Fuel Origin

Galp Sines Refinery

Sines, Portugal

Galp Sines Refinery is an operating crude oil refinery in Sines, Portugal. It is operated by Petrogal (Galp). Its published capacity is 226 kbpd, quoted in the unit the publisher used and not converted.

Status
Operating
status source
Operator
Petrogal (Galp)
Commissioned
1978
Capacity (as published)
226 kbpd
capacity source · not converted
Refinery recordVerified
Last verified 2026-09-22Location 37.9639, -8.8001

Owners and operator

Who owns and runs the site, as the cited sources state it. A share that was not published is shown as not published, never as 0%.

NameRoleShareFromToType
Petrogal (Galp)Operatornot publishednot publishedcurrentVerified
GalpOwnernot publishednot publishedcurrentVerified
Source
Refinery operators and national regulators (cited per row)Verified
Updated 2026-09-21 00:00 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view
No dated ownership change is recorded as structured data for this refinery. Earlier owners, where the sources name them, are described in the source notes at the foot of this page.

Ports and pipelines it is connected to

Infrastructure only. A connection means the berth or pipeline exists; it does not show that any crude or product was received through it.

No port or pipeline connection is recorded for Galp Sines Refinery in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that the site has none. Unknown

No connection is recorded for this refinery in the data we hold. That is a missing record, not evidence that none exists.
Source
several sources (see each row)Unknown
Updated not publishedConfidenceUnknownMethodologyno download for this view

What it runs on

Which crude this refinery processes is not published. Portugal's crude-import mix is shown as national context - it is not this refinery's intake.

This refinery's crude intake by origin: UNKNOWN

Which crude oil Galp Sines Refinery runs on is not published, so it is UNKNOWN. Refinery-level crude intake by origin is not public in most of Europe, and we do not allocate a national figure across refineries.

Unknown

National · PortugalNational context — not this refinery's own figure

Galp Sines Refinery is the only operating crude oil refinery we hold for Portugal (Galp Matosinhos Refinery (Refinaria do Porto) no longer refines crude), so the national crude-import figure is the closest public evidence of what it runs on. In June 2026, Portugal's crude imports came mainly from Brazil (60%), Guyana (12%) and Nigeria (11%). This is an inference, not a reported intake: crude produced in Portugal itself, stock changes and re-exports are not separated out in the import figures.

Does the national figure describe this refinery?Inferred · lowLowOnly as an inference: it is the country's only operating crude refinery we hold.

Portugal, June 2026 - latest month with an origin breakdown (COMPUTED)
Producing countryTonnesShareType
Brazil668,67160%Calculated
Guyana134,82112%Calculated
Nigeria124,50411%Calculated
Libya94,9739%Calculated
United States of America90,6028%Calculated
Last 12 months held: share of Portugal's crude imports by producing country
MonthBrazilAlgeriaNigeriaUnited States of AmericaAzerbaijanAll other origins
2025-0732%16%-11%26%15%
2025-0855%8%37%--0%
2025-0966%16%7%11%-0%
2025-10-----100%
2025-11-----100%
2025-1242%29%-14%15%0%
2026-0167%33%---0%
2026-0253%18%-12%17%0%
2026-0366%-25%9%-0%
2026-0450%17%--22%11%
2026-0534%--23%11%32%
2026-0660%-11%8%-21%

"-" means the origin was not reported that month. A PARTIAL month does not add up to 100% because part of the volume was not attributed.

Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Calculated
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-26 13:21 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Refinery output in Portugal (national)

What all refineries in Portugal produced together, as published. This refinery's own output is not published and the national total is not divided between refineries.

National · PortugalNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not this refinery's: Portugal's refineries together produced 955.223 thousand tonnes of oil products in June 2026. Galp Sines Refinery's own output is not published, and the national total is not divided between refineries. Official

June 2026, thousand tonnes as published
Motor gasoline224.344Official
Road diesel261.86Official
Heating and other gasoil16.03Official
Kerosene-type jet fuel148.375Official
Naphtha61.054Official
Fuel oil158.324Official
Liquefied petroleum gases15.645Official
Petroleum coke0Official
All oil products (total)955.223Official
Last 12 months, thousand tonnes
MonthTotalMotor gasolineRoad dieselKerosene-type jet fuel
2025-07986.558210.45304.162128.357
2025-081,037.867227.488396.33493.123
2025-09987.184200.211318.113102.457
2025-10326.68524.63376.31649.741
2025-11214.21454.637.9758.893
2025-12825.303159.564232.483131.129
2026-01867.613160.827250.119107.722
2026-02639.077143.022163.96881.327
2026-031,004.878222.538279.115150.128
2026-04979.798183.324261.527157.81
2026-05994.579238.161288.012149.779
2026-06955.223224.344261.86148.375
Source
Eurostat (European Commission)Official
Period 2026-06 (month)Updated 2026-09-23 10:15 UTCConfidenceOfficialMethodologyno download for this view

Outages and maintenance

Planned and unplanned shutdowns we can cite. There is no public register for EU refineries, so an empty list is not a clean record.

