Repsol Tarragona Industrial Complex
Tarragona, Spain
Repsol Tarragona Industrial Complex is an operating crude oil refinery in Tarragona, Spain. It is operated by Repsol. Its published capacity is 9 Mt/a (dated 2025-12-31), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- Repsol
- Commissioned
- 1974
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
DISAGREEMENT: Repsol's own installations page prints "9.500.000 toneladas de materia prima al ano" for the refining area (https://tarragona.repsol.es/es/sobre-complejo/nuestras-instalaciones/index.cshtml).
The two figures may not measure the same thing - the CORES column is explicitly "Crude" (atmospheric distillation) while Repsol says "materia prima" (feedstock), which can include non-crude intake - so I did not adjudicate; the CORES crude figure (9 Mt/a) is in the capacity cells and Repsol's 9.5 Mt/a of feedstock is recorded here. capacity_bpd left empty: no source I opened prints barrels per day for this site.
DISAGREEMENT on start date: the EEA IED register gives dateOfStartOfOperation 1975-12-18 for all reporting years 2016-2024.
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Repsol | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Repsol | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
Repsol Tarragona Industrial Complex is connected to Terminal maritimo El Pantalan (port), monoboya 3 km offshore (port) and Oleoducto from the Casablanca offshore platform to the Tarragona maritime terminal (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Terminal maritimo El Pantalan (Port) Verified LowTerminal maritimo El Pantalan (five berths)Evidence: tarragona.repsol.es
- connected to monoboya 3 km offshore (Port) Verified LowEvidence: tarragona.repsol.es
- connected to Oleoducto from the Casablanca offshore platform to the Tarragona maritime terminal (Pipeline) Verified LowEvidence: tarragona.repsol.es
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Spain's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Repsol Tarragona Industrial Complex runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · SpainNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Spain has 8 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Spain's crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (21%), Nigeria (15%) and Mexico (14%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States of America | 925,243 | 21% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 638,868 | 15% | Calculated |
| Mexico | 587,098 | 14% | Calculated |
| Libya | 583,727 | 13% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 286,266 | 7% | Calculated |
| Angola | 268,094 | 6% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 242,539 | 6% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 225,564 | 5% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 219,226 | 5% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 190,318 | 4% | Calculated |
| Guyana | 139,659 | 3% | Calculated |
| Albania | 19,026 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Month | United States of America | Mexico | Nigeria | Brazil | Libya | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 18% | 15% | 17% | 8% | 9% | 32% |
| 2025-08 | 17% | 12% | 11% | 14% | 8% | 40% |
| 2025-09 | 14% | 7% | 10% | 12% | 3% | 54% |
| 2025-10 | 17% | 7% | 12% | 8% | 6% | 50% |
| 2025-11 | 13% | 19% | 9% | 11% | 3% | 44% |
| 2025-12 | 18% | 10% | 15% | 13% | 8% | 36% |
| 2026-01 | 12% | 10% | 16% | 6% | 9% | 47% |
| 2026-02 | 14% | 8% | 9% | 10% | 11% | 48% |
| 2026-03 | 14% | 15% | 9% | 15% | 16% | 31% |
| 2026-04 | 15% | 11% | 10% | 9% | 12% | 43% |
| 2026-05 | 9% | 15% | 7% | 11% | 9% | 49% |
| 2026-06 | 21% | 14% | 15% | 6% | 13% | 31% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Spain (national)
What all refineries in Spain produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · SpainNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Spain's refineries together produced 5,057.043 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Repsol Tarragona Industrial Complex's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 907.377 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 248.475 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 1,739.019 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 47.694 | Official |
| Naphtha | 137.434 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 317.867 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 75.545 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 257.91 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 5,057.043 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 5,544.733 | 864.316 | 238.754 | 40.868 |
| 2025-08 | 5,419.248 | 841.516 | 272.162 | 39.443 |
| 2025-09 | 5,220.084 | 855.636 | 273.808 | 43.014 |
| 2025-10 | 5,425.5 | 911.399 | 264.345 | 41.175 |
| 2025-11 | 5,091.785 | 801.017 | 274.858 | 31.084 |
| 2025-12 | 5,534.233 | 928.334 | 220.477 | 37.429 |
| 2026-01 | 4,940.405 | 862.238 | 159.406 | 41.452 |
| 2026-02 | 4,182.675 | 672.547 | 135.515 | 47.756 |
| 2026-03 | 5,292.361 | 826.258 | 181.433 | 59.592 |
| 2026-04 | 5,281.355 | 906.267 | 251.182 | 65.639 |
| 2026-05 | 5,065.473 | 910.629 | 272.704 | 57.413 |
| 2026-06 | 5,057.043 | 907.377 | 248.475 | 47.694 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Repsol Tarragona Industrial Complex. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Spain's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · SpainNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 2% and 4% of Spain's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Repsol Tarragona Industrial Complex is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.cores.es/sites/default/files/archivos/estadisticas/refinery-capacity.xlsx- Capacity; Status; Site record
- https://www.cores.es/en/spanish-refinery-capacity- Source notes
- https://tarragona.repsol.es/es/sobre-complejo/nuestras-instalaciones/index.cshtml- Source notes; Connection: Terminal maritimo El Pantalan; Connection: monoboya 3 km offshore; Connection: Oleoducto from the Casablanca offshore platform to the Tarragona maritime terminal
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Capacity from the CORES "Spanish Refinery Capacity" workbook, sheet "Crude" (atmospheric distillation), row year 2025. Sheet header prints "Unit: thousands of tonnes"; workbook notes print "Figures to 31st December" and "Updated 30-07-2026". Workbook linked from https://www.cores.es/en/spanish-refinery-capacity. CORES is a Public Law Corporation under the Spanish Ministry for the Ecological Transition. The kt value was rescaled to Mt (same unit family, tonnes); no tonne-barrel conversion was performed. CORES prints 9000 thousand tonnes of crude for Tarragona in 2025. DISAGREEMENT: Repsol's own installations page prints "9.500.000 toneladas de materia prima al ano" for the refining area (https://tarragona.repsol.es/es/sobre-complejo/nuestras-instalaciones/index.cshtml). The two figures may not measure the same thing - the CORES column is explicitly "Crude" (atmospheric distillation) while Repsol says "materia prima" (feedstock), which can include non-crude intake - so I did not adjudicate; the CORES crude figure (9 Mt/a) is in the capacity cells and Repsol's 9.5 Mt/a of feedstock is recorded here. capacity_bpd left empty: no source I opened prints barrels per day for this site. Commissioned year 1974 from the CORES workbook 'Start' sheet: "1974: Initiation of activities in the Tarragona refinery (Repsol)". DISAGREEMENT on start date: the EEA IED register gives dateOfStartOfOperation 1975-12-18 for all reporting years 2016-2024. Ports and pipelines from the same Repsol page: the maritime terminal "El Pantalan" with "cinco frentes de atraque"; "una monoboya situada a tres kilometros de la costa"; and crude from the Casablanca platform 52 km offshore reaching the terminal "mediante un oleoducto". Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas'), reporting year 2024, read via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/. Not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / repsol-tarragona, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash e14acec1cf04.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.