VPR Energy (Vitol) Rozenburg refinery
Rozenburg (Rotterdam port), Netherlands
VPR Energy (Vitol) Rozenburg refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Rozenburg (Rotterdam port), the Netherlands. It is operated by Vitol Refining Group BV. Its published capacity is 140 kbpd (dated 2026-09-21), quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted. Publishers disagree on a point recorded for this site: their readings are quoted below, verbatim, and none is averaged or silently preferred.
- Operator
- Vitol Refining Group BV
- Commissioned
- 1993
Publishers disagree - both readings are kept
CAPACITY DISAGREEMENT WITHIN ONE OPERATOR'S OWN SITE: https://www.vitol.com/vpr/ says capacity was expanded 'from 65kbpd to 140kbpd', while https://www.vitol.com/a-pioneering-upgrade-programme-at-vpr-refinery/ says 'Capacity is now over 120,000 b/d, from 75,000 b/d'.
Quoted verbatim from the source notes of this row. Nothing is averaged.
Refinery recordVerified
Provenance
VerifiedLow- Dataset id
- Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list (data/reference/refineries.csv)refineries.csvreference_refineries_v1
- Period
- not recorded
- Retrieved
- 2026-09-26 22:47 UTC
- Type
- Verified
- Transformation
- none applied - stored exactly as published
- Licence
- Per-row: each cell traces to the operator or regulator page named in the row.
- Capacity is quoted as published and never converted.
- Connections are infrastructure (CONNECTED_TO), not deliveries.
- Crude-import mix, refinery output and Hormuz exposure are national figures; this refinery's own feedstock is not published.
Owners and operator
Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.
| Name | Role | Share | From | To | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vitol Refining Group BV | Operator | not published | not published | current | Verified |
| Vitol (wholly owned; acquired July 2017 from Koch HC Partnership BV) | Owner | not published | not published | current | Verified |
Ports and pipelines it is connected to
Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.
VPR Energy (Vitol) Rozenburg refinery is connected to Port of Rotterdam (port). A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it. Verified
- connected to Port of Rotterdam (Port) Verified LowEvidence: www.vitol.com
What it runs on
Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Netherlands's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.
This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN
Which crude oil VPR Energy (Vitol) Rozenburg refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.
Unknown
National · NetherlandsNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National context, not this refinery's intake: the Netherlands has 5 other crude oil refineries recorded, so the import mix describes the country as a whole. In June 2026, the Netherlands' crude imports came mainly from the United States of America (27%), Norway (15%) and Kazakhstan (9%).
Does the national figure describe this refinery?UnknownUnknownNo: the country has other crude refineries, and the national total is not divided between them.
| Producing country | Tonnes | Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States of America | 1,024,780 | 27% | Calculated |
| Norway | 567,447 | 15% | Calculated |
| Kazakhstan | 352,510 | 9% | Calculated |
| United Kingdom | 301,787 | 8% | Calculated |
| Brazil | 249,652 | 7% | Calculated |
| Libya | 134,924 | 4% | Calculated |
| Algeria | 106,576 | 3% | Calculated |
| Nigeria | 98,890 | 3% | Calculated |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) | 81,836 | 2% | Calculated |
| Niger | 79,831 | 2% | Calculated |
| Colombia | 77,607 | 2% | Calculated |
| Senegal | 73,909 | 2% | Calculated |
| Angola | 72,546 | 2% | Calculated |
| Mexico | 55,978 | 1% | Calculated |
| Congo | 54,445 | 1% | Calculated |
| Azerbaijan | 27,509 | 1% | Calculated |
| Italy | 14,025 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Belgium | 838 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Germany | 1 | less than 1% | Calculated |
| Month | United States of America | Norway | Kazakhstan | United Kingdom | Brazil | All other origins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 15% | 17% | 17% | 9% | 8% | 26% |
| 2025-08 | 20% | 22% | 15% | 6% | 13% | 18% |
| 2025-09 | 25% | 22% | 12% | 9% | 8% | 18% |
| 2025-10 | 19% | 21% | 15% | 9% | 5% | 26% |
| 2025-11 | 27% | 12% | 19% | 8% | 5% | 20% |
| 2025-12 | 28% | 19% | 11% | 7% | 10% | 21% |
| 2026-01 | 22% | 27% | 3% | 8% | 6% | 28% |
| 2026-02 | 25% | 19% | 10% | 9% | 4% | 20% |
| 2026-03 | 20% | 21% | 8% | 11% | 5% | 31% |
| 2026-04 | 15% | 25% | 12% | 10% | 7% | 22% |
| 2026-05 | 38% | 11% | 8% | 5% | 10% | 18% |
| 2026-06 | 27% | 15% | 9% | 8% | 7% | 23% |
"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.
