Spain
Road diesel, June 2026 — crude behind it: 41% cannot be traced · 9% United States · 7% Libya · 6% Mexico. Up to 44% of that crude may have passed through the Strait of Hormuz.
Source & method
- Source
- Eurostat (European Commission) — Imports of oil and petroleum products by partner country - monthly data
- EIA, IEA and terminal operators (cited per row) — Fuel Origin Hormuz route classification and country bounds, methodology v1.0
- Period
- June 2026
- Method
- How this figure is made
Crude behind it (estimated)
Last shipped from
Spain's road diesel
Crude behind it (estimated)
- Colour = where it went:
- Spain (own refineries)
- Singapore
- Morocco
- Egypt
- United States
- Italy
- Belgium
- Other (1)
- United States45 kt (est. 8%)
- Libya37 kt (est. 7%)
- Mexico33 kt (est. 6%)
- Kazakhstan33 kt (est. 6%)
- Nigeria27 kt (est. 5%)
- Brazil25 kt (est. 5%)
- Venezuela17 kt (est. 3%)
- Other crude origins93 kt (est. 18%)
- Singapore: no crude data104 kt (20%)
- Morocco: no crude data36 kt (7%)
- Egypt: no crude data34 kt (6%)
- United States: no crude data33 kt (6%)
- Origin not reported: crude unknown9.2 kt (2%)
- Smaller flows: crude not from imports0.7 kt (<1%)
- Smaller flows: crude origin not reported0.6 kt (<1%)
Last shipped from
- Reported (solid)
- Our arithmetic on reported figures (dotted)
- Estimated crude behind the fuel (dashed)
- Cannot be traced (hatched)
Assumptions
- 1
Spain: road diesel available in June 2026
Everything refined in the country plus everything imported.
- 2
Where that fuel came from
- 3
The crude behind Spain's road diesel
- Exports are assumed to be drawn from every source in proportion to its share of supply.
- Each country's refineries are assumed to run on its crude-import mix over the latest three months.
- The chain looks back one country only. Imports are counted under the country the fuel was last shipped from; where that country has refineries, fuel that only passed through it is traced as if it had been refined there.
- The crude origin is the producing country the statistics report, not the loading terminal, so the Hormuz answer is a range wherever a producer loads both inside and outside the Persian Gulf.
In June 2026, the largest single source of road diesel available in Spain was refining in Spain (47%), followed by Singapore (20%).
Spain's refineries ran on crude from the United States (15%), Mexico (13%) and Libya (11%), going by its crude imports in April–June 2026.
Taken together, an estimated 8% of the crude behind Spain's road diesel came from the United States, 7% from Libya and 6% from Mexico; 41% cannot be traced.
The largest untraced part (20%) is there because we hold no crude import statistics for Singapore.
Up to 44% of the crude behind Spain's road diesel is estimated to have passed through the Strait of Hormuz, a significant dependence judged on the upper bound. No midpoint is published: crude that cannot be traced is counted as anything from none to all of it.
This is an estimate, not a reported figure: it assumes exports are drawn proportionally from every source and that each country's refineries run on its crude-import mix, and it looks back only one country.
Hormuz and the pump price in Spain
Calculated- At most 44% of the crude behind Spain's road diesel in June 2026 could have passed through Hormuz.
- Since 28 Feb 2026, diesel at the pump went +35.9%; Brent (in US dollars) went +66.9% (week of 23 Feb 2026 to week of 28 Sep 2026).
- 27% of the diesel pump price is tax (week of 28 Sep 2026).
Is Hormuz really the reason? — the EU-wide picture →
Source & method
- Source
- Eurostat (European Commission) — Imports of oil and petroleum products by partner country - monthly data
- EIA, IEA and terminal operators (cited per row) — Fuel Origin Hormuz route classification and country bounds, methodology v1.0
- European Commission, Directorate-General for Energy (DG ENER) — Weekly Oil Bulletin - retail fuel prices with and without taxes
- U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) — Europe Brent Spot Price FOB (petroleum spot prices)
- Method
- How this figure is made
- Strait of Hormuz: the upper end of the headline’s estimate for June 2026, the same figure as in the sentence above; no new figure is made here.
- Pump price: Weekly Oil Bulletin, diesel including tax, week of 23 Feb 2026 (€1.423 per litre) and week of 28 Sep 2026 (€1.934 per litre). Brent: EIA daily spot price, the first print dated in each of those weeks (23 Feb 2026: 71.9; 28 Sep 2026: 119.97; US dollars per barrel). Each change is worked out in the currency it is published in; no exchange rate is applied. The start week is the one containing the event date of Strait of Hormuz shipping disruption (2026) (28 Feb 2026), the event the Strait of Hormuz page leads with; the end week is the latest week with both prices.
