595.437 | 381.441 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for MOTOR OIL (HELLAS) Corinth Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Greece's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · GreeceNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 32% and 33% of Greece's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached MOTOR OIL (HELLAS) Corinth Refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.moh.gr/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/Full-Year-Financial-Report-2025-2.pdf- Capacity; Status; Site record
- https://www.moh.gr/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/Motoroil-Annual-Report-EN-2024.pdf- Source notes
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Exact wording, Annual Financial Report for fiscal year 2025, Directors' Report: 'Oil refining (crude processing capacity exceeding 200 thousand barrels per day)'. The company's 2024 Annual Report (https://www.moh.gr/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/Motoroil-Annual-Report-EN-2024.pdf) prints '~200 th. Barrels per day operating capacity' alongside 'State of the art refinery (12.61 NC Complexity)'. Both operator statements are approximate around 200 thousand bpd; 200000 is recorded as the stated figure and the 'exceeding' / '~' qualifiers are preserved here rather than inflated. No tonnes-to-barrels conversion was performed. FIRE AND RESTART: the 2024 Annual Report states a fire incident on 17.09.2024 affected one of the two Crude Distillation Units, that production capacity during repair works was estimated at 65-80 percent of the refinery's total nominal capacity (crude plus other feedstock), and that restoration was expected within Q3 2025. The 2025 Annual Financial Report states the unit 'was brought back into full operation in third quarter of 2025', and that during the outage the company substituted crude oil with alternative feedstocks such as fuel oil, naphtha and VGO. Trade press (Quantum Commodity Intelligence, 27 Aug 2025, paywalled excerpt only) reports the CDU restart in August 2025 at the '200,000 bpd' Agioi Theodoroi refinery. Status OPERATING. Headquarters are in Marousi, Attica; the refinery facilities are at Agioi Theodoroi, Corinth (2024 Annual Report). Major shareholder is Petroventure Holdings Limited with 40 percent, controlled by Motor Oil Holdings Ltd (2024 Annual Report). EEA register lists 'MOTOR OIL HELLLAS-CORINTH REFINERIES S.A.' as functional for reporting year 2024, i.e. after the September 2024 fire. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas', ProductionInstallation table, reporting year 2024), queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ . Not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / motor-oil-agioi-theodoroi, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 23af4fbdada5.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.