ORLEN Gdansk Refinery (Rafineria Gdanska, formerly Grupa LOTOS)
Gdansk, Poland
ORLEN Gdansk Refinery (Rafineria Gdanska, formerly Grupa LOTOS) is an operating crude oil refinery in Gdansk, Poland. It is operated by ORLEN. Its published capacity is 10.5 Mt/a (dated 2023), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- ORLEN
- Commissioned
- not published
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 22:47 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORLEN | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| ORLEN 70%; Saudi Aramco 30% (completed 30 November 2022) | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
ORLEN Gdansk Refinery (Rafineria Gdanska, formerly Grupa LOTOS) is connected to Port of Gdansk / Naftoport (port) and Pomeranian pipeline (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Port of Gdansk / Naftoport (Port) Verified HighEvidence: www.pern.pl · naftoport.pl
- connected to Pomeranian pipeline (Pipeline) Verified HighPomeranian pipeline (Gdansk <-> Plock, bidirectional)Evidence: www.pern.pl · naftoport.pl
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Poland's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil ORLEN Gdansk Refinery (Rafineria Gdanska, formerly Grupa LOTOS) runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · PolandNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Poland has 1 other crude oil refinery recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Poland's crude imports came mainly from Saudi Arabia (46%), Norway (42%) and Guyana (6%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Saudi Arabia | 1,013,414 | 46% | Calculated |
| Norway | 941,326 | 42% | Calculated |
| Guyana | 136,253 | 6% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 125,429 | 6% | Calculated |
| Month | Saudi Arabia | Norway | Guyana | United Kingdom | United States of America | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 51% | 39% | - | 4% | - | 6% |
| 2025-08 | 40% | 33% | 22% | 4% | - | 0% |
| 2025-09 | 57% | 32% | 11% | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-10 | 49% | 42% | 5% | 4% | - | 0% |
| 2025-11 | 53% | 41% | 6% | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-12 | 50% | 30% | 7% | 9% | 5% | 0% |
| 2026-01 | 43% | 46% | 6% | - | 4% | 0% |
| 2026-02 | 55% | 32% | 13% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-03 | 43% | 35% | 15% | - | - | 7% |
| 2026-04 | 48% | 47% | - | - | 5% | 0% |
| 2026-05 | 41% | 47% | - | - | 12% | 0% |
| 2026-06 | 46% | 42% | 6% | - | - | 6% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Poland (national)
What all refineries in Poland produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · PolandNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Poland's refineries together produced 1,770.872 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. ORLEN Gdansk Refinery (Rafineria Gdanska, formerly Grupa LOTOS)'s own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 396.435 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 786.917 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 24.93 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 166.512 | Official |
| Naphtha | 31.908 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 60.009 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 43.884 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 27.156 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 1,770.872 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 2,383.644 | 435.688 | 1,098.35 | 144.101 |
| 2025-08 | 2,205.772 | 374.605 | 1,079.339 | 140.497 |
| 2025-09 | 2,199.825 | 370.702 | 1,122.749 | 145.801 |
| 2025-10 | 2,467.546 | 403.91 | 1,215.3 | 141.85 |
| 2025-11 | 2,168.797 | 339.619 | 1,060.741 | 100.508 |
| 2025-12 | 2,390.192 | 393.765 | 1,105.081 | 112.678 |
| 2026-01 | 2,350.407 | 377.614 | 1,021.557 | 109.347 |
| 2026-02 | 2,183.631 | 337.275 | 1,000.357 | 102.723 |
| 2026-03 | 2,091.052 | 361.107 | 1,002.424 | 97.739 |
| 2026-04 | 2,188.795 | 412.052 | 993.877 | 125.704 |
| 2026-05 | 2,041.077 | 403.311 | 899.27 | 159.308 |
| 2026-06 | 1,770.872 | 396.435 | 786.917 | 166.512 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for ORLEN Gdansk Refinery (Rafineria Gdanska, formerly Grupa LOTOS). No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Poland's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · PolandNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 0% and 24% of Poland's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached ORLEN Gdansk Refinery (Rafineria Gdanska, formerly Grupa LOTOS) is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://raportzintegrowany2023.orlen.pl/en/activities-of-the-orlen-group/operating-segments-in-2023/refining- Capacity; Status; Site record
- https://www.ogj.com/refining-processing/refining/article/14286418/aramco-pkn-orlen-seal-deal-for-gdansk-refinery-partnership- Source notes
- https://www.pern.pl/en/services/crude-oil/crude-oil-transport/- Connection: Port of Gdansk / Naftoport; Connection: Pomeranian pipeline
- https://naftoport.pl/en/- Connection: Port of Gdansk / Naftoport; Connection: Pomeranian pipeline
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
OWNERSHIP CHANGE: Saudi Aramco acquired 30% of the former Grupa LOTOS refinery, completed 30 November 2022; ORLEN retains 70% and remains operator (https://www.ogj.com/refining-processing/refining/article/14286418/aramco-pkn-orlen-seal-deal-for-gdansk-refinery-partnership). ORLEN's report footnotes the 10.5 Mt/a as 'Total refining capacity, including Saudi Aramco share'. The 210,000 b/d figure is OGJ's and is CONSISTENT with ORLEN's 10.5 Mt/a, so both are recorded. Naftoport describes itself as crucial to petroleum supply logistics for Polish AND German refineries. Coordinates are OpenStreetMap-derived (Nominatim/Overpass, queried 2026-09-21), not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / orlen-gdansk, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 0da141b0cb74.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.