- Tax share: the pump price split into tax and price before tax for the week of 28 Sep 2026 (Weekly Oil Bulletin prices and published tax rates), as on the pump price page.
- The three figures are shown side by side, each on its own; no link between them is drawn here.
Go deeper for Spain
- What does diesel cost at the pump in Spain, and how much of it is tax?Pump price & tax →latest weekly price €1.93 per litre (diesel, week of 28 Sep 2026)
- Where has Spain bought its oil since 2015?Imports since 2015 →
- How does fuel reach Spain, flow by flow?Flow diagram, full page →
- How does Spain compare with Portugal, France and Italy?Compare with neighbours →
- Which refineries, ports and pipelines serve Spain?Refineries & pipelines →
- Where does Spain's crude come from, on a map?On the map →
- What does the United States supply to the EU?Supplier page: United States →
- What does Libya supply to the EU?Supplier page: Libya →
- What does Mexico supply to the EU?Supplier page: Mexico →
Pump prices at stations
CalculatedOn 2 October 2026, 28 stations in Spain reported a petrol 95 (E10) price. Half of them charged €1.889 a litre or less. Eight in ten charged between €1.756 and €2.025.
The EU Weekly Oil Bulletin gives €1.940 for euro-super 95 in Spain for the week of 28 September 2026: a weekly national average reported by the state, measured differently from the prices stations declare.
Station prices on 2 October 2026, by fuel
- Dieselmedian €1.949 · 11,259 stations€1.769 to €2.029 · bulletin €1.934
- Petrol 95 (E10)median €1.889 · 28 stations€1.756 to €2.025 · bulletin €1.940
- Petrol 95 (E5)median €1.825 · 10,899 stations€1.689 to €1.959 · bulletin €1.940
- LPG (autogas)median €1.119 · 993 stations€0.939 to €1.189 · bulletin €1.102
10th-90th percentile of stations (calculated)median (calculated)Weekly Oil Bulletin, national average (official)
Petrol 95 (E10): median at stations and the bulletin, 29 August 2025 to 2 October 2026
- Median of stations(calculated)
- 10th-90th percentile of stations(calculated)
- Weekly Oil Bulletin, national average(official)
Petrol 95 (E10) by province, 2 October 2026
19 provinces. Select a column heading to sort. 19 with fewer than 5 stations show a count only.
Sort byProvince ↑Median10th pct.90th pct.Stations
| Province ↑ | Median | 10th pct. | 90th pct. | Stations |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 03 · Alicante/Alacant | — | — | — | 1 |
| 04 · Almería | — | — | — | 1 |
| 01 · Araba/Álava | — | — | — | 1 |
| 33 · Asturias | — | — | — | 3 |
| 07 · Balears, Illes | — | — | — | 1 |
| 08 · Barcelona | — | — | — | 1 |
| 13 · Ciudad Real | — | — | — | 1 |
| 14 · Córdoba | — | — | — | 3 |
| 15 · Coruña, A | — | — | — | 2 |
| 16 · Cuenca | — | — | — | 1 |
| 17 · Girona | — | — | — | 1 |
| 21 · Huelva | — | — | — | 1 |
| 24 · León | — | — | — | 1 |
| 28 · Madrid | — | — | — | 2 |
| 30 · Murcia | — | — | — | 2 |
| 31 · Navarra | — | — | — | 1 |
| 41 · Sevilla | — | — | — | 1 |
| 43 · Tarragona | — | — | — | 1 |
| 46 · Valencia/València | — | — | — | 3 |
Source & method
- Source
- Ministerio para la Transición Ecológica y el Reto Demográfico (MITECO), hosted on minetur — Precios de carburantes en estaciones de servicio terrestres (REST: EstacionesTerrestres, EstacionesTerrestresHist)
- European Commission, DG Energy — Weekly Oil Bulletin
- Period
- Latest day 2 October 2026
- Method
- How this figure is made
Source: Ministerio para la Transición Ecológica y el Reto Demográfico (MITECO), Precios de carburantes en estaciones de servicio. CC BY 4.0. Date of last update: 2 October 2026 (retrieved 2 October 2026).
Licence: CC BY 4.0 · Dataset: publisher's page
Station prices are published by the state and declared by the stations themselves (official, self-declared). The spread, median and regional figures are our arithmetic on them (calculated). The Weekly Oil Bulletin is a weekly national average that the state reports to the European Commission (official); it is measured differently, so a gap between the two is a difference of method, not an error.
