TotalEnergies Antwerp refining and petrochemical platform
Antwerpen, Belgium
TotalEnergies Antwerp refining and petrochemical platform is an operating crude oil refinery in Antwerpen, Belgium. It is operated by TotalEnergies. Its published capacity is 338,000 bpd, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- TotalEnergies
- Commissioned
- 1951
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
Operator page (opened 2026-09-22) describes the site as "Europe's third-largest refinery with a capacity of 338,000 barrels of oil per day", plus a petrochemical complex and a polymer plant, located in Antwerp's port area, originally commissioned in 1951 and upgraded in a major project completed in November 2017.
DISAGREEMENT on capacity: the IEA Belgium 2022 Energy Policy Review (Tier 1, https://iea.blob.core.windows.net/assets/638cb377-ca57-4c16-847d-ea4d96218d35/Belgium2022_EnergyPolicyReview.pdf, opened 2026-09-22) states 'The refinery owned by Total (with a capacity of 353 kb/d)'.
The operator's own and more recent 338,000 b/d figure is used in the capacity fields; the IEA 353 kb/d (as of 2022) is the conflicting reading. connected_pipelines is EMPTY: the operator page refers generically to pipelines for product transport without naming any.
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 12:18 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TotalEnergies | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| TotalEnergies | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
TotalEnergies Antwerp refining and petrochemical platform is connected to Port of Antwerp (port). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Port of Antwerp (Port) Verified LowEvidence: totalenergies.com
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Belgium's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil TotalEnergies Antwerp refining and petrochemical platform runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · BelgiumNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: Belgium has 1 other crude oil refinery recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In July 2026, Belgium's crude imports came mainly from Norway (23%), Kazakhstan (16%) and the United States of America (13%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Norway | 627,200 | 23% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 418,300 | 16% | Calculated |
| United States of America | 359,300 | 13% | Calculated |
| Guyana | 264,400 | 10% | Calculated |
| Angola | 221,700 | 8% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 162,000 | 6% | Calculated |
| Democratic Republic of the Congo | 142,100 | 5% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 120,900 | 5% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 93,600 | 4% | Calculated |
| Colombia | 69,000 | 3% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 64,700 | 2% | Calculated |
| Niger | 60,800 | 2% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 35,800 | 1% | Calculated |
| Libya | 4,500 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Canada | 500 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Month | Norway | United States of America | Kazakhstan | Guyana | Nigeria | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | 24% | 13% | 18% | 5% | 3% | 33% |
| 2025-09 | 27% | 13% | 16% | - | 5% | 20% |
| 2025-10 | 19% | 9% | 22% | 16% | 2% | 32% |
| 2025-11 | 27% | 19% | 15% | 12% | 6% | 21% |
| 2025-12 | 24% | 22% | 15% | 13% | 6% | 19% |
| 2026-01 | 38% | 21% | 4% | 5% | 8% | 23% |
| 2026-02 | 38% | 21% | 6% | 6% | 9% | 19% |
| 2026-03 | 35% | 15% | 12% | 6% | 13% | 18% |
| 2026-04 | 41% | 10% | 14% | 5% | 3% | 27% |
| 2026-05 | 31% | 16% | 13% | 7% | 5% | 27% |
| 2026-06 | 18% | 17% | 14% | 4% | 3% | 40% |
| 2026-07 | 23% | 13% | 16% | 10% | 4% | 33% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Belgium (national)
What all refineries in Belgium produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · BelgiumNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: Belgium's refineries together produced 2,731.8 thousand tonnes of oil products in July 2026. TotalEnergies Antwerp refining and petrochemical platform's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 273.8 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 764.3 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 514.6 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 190.2 | Official |
| Naphtha | 215.6 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 153.2 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 103.7 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 93.1 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 2,731.8 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08 | 2,680.9 | 290.8 | 853.1 | 147.3 |
| 2025-09 | 2,341.1 | 299.5 | 846.4 | 124.7 |
| 2025-10 | 2,004.6 | 157.2 | 623.1 | 76.7 |
| 2025-11 | 2,035.8 | 164.4 | 705.3 | 89.2 |
| 2025-12 | 2,792.8 | 243.3 | 863 | 175.1 |
| 2026-01 | 2,717 | 302.5 | 846.2 | 141.7 |
| 2026-02 | 1,972 | 274.5 | 577.7 | 169 |
| 2026-03 | 1,767.7 | 268.2 | 573.1 | 162.9 |
| 2026-04 | 2,672.9 | 253.2 | 812.9 | 186.2 |
| 2026-05 | 2,674 | 286.6 | 773.4 | 191.1 |
| 2026-06 | 2,323.4 | 260.3 | 674.5 | 179.7 |
| 2026-07 | 2,731.8 | 273.8 | 764.3 | 190.2 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for TotalEnergies Antwerp refining and petrochemical platform. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Belgium's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · BelgiumNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Belgium imported no crude oil from origins that load inside the Persian Gulf during July 2026. Every contributing origin has a single export route outside the Gulf, so the share is 0% by geography, not by estimate. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached TotalEnergies Antwerp refining and petrochemical platform is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://totalenergies.com/company/projects/oil/antwerp-refining-petrochemical-platform-belgium- Capacity; Status; Site record; Connection: Port of Antwerp
- https://iea.blob.core.windows.net/assets/638cb377-ca57-4c16-847d-ea4d96218d35/Belgium2022_EnergyPolicyReview.pdf- Source notes
- https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
Operator page (opened 2026-09-22) describes the site as "Europe's third-largest refinery with a capacity of 338,000 barrels of oil per day", plus a petrochemical complex and a polymer plant, located in Antwerp's port area, originally commissioned in 1951 and upgraded in a major project completed in November 2017. DISAGREEMENT on capacity: the IEA Belgium 2022 Energy Policy Review (Tier 1, https://iea.blob.core.windows.net/assets/638cb377-ca57-4c16-847d-ea4d96218d35/Belgium2022_EnergyPolicyReview.pdf, opened 2026-09-22) states 'The refinery owned by Total (with a capacity of 353 kb/d)'. The operator's own and more recent 338,000 b/d figure is used in the capacity fields; the IEA 353 kb/d (as of 2022) is the conflicting reading. connected_pipelines is EMPTY: the operator page refers generically to pipelines for product transport without naming any. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2, installation 'TotalEnergies Refinery Antwerp', reporting year 2024, status functional), https://industry.eea.europa.eu/ - not operator-published.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / totalenergies-antwerp, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash f06182e8c7ee.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.