Neste Porvoo Refinery (Kilpilahti)
Porvoo, Finland
Neste Porvoo Refinery (Kilpilahti) is an operating crude oil refinery in Porvoo, Finland. It is operated by Neste. Its published capacity is 10 Mt/a (dated 2026-09-21), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- Neste
- Commissioned
- not published
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
CAPACITY DISAGREEMENT: Neste's own page says 'some 10 million tons of crude oil annually' (total production capacity ~12 Mt/yr); trade sources (nsenergybusiness.com, ogj.com) give 206,000 bpd which is about 10.5 Mt/yr.
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neste | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Neste | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
Neste Porvoo Refinery (Kilpilahti) is connected to On-site Kilpilahti harbour (port). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to On-site Kilpilahti harbour (Port) Verified LowOn-site Kilpilahti harbour - largest in Finland by tonnage, ~1,200 ship calls/yr, ~8 million m3 storageEvidence: www.neste.com
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Finland's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Neste Porvoo Refinery (Kilpilahti) runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · FinlandNational context — not this refinery's own figure
Neste Porvoo Refinery (Kilpilahti) is the only operating crude oil refinery we hold for Finland (Neste Naantali (refining ceased; terminal and harbour) no longer refines crude), so the national crude-import figure is the closest public evidence of what it runs on. In April 2026, Finland's crude imports came mainly from Norway (59%), Denmark (30%) and the United States of America (11%). This is an inference, not a reported intake: crude produced in Finland itself, stock changes and re-exports are not separated out in the import figures.
Does the national figure describe this refinery?Inferred · lowLowOnly as an inference: it is the country's only operating crude refinery we hold.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Norway | 511,000 | 59% | Calculated |
| Denmark | 258,000 | 30% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 91,000 | 11% | Calculated |
Later months held without a usable breakdown (shown as UNKNOWN, not zero): 2026-05, 2026-06, 2026-07.
| Month | Norway | Denmark | United States of America | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2025-09 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2025-10 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2025-11 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2025-12 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2026-01 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2026-02 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2026-03 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2026-04 | 59% | 30% | 11% | 0% |
| 2026-05 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2026-06 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
| 2026-07 | UNKNOWN - no usable origin breakdown for this month | |||
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Finland (national)
What all refineries in Finland produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · FinlandNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Finland's refineries together produced 1,002 thousand tonnes of oil products in July 2026. Neste Porvoo Refinery (Kilpilahti)'s own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 323 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 378 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 0 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 80 | Official |
| Naphtha | 1 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 141 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 9 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 11 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 1,002 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | 1,105 | 347 | 463 | 76 |
| 2025-09 | 1,030 | 355 | 388 | 79 |
| 2025-10 | 1,058 | 374 | 386 | 68 |
| 2025-11 | 1,001 | 333 | 364 | 76 |
| 2025-12 | 1,063 | 351 | 433 | 55 |
| 2026-01 | 1,027 | 345 | 382 | 61 |
| 2026-02 | 928 | 308 | 370 | 48 |
| 2026-03 | 1,024 | 325 | 312 | 89 |
| 2026-04 | 1,013 | 328 | 380 | 74 |
| 2026-05 | 1,027 | 336 | 417 | 51 |
| 2026-06 | 1,007 | 319 | 395 | 107 |
| 2026-07 | 1,002 | 323 | 378 | 80 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Neste Porvoo Refinery (Kilpilahti). No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Finland's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · FinlandNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Finland imported no crude oil from origins that load inside the Persian Gulf during July 2026. Every contributing origin has a single export route outside the Gulf, so the share is 0% by geography, not by estimate. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Neste Porvoo Refinery (Kilpilahti) is not published. Inferred · medium
Sources used on this page
- https://www.neste.com/about-neste/how-we-operate/production/porvoo-refinery- Capacity; Site record; Connection: On-site Kilpilahti harbour
- https://www.neste.com/about-neste/how-we-operate/production- Status
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
CAPACITY DISAGREEMENT: Neste's own page says 'some 10 million tons of crude oil annually' (total production capacity ~12 Mt/yr); trade sources (nsenergybusiness.com, ogj.com) give 206,000 bpd which is about 10.5 Mt/yr. The operator figure is recorded as capacity_original; capacity_bpd is left EMPTY because the only bpd figure comes from a Tier-3 source that disagrees with the operator. commissioned_year EMPTY: 1965 appears only on a Tier-3 page (NS Energy) and is not confirmed by Neste. connected_pipelines EMPTY: not stated on any page opened. Site is transitioning to a renewables and circular-solutions hub (liquefied-waste-plastic upgrading, 150,000 t/yr, ramping up 2026). Coordinates are OpenStreetMap-derived (Nominatim/Overpass, queried 2026-09-21), not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / neste-porvoo, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash e386b1ab4e41.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.