No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L).

No outage or maintenance is recorded for Galp Sines Refinery. No public outage register exists for EU refineries (docs/DATA_SOURCES.md §L). This is a missing record, not a statement that the refinery ran without interruption.

Source
several sources (see each row)Unknown
Updated not publishedConfidenceUnknownMethodologyno download for this view

Strait of Hormuz: Portugal's direct crude exposure (national)

The share of the country's crude imports that came from origins loading inside the Persian Gulf. Measured per country, never per refinery.

National · PortugalNational context — not this refinery's own figure

National figure, not specific to this refinery: Portugal imported no crude oil from origins that load inside the Persian Gulf during July 2026. Every contributing origin has a single export route outside the Gulf, so the share is 0% by geography, not by estimate. The range describes the country's crude imports; which of them reached Galp Sines Refinery is not published. Calculated

July 20260%CalculatedLow
Source
EIA, IEA and terminal operators (cited per row)Calculated
Period 2026-07 (month)Updated 2026-09-24 07:44 UTCConfidenceLowMethodologyno download for this view

Sources used on this page

  1. https://www.galp.com/corp/en/about-us/what-we-do/industrial-and-midstream- Capacity; Status; Site record
  2. https://www.galp.com/corp/en/media/press-releases/press-release/id/1180/galp-to-concentrate-refining-operations-in-sines- Source notes
  3. https://www.dgeg.gov.pt/pt/areas-setoriais/energia/combustiveis/instalacoes-petroliferas/refinarias/- Source notes
  4. https://industry.eea.europa.eu/- Source notes
  5. https://github.com/oiramix/oil_routes/blob/main/data/reference/REFERENCE_DATA_SOURCES.md- How the refinery list was compiled; National Hormuz exposure
  6. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_ti_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National crude imports
  7. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/cache/metadata/en/nrg_quant_esms.htm- National crude imports (methodology); National refinery output (methodology)
  8. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser/view/nrg_cb_oilm/default/table?lang=en- National refinery output
Source notes for this refinery (verbatim)

Capacity from Galp's own Industrial and Midstream page, which prints "With a capacity to distil 226 thousand barrels per day and to process a wide range of crudes". capacity_bpd=226000 is that same figure with the 'thousand' multiplier applied - a decimal rescale within the barrels-per-day unit, NOT a tonne-barrel conversion. capacity_source_date is empty because the page carries no publication or as-of date; it does cite 2025 throughput ("75 mboe of raw materials were processed"), so it is at least as recent as 2026. OTHER PUBLISHED VALUES, not used: Galp's press release of 21 December 2020 announcing the Matosinhos closure prints Sines as having a "crude processing capacity of 220 kbpd" (https://www.galp.com/corp/en/media/press-releases/press-release/id/1180/galp-to-concentrate-refining-operations-in-sines); and DGEG, the Portuguese Tier-1 regulator, prints "10,4 Mton/ano" (https://www.dgeg.gov.pt/pt/areas-setoriais/energia/combustiveis/instalacoes-petroliferas/refinarias/). The DGEG page is demonstrably stale - it still describes Matosinhos as an operating 5,5 Mton/ano refinery - so it was not used for Sines either. No conversion was performed between the tonne and barrel figures. Status OPERATING: the same Galp page calls Sines Portugal's sole functioning refinery, and the EEA IED register carries "Refinaria de Sines" as 'functional' through reporting year 2024. Commissioned year 1978 is the EEA IED dateOfStartOfOperation (1978-09-01) for every reporting year 2016-2024; no operator page I opened gives a start year. connected_ports left empty: the Galp page refers only to "its coastal location and deep-water harbour infrastructure" and names no port or pipeline. Coordinates are from the EEA Industrial Emissions Portal (IED Annex I activity 1.2 'Refining of mineral oil and gas'), reporting year 2024, read via the EEA DiscoData SQL API on 2026-09-22; see https://industry.eea.europa.eu/. Not operator-published.

Record reference_refineries_v1 / galp-sines, retrieved 2026-09-21 00:00 UTC, payload hash 25f077aacfd6.

How to read the labels
  • OfficialReported directly by an official authority.
  • VerifiedReported by a third party we have verified against a primary record.
  • CalculatedComputed by us from reported inputs. The method is published on the methodology page.
  • Inferred · highNot reported. Inferred from at least two independent physical records.
  • Inferred · mediumNot reported. Inferred from strong indirect evidence, with no explicit confirmation.
  • Inferred · lowNot reported. Plausible from infrastructure or movement data only. Do not read as fact.
  • UnknownNo defensible public evidence establishes this. We are not guessing, and this is not a measurement of zero.