OMV Petrom Petrobrazi Refinery
Petrobrazi, Romania
OMV Petrom Petrobrazi Refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Petrobrazi, Romania. It is operated by OMV Petrom S.A.. Its published capacity is 4.5 Mt/a, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- OMV Petrom S.A.
- Commissioned
- 1934
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OMV Petrom S.A. | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for OMV Petrom Petrobrazi Refinery in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Romania's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil OMV Petrom Petrobrazi Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · RomaniaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Romania has 2 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Romania's crude imports came mainly from Kazakhstan (56%), Azerbaijan (32%) and Canada (10%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kazakhstan | 334,000 | 56% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 188,000 | 32% | Calculated |
| Canada | 60,000 | 10% | Calculated |
| Ukraine | 11,000 | 2% | Calculated |
| Month | Kazakhstan | Azerbaijan | Guyana | Libya | Norway | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 64% | 17% | 10% | - | - | 9% |
| 2025-08 | 82% | - | - | 18% | - | less than 1% |
| 2025-09 | 60% | - | 4% | 12% | 23% | less than 1% |
| 2025-10 | 41% | 24% | 9% | 12% | - | 14% |
| 2025-11 | 44% | 33% | 6% | - | - | 17% |
| 2025-12 | 54% | 28% | 11% | - | - | 7% |
| 2026-01 | 72% | 4% | - | - | 14% | 10% |
| 2026-02 | 51% | 33% | - | 15% | - | 1% |
| 2026-03 | 25% | 28% | 44% | - | - | 3% |
| 2026-04 | 51% | 24% | 23% | - | - | 2% |
| 2026-05 | 63% | 10% | 4% | 14% | - | 8% |
| 2026-06 | 56% | 32% | - | - | - | 12% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Romania (national)
What all refineries in Romania produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · RomaniaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Romania's refineries together produced 849 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. OMV Petrom Petrobrazi Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 195 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 358 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 13 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 58 | Official |
| Naphtha | 35 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 5 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 41 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 52 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 849 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 1,104 | 282 | 478 | 67 |
| 2025-08 | 1,103 | 284 | 482 | 65 |
| 2025-09 | 1,090 | 273 | 472 | 63 |
| 2025-10 | 1,014 | 273 | 400 | 62 |
| 2025-11 | 879 | 232 | 380 | 59 |
| 2025-12 | 920 | 226 | 407 | 55 |
| 2026-01 | 892 | 229 | 354 | 52 |
| 2026-02 | 800 | 200 | 330 | 46 |
| 2026-03 | 554 | 108 | 243 | 24 |
| 2026-04 | 829 | 195 | 346 | 58 |
| 2026-05 | 791 | 193 | 326 | 54 |
| 2026-06 | 849 | 195 | 358 | 58 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for OMV Petrom Petrobrazi Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Romania's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · RomaniaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 0% and 0% of Romania's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. 0% of the imported volume came from origins with no published route classification; it is counted as unknown, not as zero. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached OMV Petrom Petrobrazi Refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.omvpetrom.com/en/about-us/what-we-do/refining-and-marketing/petrobrazi-refinery- Capacity; Status; Site record
- https://www.omvpetrom.com/en/about-us/what-we-do/refining-and-marketing- Source notes
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Operator page prints '4.5 mn tonnes annual refining capacity'; the same figure appears on the operator's Refining and Marketing overview (https://www.omvpetrom.com/en/about-us/what-we-do/refining-and-marketing). Both pages are undated, so capacity_source_date is empty. No barrels-per-day figure is printed by the operator, so capacity_bpd is empty and no conversion was performed. commissioned_year 1934 is the operator's own statement that the facility traces its origins to 1934 when the Creditul Minier refinery was established with an initial annual capacity of 300,000 tonnes; the site was rebuilt after WWII damage and has been modernised continuously since 2005 with more than EUR 2 billion invested. Operator states the refinery supplies about 35 percent of Romania's fuel demand. A EUR 750 million SAF / HVO / green hydrogen unit of 250,000 tonnes per year annual capacity is under construction; that is not crude distillation capacity and is not recorded in the capacity fields. CONNECTIONS EMPTY: neither operator page names Conpet, the port of Constanta or Oil Terminal S.A.; conpet.ro refused the connection (ECONNREFUSED) so nothing could be cited. EEA register lists 'OMV PETROM SA - Petrobrazi' as functional for reporting year 2024. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas', ProductionInstallation table, reporting year 2024), queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ . Not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / omv-petrom-petrobrazi, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash bc2aa4734ca8.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.