Rompetrol Petromidia Refinery
Navodari, Romania
Rompetrol Petromidia Refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Navodari, Romania. It is operated by Rompetrol Rafinare S.A.. Its published capacity is 5.32 Mt/a (dated 2026-03-25), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- Rompetrol Rafinare S.A.
- Commissioned
- 1979
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
Exact wording on capacity: 'The project capacity of Petromidia Refinery, following the refining capacity expansion project from 1991 is 5.32 million tons raw material/year.' Note this is raw material (crude plus other feedstock), not crude only.
DISAGREEMENT within the same document: the company history section states that after the 2012 modernisation 'Petromidia thus became the largest refinery in Romania, with a processing capacity of 5 million tons/year'.
Both readings recorded; 5.32 million tons raw material/year was taken as the current project capacity statement.
No barrels-per-day figure is printed, so capacity_bpd is empty and no conversion was performed. 2025 actuals for context (not capacity): total processing of about 5.2-5.89 million tons, refining capacity utilisation 98.1 percent, average throughput 16.13 thousand tons per day, crude slate 57 percent KEBCO and 43 percent sweet crude, white products yield 87.1 percent. commissioned_year 1979 is the company's own history line: '1979 - The first unit - the Atmospheric Distillation Unit - is commissioned' (the plant was designed 1975-1977 as the Midia Navodari Petrochemical Plant).
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 13:08 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rompetrol Rafinare S.A. | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
Rompetrol Petromidia Refinery is connected to Constanta Port (port), Midia Marine Terminal (port), Midia Port (port) and Oil Terminal S.A. crude oil pipeline from the port of Constanta (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Constanta Port (Port) Verified LowEvidence: m.bvb.ro
- connected to Midia Marine Terminal (Port) Verified LowEvidence: m.bvb.ro
- connected to Midia Port (Port) Verified LowEvidence: m.bvb.ro
- connected to Oil Terminal S.A. crude oil pipeline from the port of Constanta (Pipeline) Verified LowOil Terminal S.A. crude oil pipeline from the port of Constanta (approximately 40 km)Evidence: m.bvb.ro
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Romania's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil Rompetrol Petromidia Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · RomaniaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Romania has 2 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Romania's crude imports came mainly from Kazakhstan (56%), Azerbaijan (32%) and Canada (10%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kazakhstan | 334,000 | 56% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 188,000 | 32% | Calculated |
| Canada | 60,000 | 10% | Calculated |
| Ukraine | 11,000 | 2% | Calculated |
| Month | Kazakhstan | Azerbaijan | Guyana | Libya | Norway | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 64% | 17% | 10% | - | - | 9% |
| 2025-08 | 82% | - | - | 18% | - | less than 1% |
| 2025-09 | 60% | - | 4% | 12% | 23% | less than 1% |
| 2025-10 | 41% | 24% | 9% | 12% | - | 14% |
| 2025-11 | 44% | 33% | 6% | - | - | 17% |
| 2025-12 | 54% | 28% | 11% | - | - | 7% |
| 2026-01 | 72% | 4% | - | - | 14% | 10% |
| 2026-02 | 51% | 33% | - | 15% | - | 1% |
| 2026-03 | 25% | 28% | 44% | - | - | 3% |
| 2026-04 | 51% | 24% | 23% | - | - | 2% |
| 2026-05 | 63% | 10% | 4% | 14% | - | 8% |
| 2026-06 | 56% | 32% | - | - | - | 12% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Romania (national)
What all refineries in Romania produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · RomaniaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Romania's refineries together produced 849 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Rompetrol Petromidia Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 195 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 358 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 13 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 58 | Official |
| Naphtha | 35 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 5 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 41 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 52 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 849 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 1,104 | 282 | 478 | 67 |
| 2025-08 | 1,103 | 284 | 482 | 65 |
| 2025-09 | 1,090 | 273 | 472 | 63 |
