Fuel Origin

North Atlantic Energies Raffinerie de Gravenchon

Port-Jerome-sur-Seine, France

North Atlantic Energies Raffinerie de Gravenchon is an operating crude oil refinery in Port-Jerome-sur-Seine, France. It is operated by North Atlantic Energies (formerly Esso Societe Anonyme Francaise). Its published capacity is 12 Mt/a (dated 2025-09-25), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.

Status
Operating
status source
Operator
North Atlantic Energies (formerly Esso Societe Anonyme Francaise)
Commissioned
not published
Capacity (as published)
12 Mt/a
capacity source · 2025-09-25 · not converted

Publishers disagree - both readings are kept

  • CAPACITY DISAGREEMENT: Esso 2021 annual report 'exceeds 12 Mt/a' and 20% of national capacity; UFIP-derived list 12 Mt and 21%.

Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.

Refinery recordVerified
Last verified 2026-09-21Location not published

Owners and operator

Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.

NameRoleShareFromToType
North Atlantic Energies (formerly Esso Societe Anonyme Francaise)Operatornot publishednot publishedcurrentVerified
North Atlantic France SAS (82.89% of Esso S.A.F.), subsidiary of North Atlantic (Canada)Ownernot publishednot publishedcurrentVerified
Source
Refinery operators and national regulators (cited per row)Verified
Updated 2026-09-21 00:00 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view
No dated ownership change is recorded as structured data for this refinery. Earlier owners, where the sources name them, are described in the source notes at the foot of this page.

Ports and pipelines it is connected to

Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.

North Atlantic Energies Raffinerie de Gravenchon is connected to Antifer (port), Le Havre (port), Port-Jerome-sur-Seine (port), Antifer-Le Havre crude pipeline (pipeline) and LHP (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified

Source
Refinery operators and national regulators (cited per row)Verified
Updated 2026-09-21 00:00 UTCConfidenceHighMethodologyno download for this view

What it runs on

Which crude this refinery processes is not published. France's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.

This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN

Which crude oil North Atlantic Energies Raffinerie de Gravenchon runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.

Unknown

National · FranceNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National context, not this refinery's intake: France has 6 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, France's crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (25%), Libya (15%) and Kazakhstan (14%).

Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.

France, June 2026 - latest month with an origin breakdown (COMPUTED)
Producing countryTonnesShareType
United States of America720,00025%Calculated
Libya428,00015%Calculated
Kazakhstan418,00014%Calculated
Nigeria271,0009%Calculated
United Kingdom236,0008%Calculated
Canada186,0006%Calculated
Norway174,0006%Calculated
Algeria145,0005%Calculated
Angola137,0005%Calculated
Democratic Republic of the Congo118,0004%Calculated
Mexico30,0001%Calculated
Congo28,0001%Calculated
Last 12 months held: share of France's crude imports by producing country
MonthUnited States of AmericaKazakhstanNigeriaNorwayAlgeriaAll other origins
2025-0723%13%10%6%9%37%
2025-0821%16%17%7%6%33%
2025-0927%21%3%10%4%34%
2025-1012%15%15%15%13%30%
2025-1119%11%15%12%12%29%
2025-1228%14%7%11%15%25%
2026-0137%10%14%9%3%28%
2026-0233%11%13%3%9%29%
2026-0328%12%10%9%6%35%
2026-0422%19%9%10%10%27%
2026-0522%27%11%10%12%17%
2026-0625%14%9%6%5%40%

"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.

Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Calculated
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-26 13:21 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Refinery output in France (national)

What all refineries in France produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.

National · FranceNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not this refinery's: France's refineries together produced 3,384 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. North Atlantic Energies Raffinerie de Gravenchon's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official

June 2026, thousand tonnes as published
Motor gasoline602Official
Road diesel1,152Official
Heating and other gasoil150Official
Kerosene-type jet fuel332Official
Naphtha318Official
Fuel oil415Official
Liquefied petroleum gases95Official
Petroleum coke21Official
All oil products (total)3,384Official
Last 12 months, thousand tonnes
MonthTotalMotor gasolineRoad dieselKerosene-type jet fuel
2025-074,5068331,520398
2025-084,4218281,534401
2025-094,1267181,368374
2025-104,2906991,297395
2025-114,2557231,439354
2025-124,3698001,430410
2026-014,0737491,261367
2026-023,7747311,215350
2026-034,1987081,345464
2026-044,1406201,445440
2026-053,7215771,213411
2026-063,3846021,152332
Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Official
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-23 10:15 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Outages and maintenance

Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.

No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).

No outage or maintenance is recorded for North Atlantic Energies Raffinerie de Gravenchon. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.

Source
several sources (see each row)Unknown
Updated not publishedConfidenceUnknownMethodologyno download for this view

Strait of Hormuz: France's direct crude exposure (national)

The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.

National · FranceNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 0% and 8% of France's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached North Atlantic Energies Raffinerie de Gravenchon is not published. Calculated

July 20260-8%CalculatedLow
Source
EIA, IEA and terminal operators (cited per row)Calculated
Period 2026-07 (month)Updated 2026-09-24 07:44 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view

Sources used on this page

  1. https://www.connaissancedesenergies.org/questions-et-reponses-energies/petrole-combien-y-t-il-de-raffineries-en-france-et-ou-sont-elles-situees- Capacity; Site record
  2. https://www.connaissancedesenergies.org/afp/raffinerie-de-gravenchon-north-atlantic-va-etre-autorise-augmenter-de-10-la-production-de-kerosene-et-de-gazole-260413- Status
  3. https://northatlantic.ca/media-releases/north-atlantic-france-sas-completes-acquisition/- Source notes
  4. https://www.cim-ccmp.com/fr/implantation.php- Connection: Antifer; Connection: Le Havre; Connection: Port-Jerome-sur-Seine; Connection: Antifer-Le Havre crude pipeline; Connection: LHP
  5. https://www.trapil.com/fr/presentation-actionnariat-reseaux-direction.php- Connection: Antifer; Connection: Le Havre; Connection: Port-Jerome-sur-Seine; Connection: Antifer-Le Havre crude pipeline; Connection: LHP
  6. https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
  7. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
  8. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
  9. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)

OWNERSHIP CHANGE: on 28 November 2025 North Atlantic France SAS completed the acquisition of an 82.89% controlling interest in Esso S.A.F. and 100% of ExxonMobil Chemical France; Esso S.A.F. was renamed North Atlantic Energies (https://northatlantic.ca/media-releases/north-atlantic-france-sas-completes-acquisition/). CRUDE REFINING CONTINUES - only the PETROCHEMICALS closed: ExxonMobil Chemical announced on 11 April 2024 the permanent shutdown of the steam cracker, polyethylene, polypropylene and adhesives units (~677 jobs), effective end-2024, explicitly NOT the refinery. Refining still running: a prefectoral authorisation dated 13 April 2026 permits a 10% increase in kerosene and diesel output. CAPACITY DISAGREEMENT: Esso 2021 annual report 'exceeds 12 Mt/a' and 20% of national capacity; UFIP-derived list 12 Mt and 21%. Both retained. COORDINATES LEFT EMPTY: the OpenStreetMap centroid (49.4752211, 0.5528246) reverse-geocodes to Quillebeuf-sur-Seine in Eure (27), on the opposite bank from the site's commune in Seine-Maritime (76). Rather than ingest a coordinate that contradicts the stated commune, this is left NULL for manual QA.

Record reference_refineries_v1 / port-jerome-gravenchon, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 876961657107.

How to read the labels
  • OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
  • VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
  • CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
  • Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
  • Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
  • Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
  • UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.