A station counts on a day only if the source still reported its price that day (listed in that day's data); a day the source did not deliver is left out, never filled in. Regions with fewer than 5 stations show a count only. Figures are EUR per litre as published, taxes included. Maximum prices set by a government are never shown as a station price.
Province: The province code the ministry gives for each station, named from INE's list.
Crude origins
Calculated9 refineries · 74.7 Mt/a where comparable.
In June 2026, 12 countries supplied crude imports; the largest three accounted for 50%.
Share of crude imports by origin, to June 2026
- United States
- Brazil
- Mexico
- Nigeria
- Saudi Arabia
- Libya
- Other origins
- Origin not published
Share of crude imports, June 2026 (published)
Since January 2023: Iraq −5.7 pt, Venezuela +5.7 pt.
Share of crude imports, June 2026: all origins
| Country of origin | Share | Tonnes |
|---|---|---|
| United States | 21% | 925,243 |
| Nigeria | 15% | 638,868 |
| Mexico | 14% | 587,098 |
| Libya | 14% | 583,727 |
| Venezuela | 7% | 286,266 |
| Angola | 6% | 268,094 |
| Other origins | 24% |
All 9 refineries
- Moeve Parque Energético San Roque (Refinería Gibraltar-San Roque), 12.2 Mt/a
- Moeve Parque Energético La Rábida, 11.2 Mt/a
- Petronor Muskiz Refinery (Bilbao) (Petroleos del Norte, S.A., Petronor), 11 Mt/a
- Repsol Cartagena Industrial Complex, 11 Mt/a
- Repsol Tarragona Industrial Complex, 9 Mt/a
- Repsol Puertollano Industrial Complex, 7.5 Mt/a
- Repsol A Coruña Industrial Complex, 6 Mt/a
- bp Refinería de Castellón (BP Energía España, S.A.U.), 5.4 Mt/a
- Asesa (Asfaltos Españoles) Tarragona Refinery, 1.4 Mt/a
Source & method
- Source
- Eurostat (European Commission) — Imports of oil and petroleum products by partner country - monthly data
- Refinery operators and national regulators (cited per row) — Fuel Origin curated refinery reference list
- Period
- June 2026
- Method
- How this figure is made
- Download
- Download CSV
Product origins
CalculatedRoad diesel imports, June 2026: Singapore 37%, Morocco 13%, Egypt 12%, United States 12%, Italy 12%, Belgium 10%, origin not published 3%.
Share of road diesel imports by country last shipped from, to June 2026
- Singapore
- Italy
- United States of America
- Netherlands
- Saudi Arabia
- Morocco
- Other origins
- Origin not published
Share of road diesel imports, June 2026 (published)
Share of road diesel imports, June 2026 (published): all countries last shipped from
| Country last shipped from | Share | Tonnes |
|---|---|---|
| Singapore | 37% | 104,019 |
| Morocco | 13% | 36,179 |
| Egypt | 12% | 33,875 |
| United States | 12% | 32,956 |
| Italy | 12% | 32,948 |
| Belgium | 10% | 28,757 |
| Origin not published | 3% |
Source & method
- Source
- Eurostat (European Commission) — Imports of oil and petroleum products by partner country - monthly data
- Period
- June 2026
- Method
- How this figure is made
- Download
- Download CSV
Stocks & days of cover
Official97 days of emergency stock cover in June 2026.
Closing stocks: 15,110,738 tonnes, +1.3% against the 12-month average.
Closing stocks, to June 2026
- Closing stocks
- 12-month average
Days of cover, to June 2026
Source & method
- Source
- Eurostat (European Commission) — Emergency oil stocks in days equivalent - monthly data
- Eurostat (European Commission) — Stock levels for oil products - monthly data
- Period
- June 2026
- Method
- How this figure is made
- Which method the member state used
- Stock calculation method: method 2
- Minimum obligation method: method 1
- Days calculation method: method 1
- Download
- Download CSV
Recent events
Official- 28 Feb 2026Strait of Hormuz shipping disruption (2026)Shipping disruption · Strait of Hormuz / Persian Gulf
- 5 Feb 2023EU import ban on Russian refined petroleum products (in force 5 February 2023)Import ban · European Union
- 5 Dec 2022EU import ban on seaborne Russian crude oil (in force 5 December 2022)Import ban · European Union
- 24 Feb 2022Russian invasion of Ukraine (24 February 2022)War · Ukraine
Source & method
- Source
- International Energy Agency — Event timeline, cited per event
- US Energy Information Administration — Event timeline, cited per event
- European Commission — Event timeline, cited per event
- European Council — Event timeline, cited per event
- National legislators — Event timeline, cited per event
- Method
- How this figure is made