SARA Raffinerie des Antilles
Le Lamentin, Martinique, France
SARA Raffinerie des Antilles is an operating crude oil refinery in Le Lamentin, Martinique, France. It is operated by SARA (Societe Anonyme de la Raffinerie des Antilles). Its published capacity is 0.8 Mt/a (dated 2025-09-25), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- SARA (Societe Anonyme de la Raffinerie des Antilles)
- Commissioned
- 1969
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedHigh- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-25 17:39 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SARA (Societe Anonyme de la Raffinerie des Antilles) | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Rubis 71%; Solpetroleum 29% | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for SARA Raffinerie des Antilles in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. France's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil SARA Raffinerie des Antilles runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · FranceNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: France has 6 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, France's crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (25%), Libya (15%) and Kazakhstan (14%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States of America | 720,000 | 25% | Calculated |
| Libya | 428,000 | 15% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 418,000 | 14% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 271,000 | 9% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 236,000 | 8% | Calculated |
| Canada | 186,000 | 6% | Calculated |
| Norway | 174,000 | 6% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 145,000 | 5% | Calculated |
| Angola | 137,000 | 5% | Calculated |
| Democratic Republic of the Congo | 118,000 | 4% | Calculated |
| Mexico | 30,000 | 1% | Calculated |
| Congo | 28,000 | 1% | Calculated |
| Month | United States of America | Kazakhstan | Nigeria | Norway | Algeria | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 23% | 13% | 10% | 6% | 9% | 37% |
| 2025-08 | 21% | 16% | 17% | 7% | 6% | 33% |
| 2025-09 | 27% | 21% | 3% | 10% | 4% | 34% |
| 2025-10 | 12% | 15% | 15% | 15% | 13% | 30% |
| 2025-11 | 19% | 11% | 15% | 12% | 12% | 29% |
| 2025-12 | 28% | 14% | 7% | 11% | 15% | 25% |
| 2026-01 | 37% | 10% | 14% | 9% | 3% | 28% |
| 2026-02 | 33% | 11% | 13% | 3% | 9% | 29% |
| 2026-03 | 28% | 12% | 10% | 9% | 6% | 35% |
| 2026-04 | 22% | 19% | 9% | 10% | 10% | 27% |
| 2026-05 | 22% | 27% | 11% | 10% | 12% | 17% |
| 2026-06 | 25% | 14% | 9% | 6% | 5% | 40% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in France (national)
What all refineries in France produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · FranceNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: France's refineries together produced 3,384 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. SARA Raffinerie des Antilles's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 602 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 1,152 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 150 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 332 | Official |
| Naphtha | 318 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 415 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 95 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 21 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 3,384 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 4,506 | 833 | 1,520 | 398 |
| 2025-08 | 4,421 | 828 | 1,534 | 401 |
| 2025-09 | 4,126 | 718 | 1,368 | 374 |
| 2025-10 | 4,290 | 699 | 1,297 | 395 |
| 2025-11 | 4,255 | 723 | 1,439 | 354 |
| 2025-12 | 4,369 | 800 | 1,430 | 410 |
| 2026-01 | 4,073 | 749 | 1,261 | 367 |
| 2026-02 | 3,774 | 731 | 1,215 | 350 |
| 2026-03 | 4,198 | 708 | 1,345 | 464 |
| 2026-04 | 4,140 | 620 | 1,445 | 440 |
| 2026-05 | 3,721 | 577 | 1,213 | 411 |
| 2026-06 | 3,384 | 602 | 1,152 | 332 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for SARA Raffinerie des Antilles. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: France's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · FranceNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 0% and 8% of France's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached SARA Raffinerie des Antilles is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.connaissancedesenergies.org/questions-et-reponses-energies/petrole-combien-y-t-il-de-raffineries-en-france-et-ou-sont-elles-situees- Capacity; Site record
- https://www.sara-antilles-guyane.com/notre-entreprise/- Status
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Located in Martinique, a French overseas region - outside metropolitan France and outside the European mainland supply system. Flagged so that it is not summed into metropolitan French capacity. CAPACITY NOT PUBLISHED BY OPERATOR: SARA's own page gives no crude capacity, so 0.8 Mt/a comes from the UFIP-derived Connaissance des Energies list (Tier 2). Owner shares and 1969 founding are from the operator page.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / sara-antilles, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 9cd93f563143.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.