Petrotel-LUKOIL Refinery
Ploiesti, Romania
Petrotel-LUKOIL Refinery is a crude oil refinery in Ploiesti, Romania, recorded as idle. It is operated by SC Petrotel-Lukoil SA. No capacity figure for Petrotel-LUKOIL Refinery could be cited, so none is shown. This is not a capacity of zero.
- Operator
- SC Petrotel-Lukoil SA
- Commissioned
- not published
- Capacity (as published)
- not published
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SC Petrotel-Lukoil SA | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| LUKOIL | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for Petrotel-LUKOIL Refinery in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Romania's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Petrotel-LUKOIL Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · RomaniaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Romania has 2 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Romania's crude imports came mainly from Kazakhstan (56%), Azerbaijan (32%) and Canada (10%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kazakhstan | 334,000 | 56% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 188,000 | 32% | Calculated |
| Canada | 60,000 | 10% | Calculated |
| Ukraine | 11,000 | 2% | Calculated |
| Month | Kazakhstan | Azerbaijan | Guyana | Libya | Norway | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 64% | 17% | 10% | - | - | 9% |
| 2025-08 | 82% | - | - | 18% | - | less than 1% |
| 2025-09 | 60% | - | 4% | 12% | 23% | less than 1% |
| 2025-10 | 41% | 24% | 9% | 12% | - | 14% |
| 2025-11 | 44% | 33% | 6% | - | - | 17% |
| 2025-12 | 54% | 28% | 11% | - | - | 7% |
| 2026-01 | 72% | 4% | - | - | 14% | 10% |
| 2026-02 | 51% | 33% | - | 15% | - | 1% |
| 2026-03 | 25% | 28% | 44% | - | - | 3% |
| 2026-04 | 51% | 24% | 23% | - | - | 2% |
| 2026-05 | 63% | 10% | 4% | 14% | - | 8% |
| 2026-06 | 56% | 32% | - | - | - | 12% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Romania (national)
What all refineries in Romania produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · RomaniaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Romania's refineries together produced 849 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Petrotel-LUKOIL Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 195 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 358 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 13 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 58 | Official |
| Naphtha | 35 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 5 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 41 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 52 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 849 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 1,104 | 282 | 478 | 67 |
| 2025-08 | 1,103 | 284 | 482 | 65 |
| 2025-09 | 1,090 | 273 | 472 | 63 |
| 2025-10 | 1,014 | 273 | 400 | 62 |
| 2025-11 | 879 | 232 | 380 | 59 |
| 2025-12 | 920 | 226 | 407 | 55 |
| 2026-01 | 892 | 229 | 354 | 52 |
| 2026-02 | 800 | 200 | 330 | 46 |
| 2026-03 | 554 | 108 | 243 | 24 |
| 2026-04 | 829 | 195 | 346 | 58 |
| 2026-05 | 791 | 193 | 326 | 54 |
| 2026-06 | 849 | 195 | 358 | 58 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Petrotel-LUKOIL Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Romania's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · RomaniaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 0% and 0% of Romania's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. 0% of the imported volume came from origins with no published route classification; it is counted as unknown, not as zero. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Petrotel-LUKOIL Refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://serbia-energy.eu/lukoils-petrotel-refinery-seeks-insolvency-protection-while-pursuing-restart/- Status; Site record; Source notes
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
CAPACITY EMPTY: no operator or official page printing a capacity figure could be opened; petrotel.ro / lukoil.ro were not reachable via search results and the only quantitative statement found in an opened page is a share of national output, not a capacity. STATUS IDLE, not CLOSED: the refinery 'has been offline since October 2025', having stopped for planned maintenance which was subsequently completed, but operations were not resumed because of complications linked to US sanctions on parent company LUKOIL. A state-appointed supervisor has overseen the company since 12 February 2026, tasked with ensuring compliance with US Treasury OFAC measures. In August 2026 the company moved to enter insolvency proceedings, presented by management as a restructuring mechanism rather than preparation for liquidation, with the stated objective of keeping the refinery technically capable of restarting; management and the state supervisor both favour a restart, and a change of ownership is under discussion with Romanian authorities (https://serbia-energy.eu/lukoils-petrotel-refinery-seeks-insolvency-protection-while-pursuing-restart/, dated 2026-08-26; Tier 3 trade press, used here for a dated corporate event, not for a capacity figure). The same source states Petrotel previously accounted for about 21 percent of Romanian domestic fuel production and is the only one of Romania's refinery sites currently offline. US OFAC added Rosneft, LUKOIL and subsidiaries to the SDN list on 22 October 2025. EEA register lists 'SC PETROTEL LUKOIL SA' as functional for reporting year 2024, which predates the October 2025 shutdown and must not be read as a current status. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas', ProductionInstallation table, reporting year 2024), queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ . Not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / petrotel-lukoil-ploiesti, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash bf7d0a99dae6.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.