Preemraff Lysekil (Brofjorden)
Lysekil, Sweden
Preemraff Lysekil (Brofjorden) is an operating crude oil refinery in Lysekil, Sweden. It is operated by VAROPreem. Its published capacity is 220 kbpd, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- VAROPreem
- Commissioned
- 1975
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VAROPreem | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| VAROPreem (VARO Energy; acquisition of Preem AB completed January 2026) | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for Preemraff Lysekil (Brofjorden) in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Sweden's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Preemraff Lysekil (Brofjorden) runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · SwedenNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Sweden has 4 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Sweden's crude imports came mainly from Norway (30%), Guyana (26%) and the United States of America (15%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Norway | 485,882 | 30% | Calculated |
| Guyana | 419,195 | 26% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 242,203 | 15% | Calculated |
| Libya | 189,985 | 12% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 158,709 | 10% | Calculated |
| Netherlands | 107,853 | 7% | Calculated |
| Month | Norway | United States of America | United Kingdom | Guyana | Libya | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 57% | 13% | 14% | 16% | - | 0% |
| 2025-08 | 58% | 10% | 10% | 11% | - | 11% |
| 2025-09 | 69% | 26% | 4% | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-10 | 78% | 15% | 7% | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-11 | 57% | 26% | 8% | - | - | 9% |
| 2025-12 | 80% | 10% | 9% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-01 | 48% | 38% | 14% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-02 | 67% | 23% | 10% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-03 | 43% | 28% | 14% | 7% | - | 7% |
| 2026-04 | 58% | 28% | 9% | - | 5% | 0% |
| 2026-05 | 54% | 8% | 20% | 9% | - | 8% |
| 2026-06 | 30% | 15% | 10% | 26% | 12% | 7% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Sweden (national)
What all refineries in Sweden produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · SwedenNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Sweden's refineries together produced 1,683.697 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Preemraff Lysekil (Brofjorden)'s own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 364.292 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 542.605 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 41.109 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 7.214 | Official |
| Naphtha | 2.583 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 265.004 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 38.259 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 5.545 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 1,683.697 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 1,703.616 | 359.18 | 540.427 | 0.722 |
| 2025-08 | 1,771.574 | 385.594 | 577.388 | 1.174 |
| 2025-09 | 1,076.93 | 196.896 | 326.278 | 8.328 |
| 2025-10 | 998.911 | 204.985 | 304.917 | 5.491 |
| 2025-11 | 1,114.854 | 230.03 | 357.039 | 1.997 |
| 2025-12 | 1,618.431 | 359.892 | 525.91 | 0 |
| 2026-01 | 1,713.373 | 399.903 | 532.763 | 6.041 |
| 2026-02 | 1,540.182 | 364.892 | 473.458 | 0 |
| 2026-03 | 1,730.105 | 387.905 | 576.815 | 10 |
| 2026-04 | 1,732.986 | 380.612 | 562.964 | 12.883 |
| 2026-05 | 1,795.606 | 380.298 | 588.266 | 22.647 |
| 2026-06 | 1,683.697 | 364.292 | 542.605 | 7.214 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Preemraff Lysekil (Brofjorden). No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Sweden's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · SwedenNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Sweden imported no crude oil from origins that load inside the Persian Gulf during July 2026. Every contributing origin has a single export route outside the Gulf, so the share is 0% by geography, not by estimate. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Preemraff Lysekil (Brofjorden) is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://varopreem.com/en/business/manufacturing-hubs/- Capacity; Status; Site record
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Operator page (VAROPreem manufacturing hubs, opened 2026-09-22) states '220 kbd total capacity' and '1.0 mtpa renewable fuel capacity', '100% owned', 'Opened in 1975'. The 220 kbd figure is labelled 'total capacity' and the page does not separate crude distillation capacity from renewable capacity, so the 220 kbd is NOT proven to be crude-only. Ownership change: VARO Energy completed the acquisition of Preem AB and the combined group was renamed VAROPreem; preem.com now redirects to varopreem.com. Trade press (Hydrocarbon Engineering, Tier 3, dated 2026-01-19) gives the completion date as January 2026 and group totals of '530 000 bpd of conventional fuels, 1.3 million tpy of renewable fuels'. The Synsat unit at Lysekil was converted for renewable co-processing in 2024 and an IsoCracker revamp is planned, but no opened source says crude distillation has stopped. Brofjorden harbour is widely associated with this site but no opened operator page names it, so connected_ports is left empty. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2, installation 'Preemraff, Lysekil - Installation', reporting year 2024), https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ - not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / preem-lysekil, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash c818aed11692.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.