ORLEN Unipetrol Litvinov Refinery
Litvinov (Zaluzi), Czechia
ORLEN Unipetrol Litvinov Refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Litvinov (Zaluzi), Czechia. It is operated by ORLEN Unipetrol RPA. Its published capacity is 5.4 Mt/a, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- ORLEN Unipetrol RPA
- Commissioned
- 1942
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
Capacity quoted verbatim from the operator site: 'The overall annual processing capacity is 5.4 million tons of crude oil.' Unit token normalised to Mt/a; number unchanged.
DISAGREEMENT on capacity: the ORLEN Unipetrol group 'About us' page (https://www.orlenunipetrol.cz/en/AboutUs/Pages/default.aspx, opened 2026-09-22) states '2 refineries with an annual conversion capacity of 7.5 million tons of crude oil' for Litvinov plus Kralupy combined, whereas the two individual site pages give 5.4 + 3.3 = 8.7 million tons.
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORLEN Unipetrol RPA | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| ORLEN Unipetrol Group | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
ORLEN Unipetrol Litvinov Refinery is connected to Druzhba (pipeline) and IKL (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Druzhba (Pipeline) Verified LowEvidence: www.unipetrolrpa.cz
- connected to IKL (Pipeline) Verified LowIKL (Ingolstadt-Kralupy-Litvinov)Evidence: www.unipetrolrpa.cz
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Czechia's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil ORLEN Unipetrol Litvinov Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · CzechiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Czechia has 1 other crude oil refinery recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In July 2026, Czechia's crude imports came mainly from Azerbaijan (30%), Kazakhstan (29%) and Norway (20%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Azerbaijan | 184,000 | 30% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 179,000 | 29% | Calculated |
| Norway | 123,000 | 20% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 115,000 | 19% | Calculated |
| Poland | 6,000 | 1% | Calculated |
| Month | Azerbaijan | Saudi Arabia | Norway | Kazakhstan | United States of America | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | 37% | 8% | 36% | 19% | - | 0% |
| 2025-09 | 48% | 1% | 25% | 26% | - | 0% |
| 2025-10 | 35% | 25% | 15% | 25% | - | 0% |
| 2025-11 | 39% | 26% | 18% | 17% | - | 0% |
| 2025-12 | 35% | 15% | 33% | 18% | - | 0% |
| 2026-01 | 39% | 19% | 40% | 1% | - | 0% |
| 2026-02 | 37% | 18% | 21% | 18% | - | 5% |
| 2026-03 | 15% | 65% | - | 13% | - | 7% |
| 2026-04 | 17% | 58% | 4% | 21% | - | 0% |
| 2026-05 | 34% | 21% | 16% | 15% | 13% | 0% |
| 2026-06 | 35% | 38% | - | 22% | 3% | 2% |
| 2026-07 | 30% | 19% | 20% | 29% | - | 1% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Czechia (national)
What all refineries in Czechia produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · CzechiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Czechia's refineries together produced 668 thousand tonnes of oil products in July 2026. ORLEN Unipetrol Litvinov Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 145 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 281 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 27 | Official |
| Naphtha | 89 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 6 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 40 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 8 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 668 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | 569 | 127 | 223 | 25 |
| 2025-09 | 654 | 137 | 255 | 31 |
| 2025-10 | 710 | 145 | 282 | 28 |
| 2025-11 | 682 | 136 | 277 | 21 |
| 2025-12 | 692 | 134 | 285 | 21 |
| 2026-01 | 617 | 134 | 244 | 24 |
| 2026-02 | 527 | 117 | 204 | 23 |
| 2026-03 | 533 | 78 | 212 | 16 |
| 2026-04 | 401 | 49 | 154 | 6 |
| 2026-05 | 617 | 121 | 248 | 25 |
| 2026-06 | 631 | 132 | 259 | 26 |
| 2026-07 | 668 | 145 | 281 | 27 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for ORLEN Unipetrol Litvinov Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Czechia's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · CzechiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 0% and 16% of Czechia's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached ORLEN Unipetrol Litvinov Refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.unipetrolrpa.cz/en/AboutUs/Processing-refinery/Pages/Refinery-Litvinov.aspx- Capacity; Status; Site record; Connection: Druzhba; Connection: IKL
- https://www.orlenunipetrol.cz/en/AboutUs/Pages/default.aspx- Source notes
- https://druzba-en.mero.cz/- Source notes
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Capacity quoted verbatim from the operator site: 'The overall annual processing capacity is 5.4 million tons of crude oil.' Unit token normalised to Mt/a; number unchanged. No bpd figure is published, so capacity_bpd is EMPTY and no conversion was performed. DISAGREEMENT on capacity: the ORLEN Unipetrol group 'About us' page (https://www.orlenunipetrol.cz/en/AboutUs/Pages/default.aspx, opened 2026-09-22) states '2 refineries with an annual conversion capacity of 7.5 million tons of crude oil' for Litvinov plus Kralupy combined, whereas the two individual site pages give 5.4 + 3.3 = 8.7 million tons. The group page says 'conversion capacity' and the site pages say 'processing capacity'; no page opened reconciles the two. The per-site figure is used here and the group figure is recorded for reference only. Pipelines quoted from the site page: 'Sulphurised crude oil is supplied to the refinery via the Druzhba or IKL pipeline.' MERO CR (https://druzba-en.mero.cz/) independently states Litvinov has been the primary Druzhba destination since 1965. commissioned_year 1942 is the operator page's own site-origin date (a wartime synthetic-fuel works, repeatedly rebuilt since), not the date of the current refinery configuration. No marine port is named on any page opened, so connected_ports is EMPTY. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (https://industry.eea.europa.eu/, IED Annex I activity 1.2, queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API 2026-09-22): installation 'Rafinerie Litvinov', status functional, reporting year 2023. EEA data is CC-BY. Cross-check: an OpenStreetMap Nominatim lookup of the village of Zaluzi, Litvinov returned 50.5676038, 13.5997097, about 1.3 km north of the EEA installation point; the EEA point is used as the more specific reading.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / orlen-unipetrol-litvinov, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash ddd9299e83b5.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.