Refinery output in Netherlands (national)
What all refineries in Netherlands produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.
National · NetherlandsNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not this refinery's: The Netherlands' refineries together produced 4,922.829 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. VPR Energy (Vitol) Rozenburg refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official
| Motor gasoline | 375.356 | Official |
|---|---|---|
| Road diesel | 1,226.852 | Official |
| Heating and other gasoil | 179.988 | Official |
| Kerosene-type jet fuel | 673.415 | Official |
| Naphtha | 884.793 | Official |
| Fuel oil | 781.416 | Official |
| Liquefied petroleum gases | 97.818 | Official |
| Petroleum coke | 37.149 | Official |
| All oil products (total) | 4,922.829 | Official |
| Month | Total | Motor gasoline | Road diesel | Kerosene-type jet fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | 4,727.386 | 306.725 | 1,198.864 | 587.669 |
| 2025-08 | 5,055.727 | 291.594 | 1,154.715 | 580.489 |
| 2025-09 | 4,668.302 | 347.488 | 1,153.65 | 482.52 |
| 2025-10 | 5,266.059 | 201.062 | 1,570.259 | 532.995 |
| 2025-11 | 5,249.446 | 230.28 | 1,376.299 | 534.469 |
| 2025-12 | 5,445.096 | 258.096 | 1,616.377 | 557.406 |
| 2026-01 | 5,092.898 | 277.984 | 1,330.82 | 573.269 |
| 2026-02 | 4,561.892 | 281.126 | 1,327.201 | 490.623 |
| 2026-03 | 5,261.947 | 398.342 | 1,417.949 | 732.341 |
| 2026-04 | 4,917.97 | 334.788 | 1,258.161 | 756.906 |
| 2026-05 | 5,212.002 | 381.948 | 1,292.067 | 742.394 |
| 2026-06 | 4,922.829 | 375.356 | 1,226.852 | 673.415 |
Outages and maintenance
Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.
No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).
No outage or maintenance is recorded for VPR Energy (Vitol) Rozenburg refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.
Strait of Hormuz: Netherlands's direct crude exposure (national)
The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.
National · NetherlandsNational context — not this refinery's own figure
National figure, not specific to this refinery: Between 3% and 5% of The Netherlands's crude oil imports in July 2026 came from Hormuz-dependent origins. No point estimate is published: the origins concerned export from both inside and outside the Persian Gulf and the split per period is not public. 0% of the imported volume came from origins with no published route classification; it is counted as unknown, not as zero. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached VPR Energy (Vitol) Rozenburg refinery is not published. Calculated
Sources used on this page
- https://www.vitol.com/vpr/- Capacity; Status; Site record; Source notes; Connection: Port of Rotterdam
- https://www.vitol.com/a-pioneering-upgrade-programme-at-vpr-refinery/- Source notes
- https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
- https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)
CAPACITY DISAGREEMENT WITHIN ONE OPERATOR'S OWN SITE: https://www.vitol.com/vpr/ says capacity was expanded 'from 65kbpd to 140kbpd', while https://www.vitol.com/a-pioneering-upgrade-programme-at-vpr-refinery/ says 'Capacity is now over 120,000 b/d, from 75,000 b/d'. The two disagree on both the current figure and the baseline. Both retained; 140 kbpd used as the primary because that page is the site's main VPR entry. FEEDSTOCK CAVEAT: processes 'a flexible blend of crude oil and condensate' and began life in December 1993 as a condensate splitter - classify as a crude+condensate refinery, not a pure crude refinery. COORDINATES EMPTY: no OpenStreetMap feature found under any name variant tried.
Record reference_refineries_v1 / vpr-rozenburg, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash e33dc0777d40.
How to read the labels
- OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
- VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
- CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
- Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
- Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
- Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
- UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.