OMV Schwechat Refinery
Schwechat, Austria
OMV Schwechat Refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Schwechat, Austria. It is operated by OMV. Its published capacity is 9.6 Mt/a, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- OMV
- Commissioned
- 1958
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedHigh- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-25 17:39 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OMV | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| OMV | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
OMV Schwechat Refinery is connected to Adria Wien Pipeline (pipeline) and Transalpine Oelleitung (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Adria Wien Pipeline (Pipeline) Verified LowAdria Wien Pipeline (AWP)Evidence: www.omv.at
- connected to Transalpine Oelleitung (Pipeline) Verified LowTransalpine Oelleitung (TAL)Evidence: www.omv.at
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Austria's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil OMV Schwechat Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · AustriaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
OMV Schwechat Refinery is the only operating crude oil refinery we hold for Austria, so the national crude-import figure is the closest public evidence of what it runs on. In July 2026, Austria's crude imports came mainly from Kazakhstan (55%), the United States of America (21%) and Libya (9%). This is an inference, not a reported intake: crude produced in Austria itself, stock changes and re-exports are not separated out in the import figures.
Does the national figure describe this refinery?Inferred · mediumMediumOnly as an inference: it is the country's only operating crude refinery we hold.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kazakhstan | 350,565 | 55% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 134,328 | 21% | Calculated |
| Libya | 56,406 | 9% | Calculated |
| Iraq | 53,261 | 8% | Calculated |
| Guyana | 32,792 | 5% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 10,420 | 2% | Calculated |
| Germany | 222 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Month | Kazakhstan | Libya | Guyana | United States of America | Saudi Arabia | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | 55% | 3% | 11% | - | 25% | 7% |
| 2025-09 | 59% | 19% | 7% | - | 7% | 8% |
| 2025-10 | 62% | 17% | - | - | 4% | 18% |
| 2025-11 | 55% | 9% | 6% | - | 16% | 13% |
| 2025-12 | 67% | 13% | 16% | - | - | 4% |
| 2026-01 | 15% | 35% | 9% | 6% | - | 35% |
| 2026-02 | 31% | 16% | 7% | 7% | - | 39% |
| 2026-03 | 42% | 12% | 15% | 4% | 11% | 16% |
| 2026-04 | 69% | 6% | 20% | - | 5% | less than 1% |
| 2026-05 | 63% | 10% | 7% | 20% | - | less than 1% |
| 2026-06 | 61% | 15% | - | 18% | - | 6% |
| 2026-07 | 55% | 9% | 5% | 21% | - | 10% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Austria (national)
What all refineries in Austria produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · AustriaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Austria's refineries together produced 729.97 thousand tonnes of oil products in July 2026. OMV Schwechat Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 146.273 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 235.62 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 1.514 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 96.591 | Official |
| Naphtha | 85.048 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 58.658 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 11.718 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 6.031 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 729.97 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | 754.75 | 146.858 | 279.751 | 72.84 |
| 2025-09 | 647.481 | 134.537 | 179.147 | 84.597 |
| 2025-10 | 707.437 | 143.672 | 224.719 | 63.246 |
| 2025-11 | 701.935 | 148.975 | 232.751 | 71.265 |
| 2025-12 | 744.122 | 164.081 | 284.023 | 80.729 |
| 2026-01 | 677.952 | 129.528 | 224.077 | 68.232 |
| 2026-02 | 673.857 | 144.205 | 203.316 | 62.376 |
| 2026-03 | 593.826 | 101.641 | 130.007 | 49.719 |
| 2026-04 | 692.826 | 149.048 | 220.14 | 93.832 |
| 2026-05 | 692.302 | 151.544 | 224.777 | 105.662 |
| 2026-06 | 722.33 | 165.453 | 216.647 | 104.113 |
| 2026-07 | 729.97 | 146.273 | 235.62 | 96.591 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for OMV Schwechat Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Austria's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · AustriaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 8% and 8% of Austria's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached OMV Schwechat Refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.omv.at/de/schwechat- Capacity; Site record; Connection: Adria Wien Pipeline; Connection: Transalpine Oelleitung
- https://www.omv.com/en/media/press-releases/2022/221007-omv-schwechat-refinery-is-in-full-operation- Status
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Capacity quoted verbatim from OMV's own Austrian site: 'Die jaehrliche Raffineriekapazitaet betraegt insgesamt 9,6 Millionen Tonnen Rohoel.' Unit token normalised to Mt/a; number unchanged. OMV publishes no barrels-per-day figure on any page opened, so capacity_bpd is EMPTY and no tonnes-to-barrels conversion was performed. commissioned_year 1958 is the cornerstone-laying year of the post-war rebuild: omv.at states 'Ihre Grundsteinlegung erfolgte 1958', consistent with OMV's 2018 press release 'OMV Schwechat Refinery turns 60'. Treat it as the reconstruction reference, not necessarily first-ever operation. Pipelines quoted from omv.at: 'Das Rohoel gelangt ueber die Adria Wien Pipeline (AWP) und die Transalpine Oelleitung (TAL) zur Raffinerie.' No marine entry port is named on any OMV page opened, so connected_ports is EMPTY and Trieste is not asserted. Status: the crude distillation unit main column was damaged on 3 June 2022 during a water pressure test; OMV's press release of 7 October 2022 states 'the OMV Schwechat Refinery is now running at full capacity again'. OMV's 28 May 2025 press release describes it as an ongoing operating site receiving new investment but gives no explicit status sentence and no throughput figure. An April 2025 trade-press report of a breakdown concerns the petrochemical steam cracker, not crude distillation, and was not used. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (https://industry.eea.europa.eu/, IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas', queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API 2026-09-22): installation 'Raffinerie Schwechat', status functional, reporting year 2024. EEA data is CC-BY. A separate Austrian IED 1.2 installation named 'Gasstation' (48.2838890, 16.5476110, functional 2024) is gas processing, not crude refining, and is excluded.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / omv-schwechat, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 3f4125b8d2b1.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.