Neste Naantali (refining ceased; terminal and harbour)
Naantali, Finland
Neste Naantali (refining ceased; terminal and harbour) in Naantali, Finland has been converted and no longer refines crude oil. It is operated by Neste. No capacity figure for Neste Naantali (refining ceased; terminal and harbour) could be cited, so none is shown. This is not a capacity of zero.
- Operator
- Neste
- Commissioned
- not published
- Capacity (as published)
- not published
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-25 17:39 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neste | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Neste | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
Neste Naantali (refining ceased; terminal and harbour) is connected to Naantali harbour (port). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Naantali harbour (Port) Verified LowNaantali harbour (site now operates as a terminal and harbour)Evidence: www.neste.com
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Finland's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Neste Naantali (refining ceased; terminal and harbour) no longer refines crude oil (recorded status: converted), so there is no current crude intake to describe. What it ran on before is not published either.
Unknown
National · FinlandNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Finland has 1 other crude oil refinery recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In April 2026, Finland's crude imports came mainly from Norway (59%), Denmark (30%) and the United States of America (11%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Norway | 511,000 | 59% | Calculated |
| Denmark | 258,000 | 30% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 91,000 | 11% | Calculated |
Later months held without a usable breakdown (shown as UNKNOWN, not zero): 2026-05, 2026-06, 2026-07.
| Month | Norway | Denmark | United States of America | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2025-09 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2025-10 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2025-11 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2025-12 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2026-01 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2026-02 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2026-03 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2026-04 | 59% | 30% | 11% | 0% |
| 2026-05 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2026-06 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2026-07 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Finland (national)
What all refineries in Finland produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · FinlandNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Finland's refineries together produced 1,002 thousand tonnes of oil products in July 2026. Neste Naantali (refining ceased; terminal and harbour)'s own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 323 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 378 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 0 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 80 | Official |
| Naphtha | 1 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 141 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 9 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 11 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 1,002 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | 1,105 | 347 | 463 | 76 |
| 2025-09 | 1,030 | 355 | 388 | 79 |
| 2025-10 | 1,058 | 374 | 386 | 68 |
| 2025-11 | 1,001 | 333 | 364 | 76 |
| 2025-12 | 1,063 | 351 | 433 | 55 |
| 2026-01 | 1,027 | 345 | 382 | 61 |
| 2026-02 | 928 | 308 | 370 | 48 |
| 2026-03 | 1,024 | 325 | 312 | 89 |
| 2026-04 | 1,013 | 328 | 380 | 74 |
| 2026-05 | 1,027 | 336 | 417 | 51 |
| 2026-06 | 1,007 | 319 | 395 | 107 |
| 2026-07 | 1,002 | 323 | 378 | 80 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Neste Naantali (refining ceased; terminal and harbour). No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Finland's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · FinlandNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Finland imported no crude oil from origins that load inside the Persian Gulf during July 2026. Every contributing origin has a single export route outside the Gulf, so the share is 0% by geography, not by estimate. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Neste Naantali (refining ceased; terminal and harbour) is not published. Inferred · medium
Sources used on this page
- https://www.neste.com/news/neste-has-concluded-co-operation-negotiations-concerning-the-restructuring-of-its-refinery-operations-in-finland-refining-to-end-in-naantali-operations-to-be-developed-in-porvoo- Status; Site record; Connection: Naantali harbour
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
REFINING CEASED - CONFIRMED BY THE OPERATOR. Neste press release of 30 November 2020: refining ends 'by the end of March 2021' and the company will 'focus the Naantali site on the terminal and harbour operations'; ~370 redundancies, ~EUR 50m/yr fixed-cost savings. Corroborated by OGJ ('exclusively a harbor and distribution terminal') and by Neste's current production page, which lists only Porvoo, Rotterdam, Singapore and Martinez - Naantali is absent. FORMER capacity was 58,000 b/d (OGJ, 3 Dec 2020); a 55,000 b/d figure circulates but its source page could not be opened, so only 58,000 b/d is recorded here in notes. Current capacity_* fields are EMPTY because the site no longer refines crude. Coordinates are OpenStreetMap-derived (Nominatim/Overpass, queried 2026-09-21), not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / neste-naantali, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 2210d5217a0b.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.