St1 Refinery Gothenburg
Goteborg, Sweden
St1 Refinery Gothenburg is an operating crude oil refinery in Goteborg, Sweden. It is operated by St1 Refinery AB. Its published capacity is 30 Mbbl/a, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.
- Operator
- St1 Refinery AB
- Commissioned
- not published
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| St1 Refinery AB | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| St1 Nordic Oy | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
No port or pipeline connection is recorded for St1 Refinery Gothenburg in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Sweden's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil St1 Refinery Gothenburg runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · SwedenNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Sweden has 4 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, Sweden's crude imports came mainly from Norway (30%), Guyana (26%) and the United States of America (15%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Norway | 485,882 | 30% | Calculated |
| Guyana | 419,195 | 26% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 242,203 | 15% | Calculated |
| Libya | 189,985 | 12% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 158,709 | 10% | Calculated |
| Netherlands | 107,853 | 7% | Calculated |
| Month | Norway | United States of America | United Kingdom | Guyana | Libya | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 57% | 13% | 14% | 16% | - | 0% |
| 2025-08 | 58% | 10% | 10% | 11% | - | 11% |
| 2025-09 | 69% | 26% | 4% | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-10 | 78% | 15% | 7% | - | - | 0% |
| 2025-11 | 57% | 26% | 8% | - | - | 9% |
| 2025-12 | 80% | 10% | 9% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-01 | 48% | 38% | 14% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-02 | 67% | 23% | 10% | - | - | 0% |
| 2026-03 | 43% | 28% | 14% | 7% | - | 7% |
| 2026-04 | 58% | 28% | 9% | - | 5% | 0% |
| 2026-05 | 54% | 8% | 20% | 9% | - | 8% |
| 2026-06 | 30% | 15% | 10% | 26% | 12% | 7% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Sweden (national)
What all refineries in Sweden produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · SwedenNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Sweden's refineries together produced 1,683.697 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. St1 Refinery Gothenburg's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 364.292 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 542.605 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 41.109 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 7.214 | Official |
| Naphtha | 2.583 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 265.004 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 38.259 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 5.545 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 1,683.697 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 1,703.616 | 359.18 | 540.427 | 0.722 |
| 2025-08 | 1,771.574 | 385.594 | 577.388 | 1.174 |
| 2025-09 | 1,076.93 | 196.896 | 326.278 | 8.328 |
| 2025-10 | 998.911 | 204.985 | 304.917 | 5.491 |
| 2025-11 | 1,114.854 | 230.03 | 357.039 | 1.997 |
| 2025-12 | 1,618.431 | 359.892 | 525.91 | 0 |
| 2026-01 | 1,713.373 | 399.903 | 532.763 | 6.041 |
| 2026-02 | 1,540.182 | 364.892 | 473.458 | 0 |
| 2026-03 | 1,730.105 | 387.905 | 576.815 | 10 |
| 2026-04 | 1,732.986 | 380.612 | 562.964 | 12.883 |
| 2026-05 | 1,795.606 | 380.298 | 588.266 | 22.647 |
| 2026-06 | 1,683.697 | 364.292 | 542.605 | 7.214 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for St1 Refinery Gothenburg. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Sweden's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · SwedenNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Sweden imported no crude oil from origins that load inside the Persian Gulf during July 2026. Every contributing origin has a single export route outside the Gulf, so the share is 0% by geography, not by estimate. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached St1 Refinery Gothenburg is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://st1.com/about-us/company-info/areas-of-operation/st1-refinery- Capacity; Status; Site record
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
This site was missing from the original batch list and is a real, separate Gothenburg crude refinery. Operator page (opened 2026-09-22) states capacity of '30 million barrels of crude oil per year, or 11,500 tonnes per day', that the refinery 'is operational 24 hours a day, 365 days a year', and that it covers about 25 percent of Sweden's total oil product demand. capacity_bpd is left EMPTY because the publisher prints barrels per YEAR and tonnes per DAY, never barrels per day, and no unit conversion was performed. The site also hosts an Etanolix bioethanol unit and the SCA/St1 Gothenburg Biorefinery joint venture, but those are additional units, not a conversion away from crude. The refinery was acquired from Shell by St1 in 2010 (trade press, Tier 3, not used as a cited field value here). No commissioning year is published on the operator page, so commissioned_year is empty. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2, installation 'St1 Refinery AB - Installation', reporting year 2024, status functional), https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ - not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / st1-gothenburg, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash dccde8d07454.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.