| 2025-10 | 1,014 | 273 | 400 | 62 |
| 2025-11 | 879 | 232 | 380 | 59 |
| 2025-12 | 920 | 226 | 407 | 55 |
| 2026-01 | 892 | 229 | 354 | 52 |
| 2026-02 | 800 | 200 | 330 | 46 |
| 2026-03 | 554 | 108 | 243 | 24 |
| 2026-04 | 829 | 195 | 346 | 58 |
| 2026-05 | 791 | 193 | 326 | 54 |
| 2026-06 | 849 | 195 | 358 | 58 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Rompetrol Petromidia Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Romania's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · RomaniaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 0% and 0% of Romania's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. 0% of the imported volume came from origins with no published route classification; it is counted as unknown, not as zero. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Rompetrol Petromidia Refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://m.bvb.ro/infocont/infocont26/RRC_20260328011746_I---RRC---Anual-Financial-Report-2025-ENG.pdf- Capacity; Status; Site record; Connection: Constanta Port; Connection: Midia Marine Terminal; Connection: Midia Port; Connection: Oil Terminal S.A. crude oil pipeline from the port of Constanta
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Source is Rompetrol Rafinare S.A.'s Individual Annual Report of the Board of Directors for financial year 2025, filed with the Bucharest Stock Exchange; report date March 25th, 2026. Exact wording on capacity: 'The project capacity of Petromidia Refinery, following the refining capacity expansion project from 1991 is 5.32 million tons raw material/year.' Note this is raw material (crude plus other feedstock), not crude only. DISAGREEMENT within the same document: the company history section states that after the 2012 modernisation 'Petromidia thus became the largest refinery in Romania, with a processing capacity of 5 million tons/year'. Both readings recorded; 5.32 million tons raw material/year was taken as the current project capacity statement. CAUTION: the running header on the pages carrying the 5.32 figure still reads 'for the financial year 2020', apparently un-updated boilerplate in the 2025 filing. No barrels-per-day figure is printed, so capacity_bpd is empty and no conversion was performed. 2025 actuals for context (not capacity): total processing of about 5.2-5.89 million tons, refining capacity utilisation 98.1 percent, average throughput 16.13 thousand tons per day, crude slate 57 percent KEBCO and 43 percent sweet crude, white products yield 87.1 percent. commissioned_year 1979 is the company's own history line: '1979 - The first unit - the Atmospheric Distillation Unit - is commissioned' (the plant was designed 1975-1977 as the Midia Navodari Petrochemical Plant). CONNECTIONS, exact wording: 'Direct access to the Midia Port'; 'Strategic placement in the Black Sea area, near the Constanta port'; 'Logistical facilities (Midia Marine Terminal S.R.L.) which allow for reception and delivery of the liquid products by ships, barges, rail tankers and tank wagons'; 'The supply of crude oil and other raw materials is mainly carried out through the marine terminal located in the vicinity of the Petromidia Refinery, at a distance of about 8 km from shore and through the Midia port. As an alternative, the supply may also be made through the port of Constanta ..., through the pipe of OIL TERMINAL S.A., for a distance of approximately 40 km.' The report also names Conpet S.A., Oil Terminal S.A., Midia Marine Terminal S.R.L. and Decirom S.A. as loading/unloading service providers in Constanta and Midia ports. Conpet is a service provider named in that list rather than a pipeline explicitly described as feeding this refinery, so only the Oil Terminal S.A. pipe is recorded in connected_pipelines. OWNER EMPTY: no page opened in this session stated the shareholder split of Rompetrol Rafinare S.A. (the frequently quoted KMG International 54.63 percent / Romanian Ministry of Energy 44.7 percent split was not verified against an opened page; the only Ministry of Energy shareholding found in the filing, 56.58 percent, relates to the Midia Thermal Power Plant, not to Rompetrol Rafinare). EEA register lists 'SC ROMPETROL RAFINARE SA - punct de lucru Rompetrol Rafinare - Navodari' as functional for reporting year 2024. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas', ProductionInstallation table, reporting year 2024), queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ . Not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / rompetrol-petromidia-navodari, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash d66d66dfa3a6.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.