SLOVNAFT Bratislava Refinery
Bratislava, Slovakia
SLOVNAFT Bratislava Refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Bratislava, Slovakia. It is operated by SLOVNAFT, a.s.. Its published capacity is 6.1 Mt/a, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- SLOVNAFT, a.s.
- Commissioned
- 1957
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
DISAGREEMENT on capacity between two operator-family sources, both opened 2026-09-22 and both undated: Slovnaft's own company profile page (https://slovnaft.sk/en/about-us/our-company/profile/) states a processing capacity of '5.5 - 6 million tonnes of crude oil, annually', i.e. a range whose top sits just below MOL Group's 6.1 mtpa.
The MOL Group figure is used in the capacity fields because it is a single precise value published in both units; the Slovnaft range is the conflicting reading and is recorded here.
Transpetrol, the Slovak crude pipeline operator (https://www.transpetrol.sk, opened 2026-09-22), states 'Slovensky usek ropovodu Druzba od ukrajinskych hranic cez Sahy do Bratislavy bol vybudovany v rokoch 1960 az 1961' and 'Prepravna kapacita ropovodu je 20 milionov ton rocne', i.e. the Slovak Druzhba section runs from the Ukrainian border via Sahy to Bratislava with 20 Mt/a transport capacity; Transpetrol does not name the receiving refinery. connections_source_url holds one URL only, so the MOL press release is cited there and Transpetrol is recorded here. connected_ports is EMPTY: no page opened names Omisalj or another marine terminal for this refinery; Slovnaft's profile mentions 'pipelines connecting refinery stocks with its river Danube port', but that is an unnamed river port, not a marine crude entry point.
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SLOVNAFT, a.s. | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| MOL Group | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
SLOVNAFT Bratislava Refinery is connected to Adria (pipeline) and Druzhba (pipeline). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Adria (Pipeline) Verified LowEvidence: molgroup.info
- connected to Druzhba (Pipeline) Verified LowEvidence: molgroup.info
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Slovakia's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil SLOVNAFT Bratislava Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · SlovakiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
SLOVNAFT Bratislava Refinery is the only operating crude oil refinery we hold for Slovakia, so the national crude-import figure is the closest public evidence of what it runs on. In June 2026, Slovakia's crude imports came mainly from the Russian Federation (92%) and Ukraine (7%). This is an inference, not a reported intake: crude produced in Slovakia itself, stock changes and re-exports are not separated out in the import figures.
Does the national figure describe this refinery?Inferred · lowLowOnly as an inference: it is the country's only operating crude refinery we hold.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Russian Federation | 399,575 | 92% | Calculated |
| Ukraine | 29,977 | 7% | Calculated |
| Libya | 2,895 | 1% | Calculated |
| Month | Russian Federation | Saudi Arabia | Hungary | Azerbaijan | United Kingdom | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 90% | 7% | 3% | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-08 | 71% | - | 15% | 14% | - | 0% |
| 2025-09 | 80% | - | 11% | 9% | - | 0% |
| 2025-10 | 46% | 22% | 17% | 16% | - | 0% |
| 2025-11 | 73% | 13% | 2% | - | - | 13% |
| 2025-12 | 75% | 14% | 10% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-01 | 93% | less than 1% | 3% | - | - | 4% |
| 2026-02 | 40% | 7% | 8% | - | - | 45% |
| 2026-03 | 19% | 34% | - | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-04 | 20% | 10% | - | - | 31% | 39% |
| 2026-05 | 68% | - | - | - | - | 18% |
| 2026-06 | 92% | - | - | - | - | 8% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Slovakia (national)
What all refineries in Slovakia produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · SlovakiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Slovakia's refineries together produced 511.976 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. SLOVNAFT Bratislava Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 92.6 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 200.561 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 0 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 14.36 | Official |
| Naphtha | 45.592 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 81.134 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 53.24 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 4.567 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 511.976 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 576.135 | 104.457 | 253.844 | 23.731 |
| 2025-08 | 589.383 | 117.633 | 260.478 | 11.205 |
