Shell Energy and Chemicals Park Rheinland - Werk Wesseling
Wesseling, Germany
Shell Energy and Chemicals Park Rheinland - Werk Wesseling in Wesseling, Germany has been converted and no longer refines crude oil. It is operated by Shell Deutschland GmbH. No capacity figure for Shell Energy and Chemicals Park Rheinland - Werk Wesseling could be cited, so none is shown. This is not a capacity of zero.
- Operator
- Shell Deutschland GmbH
- Commissioned
- 1940
- Capacity (as published)
- not published
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-25 17:39 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shell Deutschland GmbH | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Shell Deutschland GmbH 100% | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for Shell Energy and Chemicals Park Rheinland - Werk Wesseling in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Germany's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Shell Energy and Chemicals Park Rheinland - Werk Wesseling no longer refines crude oil (recorded status: converted), so there is no current crude intake to describe. What it ran on before is not published either.
Unknown
National · GermanyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Germany has 13 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Germany's crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (31%), Kazakhstan (16%) and Norway (11%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States of America | 2,138,248 | 31% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 1,116,312 | 16% | Calculated |
| Norway | 734,331 | 11% | Calculated |
| Libya | 731,299 | 11% | Calculated |
| Guyana | 621,864 | 9% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 435,480 | 6% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 309,314 | 5% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 302,544 | 4% | Calculated |
| Canada | 107,468 | 2% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 90,063 | 1% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 66,822 | 1% | Calculated |
| Denmark | 49,945 | 1% | Calculated |
| Italy | 30,109 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Syrian Arab Republic | 27,267 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Niger | 23,320 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Iraq | 21,195 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 16,900 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Gabon | 15,984 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Senegal | 8,167 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Argentina | 5,092 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Mexico | 4,109 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Cameroon | 1,652 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Netherlands | 1,511 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| France | 249 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Saudi Arabia | 29 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Month | United States of America | Norway | Kazakhstan | Libya | United Kingdom | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 11% | 13% | 14% | 20% | 11% | 23% |
| 2025-08 | 16% | 14% | 14% | 16% | 8% | 27% |
| 2025-09 | 14% | 13% | 15% | 16% | 9% | 23% |
| 2025-10 | 12% | 15% | 13% | 12% | 12% | 26% |
| 2025-11 | 15% | 18% | 16% | 18% | 9% | 14% |
| 2025-12 | 16% | 14% | 18% | 16% | 12% | 13% |
| 2026-01 | 15% | 20% | 14% | 14% | 10% | 27% |
| 2026-02 | 18% | 12% | 14% | 13% | 13% | 31% |
| 2026-03 | 17% | 23% | 10% | 9% | 11% | 30% |
| 2026-04 | 13% | 18% | 17% | 7% | 10% | 35% |
| 2026-05 | 24% | 20% | 15% | 11% | 11% | 19% |
| 2026-06 | 31% | 11% | 16% | 11% | 6% | 25% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Germany (national)
What all refineries in Germany produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · GermanyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Germany's refineries together produced 7,504.979 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Shell Energy and Chemicals Park Rheinland - Werk Wesseling's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 1,578.78 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 2,769.409 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 466.999 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 466.43 | Official |
| Naphtha | 622.114 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 262.47 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 194.607 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 158.633 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 7,504.979 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 7,977.864 | 1,800.833 | 2,657.572 | 412.339 |
| 2025-08 | 7,253.079 | 1,694.023 | 2,433.99 | 391.331 |
| 2025-09 | 7,996.195 | 1,812.4 | 2,562.676 | 388.424 |
| 2025-10 | 8,138.211 | 1,868.06 | 2,555.305 | 382.329 |
| 2025-11 | 7,983.467 | 1,890.569 | 2,522.603 | 366.796 |
| 2025-12 | 8,019.975 | 1,942.663 | 2,617.095 | 418.308 |
| 2026-01 | 7,498.564 | 1,638.857 | 2,338.554 | 456.308 |
| 2026-02 | 7,085.004 | 1,523.531 | 2,349.045 | 358.79 |
| 2026-03 | 7,215.361 | 1,546.304 | 2,334.742 | 425.405 |
| 2026-04 | 7,735.407 | 1,604.949 | 2,890.5 | 455.378 |
| 2026-05 | 7,968.619 | 1,700.999 | 3,073.187 | 478.069 |
| 2026-06 | 7,504.979 | 1,578.78 | 2,769.409 | 466.43 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for Shell Energy and Chemicals Park Rheinland - Werk Wesseling. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Germany's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · GermanyNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 2% and 2% of Germany's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Shell Energy and Chemicals Park Rheinland - Werk Wesseling is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.shell.de/ueber-uns/standorte/rheinland/medieninfos-und-downloads/zeitenwende-shell-in-wesseling-roholfrei-neue-zukunftsweisende-produktionsanlagen-entstehen.html- Status; Site record
- https://www.ajot.com/news/shell-invests-to-repurpose-german-energy-and-chemicals-park-rheinland- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
CRUDE REFINING ENDED. Shell shut the D500 crude distillation unit; the press release of 14 March 2025 says 'Die Abschaltung der D500 ... markiert das Ende der Rohoel-Verarbeitung zu Kraft- und Heizstoffen am traditionsreichen Standort Wesseling'. The refinery had run since 1940. Corroborated by Shell's global FID announcement of January 2024: 'Crude oil processing will end at the Wesseling site by 2025 but will continue at the Godorf site' (https://www.ajot.com/news/shell-invests-to-repurpose-german-energy-and-chemicals-park-rheinland). capacity_* deliberately EMPTY - the site no longer distils crude. FORMER capacity was 7,300 thousand t (en2x, 31.12.2022); the en2x member list STILL publishes Wesseling crude capacity as if current, which is wrong. REPLACEMENT: a Group III base-oil plant, 300,000 t/a, starting 2028. Coordinates are OpenStreetMap-derived.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / shell-wesseling, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash f6ac36e5fb2c.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.