ORLEN Unipetrol Kralupy nad Vltavou Refinery
Kralupy nad Vltavou, Czechia
ORLEN Unipetrol Kralupy nad Vltavou Refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Kralupy nad Vltavou, Czechia. It is operated by ORLEN Unipetrol RPA. Its published capacity is 3.3 Mt/a, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- ORLEN Unipetrol RPA
- Commissioned
- 1975
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
Capacity quoted verbatim from the operator site page: 'annual processing capacity of 3.3 million tons of oil'.
See the Litvinov row for the DISAGREEMENT between the two per-site figures and the group page's 7.5 million tons combined conversion capacity.
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORLEN Unipetrol RPA | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| ORLEN Unipetrol Group | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
ORLEN Unipetrol Kralupy nad Vltavou Refinery is connected to Trieste (port), Druzhba (pipeline), IKL (pipeline) and TAL (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Trieste (Port) Verified LowEvidence: www.unipetrolrpa.cz
- connected to Druzhba (Pipeline) Verified LowEvidence: www.unipetrolrpa.cz
- connected to IKL (Pipeline) Verified LowIKL (Ingolstadt-Kralupy-Litvinov)Evidence: www.unipetrolrpa.cz
- connected to TAL (Pipeline) Verified LowTAL (Transalpine Pipeline)Evidence: www.unipetrolrpa.cz
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Czechia's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil ORLEN Unipetrol Kralupy nad Vltavou Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · CzechiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Czechia has 1 other crude oil refinery recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In July 2026, Czechia's crude imports came mainly from Azerbaijan (30%), Kazakhstan (29%) and Norway (20%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Azerbaijan | 184,000 | 30% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 179,000 | 29% | Calculated |
| Norway | 123,000 | 20% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 115,000 | 19% | Calculated |
| Poland | 6,000 | 1% | Calculated |
| Month | Azerbaijan | Saudi Arabia | Norway | Kazakhstan | United States of America | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | 37% | 8% | 36% | 19% | - | 0% |
| 2025-09 | 48% | 1% | 25% | 26% | - | 0% |
| 2025-10 | 35% | 25% | 15% | 25% | - | 0% |
| 2025-11 | 39% | 26% | 18% | 17% | - | 0% |
| 2025-12 | 35% | 15% | 33% | 18% | - | 0% |
| 2026-01 | 39% | 19% | 40% | 1% | - | 0% |
| 2026-02 | 37% | 18% | 21% | 18% | - | 5% |
| 2026-03 | 15% | 65% | - | 13% | - | 7% |
| 2026-04 | 17% | 58% | 4% | 21% | - | 0% |
| 2026-05 | 34% | 21% | 16% | 15% | 13% | 0% |
| 2026-06 | 35% | 38% | - | 22% | 3% | 2% |
| 2026-07 | 30% | 19% | 20% | 29% | - | 1% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Czechia (national)
What all refineries in Czechia produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · CzechiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Czechia's refineries together produced 668 thousand tonnes of oil products in July 2026. ORLEN Unipetrol Kralupy nad Vltavou Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 145 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 281 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 27 | Official |
| Naphtha | 89 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 6 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 40 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 8 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 668 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | 569 | 127 | 223 | 25 |
| 2025-09 | 654 | 137 | 255 | 31 |
| 2025-10 | 710 | 145 | 282 | 28 |
| 2025-11 | 682 | 136 | 277 | 21 |
| 2025-12 | 692 | 134 | 285 | 21 |
| 2026-01 | 617 | 134 | 244 | 24 |
| 2026-02 | 527 | 117 | 204 | 23 |
| 2026-03 | 533 | 78 | 212 | 16 |
| 2026-04 | 401 | 49 | 154 | 6 |
| 2026-05 | 617 | 121 | 248 | 25 |
| 2026-06 | 631 | 132 | 259 | 26 |
| 2026-07 | 668 | 145 | 281 | 27 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for ORLEN Unipetrol Kralupy nad Vltavou Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Czechia's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · CzechiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 0% and 16% of Czechia's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached ORLEN Unipetrol Kralupy nad Vltavou Refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.unipetrolrpa.cz/en/AboutUs/Processing-refinery/Pages/Refinery-Kralupy.aspx- Capacity; Site record; Connection: Trieste; Connection: Druzhba; Connection: IKL; Connection: TAL
- https://www.orlenunipetrol.cz/en/Media/PressReleases/Pages/20260306-TZ_OrlenUnipetrol-Kralupy_zarazka-EN.aspx- Status
- https://ikl-en.mero.cz/- Source notes
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Capacity quoted verbatim from the operator site page: 'annual processing capacity of 3.3 million tons of oil'. Unit token normalised to Mt/a; number unchanged. No bpd figure published; no conversion performed. See the Litvinov row for the DISAGREEMENT between the two per-site figures and the group page's 7.5 million tons combined conversion capacity. Pipelines and port quoted from the same operator page: 'low-sulphur crude oil transported via the IKL and TAL pipelines from Terst through Vohburg to Nelahozeves and Moravian oil transported via the Druzhba Pipeline' ('Terst' is the Czech name for Trieste). MERO CR's IKL page (https://ikl-en.mero.cz/) corroborates: 'It is connected to the European TAL crude oil pipeline leading to the Italian port of Trieste' and 'The refinery is therefore supplied almost exclusively through the IKL crude oil pipeline.' commissioned_year 1975 is the operator page's own entry '1975 ... Commencement of the NRK hydroskimming facility operation'; the FCC complex started in 2001. Status source is the ORLEN Unipetrol press release announcing a planned turnaround starting 17 March 2026 with restart in early May 2026 and the previous shutdown in spring 2022, i.e. cyclical maintenance at an operating refinery, not a closure. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (https://industry.eea.europa.eu/, IED Annex I activity 1.2, queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API 2026-09-22): installation 'CESKA REFINERSKA, a.s., rafinerie Kralupy nad Vltavou', status functional, reporting year 2023. EEA data is CC-BY. The EEA installation still carries the historic Ceska Rafinerska operator name; ORLEN Unipetrol absorbed Ceska Rafinerska and the site now operates under ORLEN Unipetrol RPA per the operator pages opened. OpenStreetMap Nominatim returned no usable feature for this refinery, which is why the EEA register is used here.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / orlen-unipetrol-kralupy, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 9281bf7c48d8.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.