| 2025-09 | 544.959 | 103.788 | 249.548 | 17.576 |
| 2025-10 | 529.727 | 105.087 | 229.768 | 15.769 |
| 2025-11 | 545.358 | 117.613 | 238.606 | 6.288 |
| 2025-12 | 501.894 | 109.846 | 206.446 | 0.878 |
| 2026-01 | 576.572 | 130.088 | 258.422 | 12.703 |
| 2026-02 | 354.949 | 66.17 | 171.804 | 5.723 |
| 2026-03 | 254.644 | 41.637 | 122.379 | 2.749 |
| 2026-04 | 529.928 | 118.849 | 221.559 | 13.885 |
| 2026-05 | 559.249 | 106.371 | 265.374 | 15.572 |
| 2026-06 | 511.976 | 92.6 | 200.561 | 14.36 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for SLOVNAFT Bratislava Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Slovakia's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · SlovakiaNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Slovakia imported no crude oil from origins that load inside the Persian Gulf during July 2026. Every contributing origin has a single export route outside the Gulf, so the share is 0% by geography, not by estimate. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached SLOVNAFT Bratislava Refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://molgroup.info/en/our-business/downstream/production-sites- Capacity; Site record
- https://slovnaft.sk/en/about-us/our-company/profile/- Status; Source notes
- https://www.transpetrol.sk- Source notes
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://molgroup.info/en/media-centre/press-releases/mol-group-and-transpetrol-completed-the-reconstruction-of-the-friendship-iadria-oil-pipeline- Connection: Adria; Connection: Druzhba
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
MOL Group's production-sites page prints verbatim 'Bratislava Refinery ... 124,000 bpd (6.1 mtpa)'; both units are recorded as published, with the tonnage unit token normalised to Mt/a and no conversion performed. DISAGREEMENT on capacity between two operator-family sources, both opened 2026-09-22 and both undated: Slovnaft's own company profile page (https://slovnaft.sk/en/about-us/our-company/profile/) states a processing capacity of '5.5 - 6 million tonnes of crude oil, annually', i.e. a range whose top sits just below MOL Group's 6.1 mtpa. The MOL Group figure is used in the capacity fields because it is a single precise value published in both units; the Slovnaft range is the conflicting reading and is recorded here. The row is not coded UNKNOWN because only the number is in doubt, not the refinery's existence or operation. commissioned_year 1957 is from Slovnaft's own history page: 'The new refinery was named Slovnaft and its first production unit went into op in 1957.' Ownership: the history page states 'In 2001, Slovnaft became a member of the leading Central European oil & gas company, MOL Group'; the profile page says it 'has been an integral part of the successful MOL Group' since 2004. Neither page opened gives MOL's percentage shareholding, so no percentage is recorded. Pipelines: the MOL / Transpetrol press release of 9 February 2015 states the reconstruction enables 'MOL Group to meet the oil needs of its Bratislava Refinery from the Adriatic' via the Friendship I / Adria link. Transpetrol, the Slovak crude pipeline operator (https://www.transpetrol.sk, opened 2026-09-22), states 'Slovensky usek ropovodu Druzba od ukrajinskych hranic cez Sahy do Bratislavy bol vybudovany v rokoch 1960 az 1961' and 'Prepravna kapacita ropovodu je 20 milionov ton rocne', i.e. the Slovak Druzhba section runs from the Ukrainian border via Sahy to Bratislava with 20 Mt/a transport capacity; Transpetrol does not name the receiving refinery. connections_source_url holds one URL only, so the MOL press release is cited there and Transpetrol is recorded here. connected_ports is EMPTY: no page opened names Omisalj or another marine terminal for this refinery; Slovnaft's profile mentions 'pipelines connecting refinery stocks with its river Danube port', but that is an unnamed river port, not a marine crude entry point. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (https://industry.eea.europa.eu/, IED Annex I activity 1.2, queried via the EEA DiscoData SQL API 2026-09-22): the Bratislava site is registered as roughly a dozen unit-level installations rather than one site polygon, and the point used is the crude distillation installation 'AD5, AVD6 a Vyroba a expedicia asfaltov' (atmospheric distillation AD5 and atmospheric-vacuum distillation AVD6), status functional, reporting year 2022. EEA data is CC-BY. Cross-check: an OpenStreetMap Nominatim lookup returned the named feature 'Rafineria Slovnaft, Vlcie hrdlo, Bratislava' at 48.1176632, 17.1797576, about 1.1 km west-south-west; the EEA crude-distillation point is used as the more specific reading.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / slovnaft-bratislava, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 8430f6643af5.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.